Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silencio!
Bit of a public service announcement here. Great movie, obviously, and if you don't already have it, this is certainly the edition to buy. BUT, if you have the previous DVD and you're thinking of upgrading to the new edition, I really wouldn't bother. The main selling point to me was chapter selections, which were notoriously absent previously, but notice that the new...
Published on 18 Mar 2007 by Oswald Cobblepot

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A surreal nightmare
I really enjoyed the first two hours of this film. The cast is fantastic. Naomi Watts is terrific as all-American cutie Betty and Laura Elena Harring, who plays mysterious Rita, must surely be one of the most beautiful women on the planet. Justin Theroux is Adam, a temperamental film director who has lost control of his own project. Billy Ray Cyrus makes an appearance as...
Published 13 months ago by Camilla Macaulay


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mulholland Drive, 17 Aug 2003
By A Customer
There is a little bit of me that can't help but think that David Lynch makes films with no sense, but he does it so that he can sit back and snigger as everyone tries to work them out. You have to call him a 'genius' to prove you actually understand. But is there anything to understand? I laughed at 'Mulholland Drive' and maybe, just maybe I got the joke.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of my evening!, 9 Mar 2005
What a total and utter waste of time!
The film truly fails to follow any logical pattern of thought. Imagine having someone reading you a story but reading random pages from random books. Even then you'll only be halfway to Mulholland Drive!
If you treasure your sanity - don't do it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money!!!, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
OH MY GOD!!! This has to be THE oddest film I have ever seen. It left me completley confused and after, I just sat on my sofa for about 10 minutes, mouth wide open, wondering what the hell that was all about. It started fine, afew odd moments with some strange Mafia goings on but that I could handle. Then about half way through it all changed. Whoosh went normality and hello came confusion. The worst thing was it went on for about 2 and a half hours. 2 1/2 hrs that I'll never see again. My suggestion is, stay well away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars by far not his best, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. A. Hackett "Socialite" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didnt really enjoy this film simply because it had potential but the ending half hour just spoils it. I would say im a fan of david lynch, ive seen every episode of twin peaks, blue velvet, dune, Twin peaks: fire walk with me and the ever brilliant Eraserhead. This film is very much like a late M. Shamalayan night film, its seems to be going somewhere, the mystery grows, all the wierd pieces of the puzzle are about to come together.... and then a really bad twist in the story. Lynch with his last two films has been on low form like you would expect with any film maker but its almost as if he knows that he is one of the best hollywood surrealists and relies more on reputation than his ability in these films. The beauty of a great lynch film is having a simplistic plot as the soil but growing wierd and wonderful things, bizzare characters and social conversations that are just crazy. Unfortunatly this film seemed to be going in this direction but just stopped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just because it makes no sense does not mean it is art., 23 Oct 2010
By 
NJ Breakwell (Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
This is a waste of two hours of your life. There are better things to do. There are lots of good art movies out there that combine style with acting with innovation and also have a plot. Gosforth Park being a good example of a film that demands attention and delivers. The problem with Mulholland Drive is that it has a great central performance, some neat camera work and a very smart hit sequence involving a vacuum cleaner, but, and this is a big but, it has no point and no plot whatsoever. If you read the online reviews the lack of plot and closure is interpreted in the light of artistic merit. I suppose it depends on whether you think that the merit in Monet is just watching the paint dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent rubbish, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. W. Tracey "rickytracey2" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I once read an interview with Sir Paul Mcarthy where he had a good laugh at those "intellectuals" trying to make sense of the words to some of his songs. Songs which were written to rhyme, not to tell a story. I think David Lynch has done the same here. I would not be suprised if in a book or interview one day he admits that this movie's sole purpouse was to take the micky out of pretentious intellectuals. This film is well shot and well directed but has no story line what so ever. He has made every effort to make us think we just didn't get it but in reality there is nothing to get. Prententious rubbish, I can't wait until he admits it which will make the so called critics look very stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Offensively bad film, 3 Dec 2013
By 
G. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is a shambles. David Lynch is a good director but my god the script he wrote for this film is beyond awful. Watch on as nothing makes sense and nothing is resolved.

One of the biggest problems is that somehow people think I'm an idiot for not getting the "plot" yet they can never explain it. If they do explain it seems to require some sort of thesis.

Also the film is far too long, it's two and a half hours it feels like two and a half days.

If you are a regular viewer avoid. If you are a snob when it comes to films this may be the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What, no, wait !!, 17 Mar 2008
Just finished watching this and what started off as a good film descended into farce

Impressionalist ? Symbolism ? Who knows and who cares !

This film won loads of awards but its hard to see why. It is pretentious in the extreme and if you are a lover of good films - Avoid this one !

If you have a choice between watching paint dry and this film , Bring on the Dulux !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a drag, 10 Feb 2003
If ever there was a film that makes watching it feels like having your intestines slowly being pulled out, this is it.
The story of this 2 hours 20 minute film could easily be told in just 15 minutes. But through Lynch's magic he manages to drag it out with countless list of characters in what seems like unrelated situations, and tediously drawn out scenes where in any other film would have just cut to it.
The conclusion does provide some sort of explanation and the scene with the halpess hitman was quite amusing thou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bulholland Drive, 23 April 2004
What an absolutely, shockingly bad film. Its the type of film that'sophisticated' film critics will watch and think, yeah, this is reallydark and chic. Don't be fooled by the ratings, this film is terrible,there is no set story-line and it justs get worse as it goes on. I watchedthe whole film in the hope that it would suddenly pick up, however, thedrivel continued right the unneccessarily complicated ending, utter, uttertosh, avoid at all costs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mulholland Drive (Studio Canal Collection) [Blu-ray Region B] [2001]
12.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews