Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing & Hypnotic
It is by no means a spoiler to mention that this film is based on a notorious French murder case, since a palpable sense of impending catastrophe looms over the production right from the off. Two heavily-repressed sisters (Joely Richardson & Jodhi May) are engaged as maids at the terminally-disfunctional household of Julie Walters and her daughter Sophie Thursfield...
Published on 23 July 2011 by Alice Bluegown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, Not something I would watch again or recomment
Even the fabulous Julie Walters cannot save this story, which although not terrible, is really not up to much. A bit too dark, and more than a little boring, I judge my movies by whether or not I would ever watch them again, or keep them in my DVD library. This one is going straight out to Magpie. I do love Julie Walters though and would watch anything that she appears...
Published 6 months ago by Purchasing Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing & Hypnotic, 23 July 2011
By 
Alice Bluegown (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
It is by no means a spoiler to mention that this film is based on a notorious French murder case, since a palpable sense of impending catastrophe looms over the production right from the off. Two heavily-repressed sisters (Joely Richardson & Jodhi May) are engaged as maids at the terminally-disfunctional household of Julie Walters and her daughter Sophie Thursfield. Relentlessly hectored and bullied, the sisters' mutual dependency soon evolves into an intense, obsessional relationship that they struggle to keep concealed. Director Nancy Meckler plays the claustrophobic atmosphere of the house for all its worth, but the film stands on the performances of the cast, all of whom are excellent: Richardson as the ice-maiden desperately clinging to the remnants of her self-control; May as the naive, trusting, perpetually-terrified waif; and Walters, playing "Madame" like a borderline-psychotic version of an archetypal 'Wood & Walters' character (and utterly terrifying with it). But it's Thursfield who steals the show, as the dumpy, distinctly ineligible daughter who realises full well that she and her mother are just as trapped as the luckless sisters. By no means an easy watch, but a film to haunt you long after the closing credits have rolled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was going to be slow, but once I got into it I was very impressed. Fantastic acting by Julie Walters and co and the fact that it is based on a true story. All four main characters are complex and eccentric. Watch it for yourself and see 4 excellent actresses in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant masterpiece., 7 Aug 2008
To make it short, this is not a horror movie. It's a drama and a thriller. A movie which builds up the tension into a climax that leaves you speechles and thinking. Just like "Heavenly Creatures". The actors are above brilliant, the directing is superb. The dialogues intense. It is based on the Papin murder case which took place in France, 1933. Two sisters brutally murdered their employer and her daughter in intense rage.

Since the two sisters become alienated from their surrounding world they have only each other to turn to. The harsh words and mischief from their employer make them flee ito an incestious relationship. The outcome leads to the above mentioned crime. This movie certainly deserved a bigger release with more advertising. Unfortunately it remains an independent release on a small label. Joely Richardson later starred in "Event Horizon" by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a play, this feels quite theatrical: it more-or-less has only four speaking parts and is set almost entirely in one house - which on film lends it a real claustrophobia and intimacy. Based on a real case where two maids brutally murdered their employers, the four actresses are fantastic - Joely Richardson has rarely been better; Jodhi May brings her trade-mark emotional intensity, and even Sophie Thursfield (who?!) is perfect as Julie Walters' daughter. Most reviews at the time criticised the "graphically brutal" scene of violence at the end - but in fact, shot by shot, there is none shown: the criticisms were testament to how tautly the film winds up your nerves and plays on your imagination. Haunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, Not something I would watch again or recomment, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
Even the fabulous Julie Walters cannot save this story, which although not terrible, is really not up to much. A bit too dark, and more than a little boring, I judge my movies by whether or not I would ever watch them again, or keep them in my DVD library. This one is going straight out to Magpie. I do love Julie Walters though and would watch anything that she appears in. Unfortunately in this case, only once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True horrendous murder case...done well, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
...Well the picture quality and sound are pretty good....could be better for a dvd but this is the only release I could find available which I could buy when I bought this one. There is another release which is no better if you can locate one 4 sale. So if you don't have to pay a premium (over 15 bucks) this is a good buy considering.
...The movie in all respects is excellent. The story is real but exactly what happened is not really known. This and at least one other movie give significantly different story-lines but the idea of the sisters developing the incestuous relationship which is portrayed in this particular movie seems a likely lead-into the horrible details of the crime....you'd have to watch it to see what I mean.
...I hope it may eventually be released in true Blu-ray ...and would likely buy it again if that happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BASED ON A TRUE CRIME IN FRANCE., 20 Nov 2007
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
Plot
Christine (Joely Richardson) is the maid of a well-to-do widow (Julie Walters) and her daughter (Sophie Thursfield). Her sister, Lea (Jodhi May) is hired on the recommendation of Christine. The two sisters become increasingly alienated from their employer, separated by barriers between the classes. With only each other to turn to and Christine experiencing much jealousy as to her sister's interest in anyone else, the relationship becomes sexual, adding to the tension between the sisters and their employer, ultimately leading to paranoia, repressed rage and murder.

Product Description
A true story of shocking violence catapults a picturesque little town into history. Julie Walters stars as the head of a perfectly respectable household that is not what it seems. The close sibling relationship between the two maids takes on a new dimension as Walters discovers a sexual fever between the two sisters. The tensions reach the breaking point in a film you'll find both beautiful and horrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing to write home about, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
easily forgotton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
Great film ... Julie Walters was extremely funny . Not to sure about two sisters getting it on ... but if you can look past this you will find the film extremely interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars julie waters film, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister My Sister [DVD] (DVD)
what can i say , this film was awful but i loved it, mainly because julie waters, that woman could act out the phone book and make it absorbing drama.the film itself is based on a true story, but if you read up the case, in fact its nothing like it. i found it depressing, slow, and deep and dark... but hey ho i loved it anyway. i dont want to recommend it, because i dont want to give the impression it s great. but at such a cheap price for the DVD its worthing forking out and making your own mind up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sister My Sister [DVD]
Sister My Sister [DVD] by Julie Walters (DVD - 2010)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews