Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you want from a Sly Stallone movie is right here.
Have to say right off that I can't believe the low rating for this one here, because it delivers everything that a Stallone fan would want, if one is loading this into the player then surely they know what to expect?

Frank Leone (Sylvester Stallone) only has a few weeks to go before being released from prison, he is no hard core offender, he is a loving man and...
Published 23 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Moulded for Sly
A Stallone movie that is better than you think. Stallone is a short timer in the pen and is transfered to a more secure prison. There he is harassed and tortured by the revenge seeking warden(Donald Sutherland). The part was of course molded for Mr. Stallone, but on the other hand the accomplished Mr. Sutherland is more bland and boring than fearsome.
Published on 13 May 2007 by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you want from a Sly Stallone movie is right here., 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Have to say right off that I can't believe the low rating for this one here, because it delivers everything that a Stallone fan would want, if one is loading this into the player then surely they know what to expect?

Frank Leone (Sylvester Stallone) only has a few weeks to go before being released from prison, he is no hard core offender, he is a loving man and is ready for a new life with his gorgeous girlfriend Melissa (Darlanne Fluegel). During the night he is whisked away to a maximum security prison on the orders of a sadistic warden out for revenge because Leone was the only man to have ever escaped from his prison, thus setting in motion the wheels of revenge.

We then follow Leone as he is pushed to the limits by crazy warden Drumgoole (Donald Sutherland) and all the sadistic guards under his command. He also enlists the help of resident inmate beefcake Chink Weber (Sonny Landham), and they all in turn try to break Leone at all costs to ensure that he never leaves prison again. There certainly is nothing here that hasn't been done before in the prison film genre, and only an idiot would expect anything other than the ending we get, but this is a Stallone movie and it's full of guts, testo macho action, and it should be noted that Sly here puts some depth to the character of Leone. He garners our sympathy quite quickly, and considering the bloke is built like the proverbial brick outhouse, it's quite an achievement.

The supporting players are a mixed bunch, this is Tom Sizemore's first motion picture and he does really well with the character of Dallas, Sonny Landham is his usual scary menacing self, whilst Frank McRae as Eclipse does just enough right to make his mark. So it's something of a surprise to me that the best actor on show is actually the film's weak link. Donald Sutherland does overplay it to the point that he goes beyond pantomime villain, it's a real teeth itching performance that he would only outdo with the dreadful Jamie Lee Curtis starrer, Virus, 10 years later, but in a film with such primal fun/action intentions, it doesn't ruin the film and leaves it all told as a fine genre piece.

No awards here for sure, but when I watch a film about a man played by Sly Stallone in prison then I think I know what to expect, and it delivers all that I hoped for, so hooray for the beefcake I say. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lock up, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
great film, great price if you want to start your Blu-ray collection off, very happy with the price, came on time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars rocky locked up!, 9 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [VHS] (VHS Tape)
first of all i have to confess i am a stallone fan,which doesn't prevent me from being objective when i say that"lock up" is one of the best action flicks of these period(late 80's)that i used to watch after school with pals and chocolate bars.it's kind of rocky in prison,sly is perfect as franck leone, a hearty streetguy harrassed by a devilish warden(sutherland doesn't play the character,he is the character!);which makes me think if you like prison flicks one of the essential ingredients of this genre are supporting characters and in "lock up" they are bloody good !(john amos,tom sizemore,franck mcrae),lock up is simply a good prison flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] (DVD)
Love stallone in this film,great story line,enjoyed this film no time to get bored,if you like stallone you will love this film,i totally recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great prision drama by legend stallone, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] (DVD)
Just good film , very well entertaining stallone kicks ass in is this is gold by stallone and every one will love it its about friendship .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crime dont pay, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] (DVD)
stallone plays a convict finishing off a prison sentence and allowed out for so long a day .upon returning and going to his bunk he is woken by other prison gaurds who move him to a maximum security prison where some of the gaurds are corrupt and waiting for him his old prison warden with a grudge to settle,to do anything he can to break the prisoner so he never leaves prison,this is one of the top best prison movies,i really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Moulded for Sly, 13 May 2007
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
A Stallone movie that is better than you think. Stallone is a short timer in the pen and is transfered to a more secure prison. There he is harassed and tortured by the revenge seeking warden(Donald Sutherland). The part was of course molded for Mr. Stallone, but on the other hand the accomplished Mr. Sutherland is more bland and boring than fearsome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lock-up, 8 April 2014
By 
martin (southampton uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [DVD] (DVD)
stallone has a few months left of his sentance in a quiet peaceful jail;;but he"s sent to another jail compliments of the warden he got justice for ;for the way the WARDEN TREATED PRISONERS IN HIS OLDER JAIL;;;frank is set-up by this warden;but does everything he can to claer his name;;with violent consiquences...!10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great revenge movie, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up (Amazon Instant Video)
Stallone stars as a small time criminal in a low level prison. He gets transferred to a maximum security prison even though he's a model prisoner and keeping his head down with less than six months before release. An awesome film of friends, family and doing what's right. Not aged at all and with a great, haunting soundtrack this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lock up, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Up [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
l enjoyed this flim it was good to watch as l dont, watch many Sylvester STALLONE flims l like a good action flim to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lock Up [Blu-ray]
Lock Up [Blu-ray] by John Flynn (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews