Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the Scene Brilliantly
I watched this film at University in early 2000, I had lived away in Lincoln for 6 months, first time away from the north east of england. This film captured for me the attraction of the streets of Newcastle, and the fact that it included lots of landmarks and captures quite well the spirit of the city. Now that I am back working in the city, I can understand the reason I...
Published on 7 Feb 2006 by Malcolm Clarke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a first division comedy
Purely Belter followed Billy Elliot into cinemas and now it arrives on video. From the director of the excellent Little Voice and the earnest Brassed Off, Purely Belter- is the tale of two scally-wags attempts to get some cash for two season tickets to Newcastle Utd.
We follow Gerry and Sewell and laugh at their various scams as they scrimp, scrape, duck and dive...
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by G. Meads


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the Scene Brilliantly, 7 Feb 2006
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I watched this film at University in early 2000, I had lived away in Lincoln for 6 months, first time away from the north east of england. This film captured for me the attraction of the streets of Newcastle, and the fact that it included lots of landmarks and captures quite well the spirit of the city. Now that I am back working in the city, I can understand the reason I came back when I watch this film.

Set in Newcastle, the two actors brilliantly portray two down and outs who's only wish in life is to earn enough cash to buy a season ticket to watch Newcastle United play. They duck and dive, like many a local lad I'm sure, and they experience the ups and downs of life struggling in the city. Many good actors are in this film, which humourously shows off the not-so-high life common in Newcastle and many other cities. There are many important issues dealt with in the film, making this more than a comedy about two louts.

Very funny and very touching in places, this is definately a film in the 'Full Monty' mould that captures the heart of the city very well. St. James's Park, Whitley Ice Rink, the Angel of the North are all used to show off the good points of the city.

Well worth watching, a nice addition to any DVD collection, I'm surprised it did not fair better at the cinema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a purely belter of a film......, 8 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A brilliant film! It is so cleverly made, really true to life. Set in Newcastle with two mad footy supporters, who will do anything to get to see the boys play! Two brilliant lads take the lead part. Very funny and also very sad in places, a must see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a first division comedy, 18 Aug 2001
By 
G. Meads (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purely Belter [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Purely Belter followed Billy Elliot into cinemas and now it arrives on video. From the director of the excellent Little Voice and the earnest Brassed Off, Purely Belter- is the tale of two scally-wags attempts to get some cash for two season tickets to Newcastle Utd.
We follow Gerry and Sewell and laugh at their various scams as they scrimp, scrape, duck and dive whilst all around them is heartache and a sense of life going nowhere.
Gerry has a teacher from hell, a father from the same destination and a mum with a heart of gold. Sewell has a senile old dad and a girlfriend who wants more from her boyfriend than sniffing glue and selling selling someone else's Celine Dion CD's!
Purely Belter is a pacy little film that doesn't pull any punches. The two leads give winning performances and the adults all lend able support. For the first 45 minutes, the film looks like it's going to be something special. But unfortunately its 'pat' conclusions undo alot of the grittiness that has gone before. More so than Billy Elliot.
This is not a bad film by any means. Just don't go expecting something as winning as East Is East. That film followed through. Purely Belter promises so much but bottles it right at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious British Comedy!, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] (DVD)
'Purely Belter' (2000) is quite simply, a great British movie and a fantastic comedy. It stars two young actors called Chris Beattie (excellent as the lead) and Greg McLane, who appear to have strangely had no film/TV career since the film's release.

In a plot that is rather typical for a northern movie, two Newcastle born and bred working-class kids Gerry (still at school) and Sewell (unemployed) are having fun and getting into moneymaking scams (which eventually spiral out of control) whilst trying to save up some money for two season tickets to see their beloved football club. The tickets cost £1000 but these guys will stop at nothing to purchase them. The ways in which they try to collect the money often very nearly land them in hot water: from selling junk to housebreaking, these guys are nothing if not resourceful.

'Purely Belter' is a cracking comedy from start to finish. Like many British films, there are also some tender moments mixed in with the black comedy. It also stars a cast of well known British actors such as Tim Healy (very convincing as the film's 'bad guy'), Roy Hudd and Charlie Hardwick (who is particularly good). It also has something that not many British movies can claim - a guest appearance from Alan Shearer.

If you have yet to see 'Purely Belter' - I can unhesitatingly recommended that you do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 13 Sep 2013
By 
N (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] (DVD)
as a Newcastle united fan I love this film. really warm and funny. worth watching.A pity I never received my copy as amazon decided I had returned it. poor service for once but still a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The movie is a bit dated now but still a very good British Movie. Even better if you are a Newcastle United supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best comedy film of all time, 22 Nov 2014
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best comedy film of all time, it does help if you can understand the geordie accent, but the acting and the story line is absolutely first class. I can watch this film over and over again and still end up " wettin mesel" with laughter. I really good watch when you need cheering up.
Could do with a few more like this one.
Sooooooooooooooooooo very funny !!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geordie Classic, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] (DVD)
There's no other film like this, set in the heart of the best place in the world. Newcastle upon Tyne!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all!, 7 April 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Purely Belter [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
It's always hard summing up English films. I mean, how seriously can you take them these days? Their are few that stand out as being unique, unless you count the likes of 'The Full Monty', which few films had tried before.

Purely Belter, like most other British films, set's itself in the good down to earth reality of English life. It's always refreshing to watch a film that you can, in many ways, relate to in your own life, and this is something that only an English audience can absorb and take in. The plot is thin but simple in this film; a year in the life of two Newcastle lads who plan to raise money for a pair of season tickets at St James' Park, home of Newcastle FC.

It'd be wise to ponder how on earth you could watch a film for 1 and a half hours, trying decipher what these funny lads are on about. But perhaps this is the great side of it. As a Northerner myself, it's fascinating to compare our lives to that of the unnecessary 4 x 4 drivers in London and Co, and this was achieved when I went down South not long ago. I didn't even know you could pay more than 2.20 for a Pint!

But while the film does try it's best to hold out the film, it's fair to say the Director and producers have got the lifestyle appreciation and filming spot on. Though our two young actors may not be Shakespearian-counterparts, they do a flippin' good job of representing the lives of kids in some areas, which is all to common for some of us. The youngest lads (Terry) Dad is played superbly and again, represents an all to familiar 'type' of dad for my friends in the past.

Even the charismatic Alan Shearer (who has thankfully started to say a few words on Match of the Day instead of sitting their glummly) got his say with a one liner after a match, and to lighten things up further, the two lads steal his Jaguar to re-pay his smug laugh after asking for season tickets... if only!

It's easy to be harsh on low budget English films, but it's always re-assuring knowing that you don't need great sums of money to make a great film. Bruce Willis may have fought off his middle-aged belly to impossibly dodge cruise missiles in Die Hard 4, but watching a good down to earth film, though not always bright and happy, is all the more entertaining for its truth and value. In which case, Purely Belter is definitely worth a cheap buy!

(By the way - can someone confirm that the flats at the end were super-imposed behind St James' Park?...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of Purely Belter, 12 Jun 2003
I am a member of a film club run by my local school. As part of our programme of films we are currently watching and analysing Purely Belter which was chosen by our Film Club teacher. Having watched this film I cannnot understand how this gem of a comedy has so obviously been overlooked by the mainstream film critics of our day, without whom such films sadly fall by the wayside. I hope to put this right by my review and encourage others to watch it and 'spread the word!'
Starring Chris Beatie, also known for his role in the hit teen series Byker Grove and Greg McLane, it charts the progress of two football obsessed fans and their ultimate aim to get season tickets for Newcastle United.
Given the initial limited subject matter, the director, Mark Herman, cleverly intertwines the football theme with the teenagers dysfunctional families to cover a wide range of problems which many of us can relate too. From burglary, drugs, shoplifting to begging, the boys try to raise money for those ever elusive 'Toon Army' tickets. Mark Herman treats each subject with a gentle sensitivity which makes you aware of the characters pain but never dwells too long on the down side of the situation, chosing rather to temper such moments with humour which is both touching and hilarious. I thoroughly recommend this film to teenagers and even adults, who will appreciate and remember their teen years with the affection with which this film is made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purely Belter [DVD]
Purely Belter [DVD] by Mark Herman (DVD - 2010)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews