Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant bargain, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bargain. Four great films in one box set at a bargain price. Set includes two of the best British gangster movies ever made, "Sexy Beast" with Ray Winstone & Ben Kingsley and "Gangster No 1" with Malcolm McDowell, David Thewlis & Paul Bettany, both compelling, intense and gripping from start to end. Also included are "Trainspotting" Danny Boyle's ground breaking classic of 90's drug fuelled Britain and "Shallow Grave" a terror masterpiece with Christopher Eccleston & Ewan McGregor. I would highly recommend this box set as a must for anyone's collection, a real bargain of class films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brit film in the noughties, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
This set of 4, all cert. 18 DVDs from Film 4 are a fine collection of decent, British dark crime dramas, including Trainspotting as well as its predecessor, Shallow Grave.

Where would have the Brit film scene been without Trainspotting? Or, Danny Boyle? Without the royalties from that, would he have been able to become an Oscar winner with his Slumdog Millionaire?

Sexy Beast remains a popular example of the crime genre; Ray Winstone's scowling lead performance is only bettered by Ben Kingsley's psychotic gangland boss who comes out to Spain to visit the retired Winstone. This then leads to that old one-last-heist scenario, back in London. It is more psychological study more than shoot-it-up full action, though, which I feel it benefits from.

Gangster No 1, if pressed, is my least favourite, though still very watchable. A Clockwork Orange actor Malcolm MacDowell is the crime boss who has a very mean streak and gets very angry, indeed. Paul Bettany and David Thewliss provide very able support but I found it humourless and rather unsavoury and heavy going. Of the four, the only one I'd not want to watch again.

The box set itself is fairly well made and quite well presented and as far as features are concerned, Shallow Grave has the least, with just a director's commentary and a short making of. Trainspotting has interviews with all cast and the director. The other two have these but also deleted scenes/Featurettes/Behind the Scenes and isolated music score plus Audio Description - and one or two others.

For the price, you get a lot of iconic indie Brit flick for your ten pounds (or so). If you've lent your copy of Trainspotting (& not got it back), only recorded Shallow Grave from Film 4, with all the ads and only seen Sexy Beast on someone else's tiny TV - like me - then this is an essential buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice box set, good value for money., 29 Mar 2012
By 
K. Dennis "gamer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was very pleased to see these films on bluray, particularly sexy beast which is funny as hell. Hadn't seen trainspotting in 13 years so it was a welcome blast from the past and still a decent film. the bluray picture quality is excellent. A1 purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The acting is great as are the stories, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
The acting is great as are the stories. These actors tie in with other films/ TV series including A Clockwork Orange, Our Friends in the North, Cracker etc.
The Film Sexy Beast was rubbish and a let down and I think most of the actors in it would perhaps agree.
Christopher Eccleston is originally from this area so he gets my vote anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Awesome 1 Aweful, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three very good films, one very dull film.
Guess the dull film, that's right "Shalllow Grave".
I don't think Shallow Grave should be mentioned in the same breath as any of the others.
Trainspotting Modern Classic.
Sexy Beast Awesome Acting.
Ganster No.1 Great direction and script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
This box set contains two of my favourite films of all time (sexy beast and Trainspotting) neither if which I had good quality copies of before I got this. The two other films we're complete hidden gems, I hadn't heard of either but they are now also in my favourite films list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 movies for the price of 1 1/2, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted Trainspotting for my partner who hadn't seen it. By paying a little extra we got 2 other classics - Sexy Beast & Shallow Grave. We have also got Gangster No1 which I have yet to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movies, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this box set due to Trainspotting which is full of life on the bottom line but mixes humour, reality and sheer unbelievable in-the-gutter life! Great performances and story-line. Love the image on Rannoch Moor with Renton, Sick Boy and Spud when they see the mountain they are to climb. Great fun x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] (DVD)
Really good, proper British drama. Original and powerful scripts, none of your Hollywood cliches here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult stuff!Must have, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are gems from the UK movie scenario.Highly enjoyable.Good packaging.Remastering could have been better.Satisfied end of the day.Must haves.!!Satisfied and highly recommended if you like indie movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD]
The Brit Indie Collection (4 pack) [DVD] by Paul McGuigan (DVD - 2010)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews