Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy Drama - BAFTA Winning Series
This is a very original British comedy drama with great acting & writing to produce an unbeatable level of entertainment. Definitely on a par with Californication Californication - The First Season [2007] [DVD] and The Inbetweeners The Inbetweeners - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] for original comedy.

Misfits is about 5 teenagers who are doing community service,...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by Mr. William Oxley

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Commenting purely on the dvd it's self, not the content.
(I'm guessing if you're a fan of Misfits then you will have seen the episodes therefore I am not reviewing the 'footage' just the dvd extras.)
First of all, the Dvd extras are nothing to shout about, the are all very short,brief and overall, boring.
Series 1 has a very nice looking menu where as series 2's is cheap and basic hardly even represents Misfits...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Ryan Daley 17 Years Ol'


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy Drama - BAFTA Winning Series, 23 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very original British comedy drama with great acting & writing to produce an unbeatable level of entertainment. Definitely on a par with Californication Californication - The First Season [2007] [DVD] and The Inbetweeners The Inbetweeners - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] for original comedy.

Misfits is about 5 teenagers who are doing community service, who are struck by a supernatural storm and develop superpowers - a cross between Heroes & Skins. But they are not conventional heroes battling evil, they are more likely to be trying to sort out their own personal issues.

In Series 1 there are just 7 episodes of about 45 minutes with each one focusing on a different charactor, and a finale climax. In each episode they are basically trying to keep out of trouble and cover up the secret that unites them all. I love Episode 4 where we discover why Kelly, Simon, Nathan , Curtis, & Alisha are on community service.

Series 2 continues straight on from the first series and adds a few new interesting characters and twists. I can not say more than this in case you have not watched Series 1. Nevertheless Series 2 is just as funny, more sexually explicit, and very addictive.

DVD extras include: Behind the scenes interviews with cast and crew, Simon's films, & The making of Misfits.

Do not miss out on the hottest comedy drama series in an ordinary town with extraordinary charactors!

Let's hope that there is a Series 3 commissioned. Update: series 3 is being filmed from the 25th April for an Autumn release, but one character does not return...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, Misfits!, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Judging by the trailers you could easily mistake this show for a missable E4 cross between Heroes and Skins. I'm so glad I gave this programme a chance.

The show follows five ASBO teenagers on community service. However, the characters are all "Misfits" in another way: each is a uniquely social misfit, too. One boy can't help offending everybody he meets; another is a disgraced former athlete; one girl has an unhealthy obsession with sex; the other girl is a misunderstood and at times aggressive chav; the final character is an uncomfortable nerd.

Naturally, these characters don't form the most cohesive group. However, a thunderstorm in the opening episode gives four of them superpowers and inextricably binds the group together. The natural frictions between them result in great comic/dramatic effect, but it's also a joy watching this unlikely bunch slowly become friends over the two series.

Each characters' superpower reflects an aspect of their personality. The nerdish one can turn invisible, for instance. The superpowers aren't uniformly super-awesome, though: one girl's power is that anyone she touches becomes uncontrollably horny for her. This power becomes very burdensome, very quickly. This makes the show all the more "real" for me, despite the supernatural setting. Sometimes, life just sucks like that. (The other girl's power is similar: she can hear peoples' thoughts, which mostly consist of them calling her a chav.)

The former athlete can turn back time, showing his deep regret at how things have turned out for him. This power is used as a great dramatic device -- utilised to seamlessly fill out each characters' back-story in one episode -- as it's something he has less than perfect control over (otherwise, things would be too easy). This power leads to an incredibly inventive story arc over series two which had me applauding by the conclusion.

The final character (the gobby offensive one) doesn't have a power at all. This is also appropriate, as this character would be far too annoying if he had a superpower to boot. Again, this just makes the show all the more real, as each character is flawed in their own unique way (the sex-girl is incredibly annoying to begin with, a stereotypical "pretty girl", but somehow you manage to sympathise with her by the end of series two).

Each series is a narrative masterpiece -- unfurling over six episodes like a novel. The writing is at times clever, funny, and serious too. It's all thanks to the show's writer, Howard Overman. This show gains a lot from being one writer's work; it's a great pity when other drama/comedies farm each individual episode out to a separate writer, sacrificing quality for quantity (such as how Shameless now does). I'd much rather have six brilliant episodes a year than 16 mediocre ones.

If you needed yet another indication that this show is more than the standard E4 fare, all you need do is look to the fantastic soundtrack, covering genres from the blues, to dubstep, and everything in-between. Some great artists are there: The Velvet Underground, UNKLE, Joy Division, The Cure, Echo and the Bunnymen, Kraftwerk, and Aphex Twin to name just a few of my favourites. The music is used to brilliant effect, with the two versions of Neil Diamond's "Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon" touching me every time I watch S1E2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant viewing., 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Is this the best show on British telly?, probably, its either Misfits or The Inbetweeners - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD], both are very very good but am drawn to Misfits like an addiction, i have to watch it every week and there is trouble if i miss it, its just so amazing and am not even into all this sci-fi stuff, if its unreal or un-believable i normally hate watching what ever it might be, but with misfits i just can't get enough, and it has its funny bits aswell and Robert Sheehan who plays Nathan young is just out standing in Misfits, he is so funny its unreal.

The second series has just finished and i have read that a 3rd series has been commissioned by channel 4 that will air in 2011 (probably around November).

EDIT :- ** 22nd April 2011 ** , On the 10th April it was reported that Robert Sheehan who plays Nathan Young is leaving the show and will not be in the new series ( the 3rd series ) to be aired in mid to late 2011.

This is bad news to me as i think Nathan makes the whole show worth watching as he is so funny and so spontaneous, am not even sure the show can survive without him, however the writers of the show are very clever so we will have to wait and see but i think this is the beginning of the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British comedy at its best!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series on 4OD because of the buzz going around at my sixth form college so I thought I'd have a look to see what all the fuss was about. I was drawn in pretty much by the end of the first episode!

The characters are perfectly cast and the writing is brilliant, hilarious, edgy and original. It's like 'the Inbetweeners' sort of humour but funnier. The way the characters develop too is one of Misfits' strengths.

I am so pleased that it has been commissioned for a third series! Simon is my favourite character along with Alisha and Nathan takes a minute to get used to but he is actually incredibly funny.

If you don't mind a bit of swearing and have a bit of a dirty sense of humour, you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British, barmy and oh so brilliant..., 3 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
At first I though this looked like a bad combination of Skins & Heroes. Oh how wrong I was! With lovable characters and unexpected twists there's a lot to be had from this great British show!. The script isn't bad (not GREAT either...) but all of the "misfits" are perfectly cast and brilliantly acted.

I can't recommend this enough! Let's hope there is a season 3!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macnificent!!!, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Nudapco "LUCIANO49" (LUCIANO49) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This easily one of the best series out there!!! It's Fresh, brutal and it gets right to the point. The actors are unique and couldn't be casted more perfectly! I just love this show!!:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way to see Series 2 in Canada, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately, the Canadian tv network that ran Series 1 has yet to show any of Series 2.
Fortunately I don't care, as I've now got this lovely complete set.
Extras, captioned, great a/v quality.
No complaints. I'm delighted to have unrestricted access to this excellent show, and it bears up to repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete 1-2, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
It wasn't clear from the product description if the Christmas special that ran after the end of series 2 was included - it is. Misfits - pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant box set, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Wicked box set, includes the christmas special. Love misfits so this is definitely worth buyinginstead of getting series 1 & 2 separately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misfits, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is just a fantastic series. I bought this as a birthday present, but decided to buy it for myself also. I had already watched it on television but it has been fun to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD]
Misfits - Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] by Robert Sheehan (DVD - 2010)
12.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews