Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's just my way, man
Black comedy gangster movies were the hot trend in British cinema in the 2000s. London's Lock Stock, Snatch and Layer Cake etc were met by Ireland's Intermission and this, Perrier's Bounty. Whilst the grit of the English films is to be admired, there is a certain something about the Irish that allows the dark humour of the film to come across as more genuine and Perrier's...
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by boz

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bountiful
Cillian Murphy (28 Days Later & Sunshine) plays a hapless Michael McCray who borrows money from the local gangster, Perrier (Brendan Gleeson - Green Zone). When he struggles to make the repayments, Perrier sends his enforcers round to collect, involving Michael's neighbour and long-time crush Brenda (Jodie Whittaker). When Michael's dad shows up (Jim Broadbent - Hot Fuzz)...
Published on 8 Aug 2010 by J. Morris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed "In Bruges", this is for you, 6 Mar 2014
By 
C. R. Osborn "ChrisOs" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Well cast and acted, slightly surreal, and very enjoyable. Jim Broadbent as you have probably never seen him before. Quite a few moments when I had a sharp intake of breath, and many more when I was chuckling. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
dark black funny comedy , will watch again, lots of layers to enjoy, better than MI2, which i switched off in favour this gem, glad i did.
***** stars
atb clb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this film, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this film, A lightweight storyline The great Jim Broadbent stole the scenes for me not to take away from Brendan Gleeson who never faulters. Cilian murphy as usual grows with every film he makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perrier's BOUNTY dvd, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this movie very much that is why I gave it 5 stars and would recommend it. It is a great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cillian Murphy fan's dream, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good enough film, the plot is a slightly more than basic cat and mouse situation; it's the characters that make this. Brendan Gleeson is, as usual, very entertaining, Cillian Murphy is, as usual, gorgeous and scene-stealing, Liam Cunningham is, as usual, funny and a bit of a tasty golden oldie and not forgetting Jim Broadbent. There are also bit parts by less established, as far as I'm aware, names such as Padraic Delaney and Domhnall Gleeson (up and coming for sure) and it is definitely the characters that make this film for me and keeps the film interesting- with a bit of action and gooeyness for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Really Add Up To The Sum Of Its Parts, 21 May 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Alongside the recent upsurge in Nordic (mainly crime) dramas, a 'genre' of Irish crime (and gangster) films has undoubtedly come to the fore in recent years and this 2009 film directed by Ian Fitzgibbon, with a screenplay by Mark O'Rowe (who also wrote the script for 2003's Intermission and 2007's impressive Boy A), fits firmly (although, for me, not altogether successfully) into the genre. Of course, leading the way in the genre is Michael McDonagh's excellent 2008 film In Bruges and whilst Perrier's Bounty similarly features the great Brendan Gleeson (plus a whole host of other leading British and Irish acting talent) it does not even get close to McDonagh's film in terms of its level of inventiveness, or even just pure comedy. This is a real shame given the talent on show.

One certainly can't complain, however, about the pace of Fitzgibbon's film (which hardly lets up during its 80 or so minute duration) or indeed the number of wisecracking one-liners, which, albeit of variable quality, come thick and fast. Set over a 24 (or so) hour period, predominantly in night-time urban Dublin, the film's (pretty simplistic) plot centres on deadbeat Michael McCrea (an impressive Cillian Murphy) and his unsuccessful, and increasingly desperate, attempts to repay a debt he owes to local gangster Darren Perrier (Gleeson). What follows is a series of darkly comic set-pieces as Michael is promised a share of the spoils as loan shark The Mull (the always reliable Liam Cunningham) cuts Michael in on a planned burglary (and then blackmail), and then finds himself on the run from Perrier's hitmen, picking up on the way estranged father Jim (Jim Broadbent, with a less than convincing Irish accent) and suicidal, jilted, ex-girlfriend Brenda (Jodie Whittaker).

Whilst all concerned do a perfectly respectable job with what they have, it is the film's concept which is perhaps too formulaic and (for me, at least) the script is just not funny enough. There are, however, some notable moments of amusement, such as Michael's recurring encounters with a pair of car clampers (one of whom being played by an hilarious Ned Dennehy, who was also excellent in Paddy Considine's Tyrannosaur) and with the city's 'attack dog'-brandishing hard men (Michael's connection with whom thereafter leading to the film's amusing, and closing, joint human/dog funeral scene).

In the end, in fact, I found myself most impressed by Murphy's performance which captured elements of both humour and pathos, whereas those of the film's other acknowledged greats (Gleeson, Broadbent and Cunningham) were too one-dimensional for the most part. I would certainly recommend In Bruges (and even 2011's The Guard, which also starred Gleeson) over Perrier's Bounty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great underrated Irish movie, very funny, 13 May 2013
By 
Paul Toal (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable Dublin based film with superb cast. Very very funny movie I just rented on iTunes and had to get it on blu ray. Great price on here, worth a watch. It won't win any awards and won't make you cry but it's good story, funny, with great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad boy film!, 18 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Patterson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Good British film! Not like the rest with their pony one liners! it's actually funny! and its a good film, its a bit serious at times too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perriers Bounty., 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Found this film by accident, and what a pearl it is. Imagine a comedy version of Millers Crossing. Violent and very funny. 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perriers Bounty review, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perrier's Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Perriers Bounty is an amazing Irish Gangster film with elements of (very funny) dark comedy. Its very well written and sums up certain elements of gangster life and futility very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perrier's Bounty [DVD]
Perrier's Bounty [DVD] by Ian Fitzgibbon (DVD - 2010)
4.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews