Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb horror/ thriller
I noticed that this film has taken a bit of a savaging from some of the other reviewers on this page and I would like to redress the balance by defending this excellent film.

Contemporary British horror is far from the prolific industry it used to be with the likes of Hammer and Amicus delivering regular fixes of horror in this unique style. Here we have an...
Published on 6 Jun. 2011 by the santa cat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice dvd artwork
A horrible Frankensteins monster of a mess with the salvaged remains of various Hammer productions and 'Screamtime' appropriated, put in a blender and the desiccated remains haphazardly spliced together.
The film begins with the murders of a group of eco-activists out in the woods but what should have been a pivotal part of the film was quite poorly directed with bad...
Published on 15 July 2012 by All of them Witches


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice dvd artwork, 15 July 2012
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
A horrible Frankensteins monster of a mess with the salvaged remains of various Hammer productions and 'Screamtime' appropriated, put in a blender and the desiccated remains haphazardly spliced together.
The film begins with the murders of a group of eco-activists out in the woods but what should have been a pivotal part of the film was quite poorly directed with bad camera angles and little passion.
God was the rest of the film clunky. Charisma Carpenter (Susan) did ok with the mess of a script but oh my what she must have thought of her opposite and screen husband 'David' He was so wooden that a whole skip-full of Carpenters couldn't have assembled him into a passable actor. The guy who played the creepy gamekeeper was pretty good but the implausibility of the script let the performances down time and time again. Him exposing himself to a distraught Susan out in the woods was no obstacle to her agreeing with hiring him then her having an evening one-to-one dinner with him whilst her husband was away. Susan had previously experienced a mental breakdown so giving the director carte blanche to continually insert silly hallucinations which asides from at the moment didn't have much more of an emotional or psychological impression on Susan until the decision to wrap up this sorry mess was required.
Featuring the obligatory bath running with the water looking like blood scene and randomn medium/seance scene this was a largely pointless but nonetheless not wholly unentertaining mish-mash of much better fims and television productions.
Not deserving of being an 18 either which shows how prudish the film censors in this country are to sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crimes Of The Future, 28 July 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING. THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!

A group of road protesters are brutally murdered by an axe wielding maniac. He is captured after being shot. Fifteen years later, American crime novelist Susan(Charisma Carpenter) is taken by her husband David(Paul Sculfor) to their new dream home in the English countryside. David is very pleased with the house, Susan less so as she starts to experience visions of people, that only she can see. Susan's agent Charles(Richard Raynsford) has a whispered conversation with David regarding his wife's mental health, alluding to problems in the past. Meanwhile Susan's visions are happening more regularily and becoming more horrifying, some of them involving the very same axe murderer from all those years ago.
This film is reminiscant of the Hammer psychological thriller/horrors from the past, along with many other British horrors. It also has the feel of those great British television series such as Hammer House Of Horror and Thriller. Sex scenes and swearing have been added to the mix, to the films detriment, as shorn of these unnecessary additions it could have been a nice little psychological horror. It would also take issue with the films originality, as the films enjoyable if nonsensical 'twist' ending has been used before to better effect, both in the Hammer House Of Mystery And Suspense episode 'In Possession'(one of that stories actors, Bernard Kay, also appears in this), and also the British horror short 'Dream House', which director Reg Traviss bought the rights to, and what this film is based on. The problem with modern directors trying to hark back to the 'golden age' of British horror, is that they have to get the tone just right. Douglas Hickox managed to succeed more the most part with the excellent 'Knife's Edge', a film similar to this but far more enjoyable.
The film is a pain-free experience, and there are a couple of good performances, one from the afore mentioned Carpenter, the other from Ricci Harnett as Peck the Groundsman, with his big pecker. Harnett does well with the role,especially as the character has 'red herring' stamped across his forehead. On the other hand Sculfor is very wooden as David.
I would advise Traviss to tone down the sex and violence, and concentrate more on the subtle chills next time he visits the British psychological horror. It could have been so much better. 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb horror/ thriller, 6 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
I noticed that this film has taken a bit of a savaging from some of the other reviewers on this page and I would like to redress the balance by defending this excellent film.

Contemporary British horror is far from the prolific industry it used to be with the likes of Hammer and Amicus delivering regular fixes of horror in this unique style. Here we have an independent British horror film very much in the existing tradition of British horror. I am not saying this is a throw back to the 1960s, rather it is steeped in the atmosphere that made those films famous.

The plot is well structured and paced. The cinematography is effective and atmospheric. The cast all turn in superb performances, especially Charisma Carpenter who many of you will remember from other independent films and hit series of the 90s, Buffy the vampire slayer. She still looks great as well.

In short, I think some of the reviewers here must have been watching a different film from this one, as this really is a great little indie film, one of the best horrors of 2010 in fact. Its a good price as well, go ahead and get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hella Lame Shining, 1 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
Unless you are a big fan of Charisma Carpenter this is best to avoid. Very low on tension and apart form 2 of the cast v.poor acting. Does have a good twist but should have been done a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible acting espicially from the male lead, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible acting espicially from the male lead. Poor Carpenter is a real B-movie starlet. There was a good story here and to see the darkness singer in his movie debut was kinda fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of charisma carpenter , i did like this movie but i felt it was somewhat rushed towards the last 30 minutes of the movie i feel it could have had more to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vapid horror movie is a pastiche of well worn themes, 8 April 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
American author, very beautiful, moves into country house in England. Her search for peace and quiet is interrupted by apparitions of murdered anarchists, the maniac who butchered them, and also a horny gamekeeper. But is it all in her mind?

A hotch-potch of horror staples that don't gel. A lacklustre cast. Murders that are more funny than scary. Boring sex scenes and a weird bit with the English husband playing away with his mistress at some sort of swingers club in London. It's all done on the cheap and if you haven't the money you have to be resourceful and build suspense through suggestion rather than rely on poorly timed shocks.

The person who gave this 5-stars presumably worked on the film. It all depends on how you interpet Amazon's star-rating system. 5 to mean "I loved it", which is all well and good, or 5 to mean 'this is a 5-star movie', a 'top of the table' success story. Do buy or rent it and tell me that my 2-stars - meaning "I don't like it" AND "it is a bit cack" are coincidental. The happy marriage of subjective opinion and the truth.

There are other better flicks where an American comes to Britain and the locals freak her out. That one with Demi Moore, for instance. What's it called? Or The Turn Of The Screw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diabolical!, 2 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
I seldom write reviews, this is only my second. The first was a glowing 5* review I felt so positive about the movie I had to write a few words. This I am afraid was the opposite experience. This has to be one of the worst films I have ever seen and I can assure you I've seen some clunkers in my past! Acting and plot are extremely poor. I can't think of 1 good reason to spend time and money watching it. You have been warned, avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
this was purchased as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychosis-Hammer-Amicus-style., 19 Oct. 2011
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psychosis [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently watched this brilliant film ,and was pleasantly surprised .
I thourghly enjoyed it and as I love Hammer films ,I found the film to be on
a similar vein ,great twists and acting was superb ,they dont make em like this
anymore ,great British little horror ,a must buy for horror fans .I dont want to
spoil it by giving too much information ,but buy it you wont regret it.
Kind regards Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychosis [DVD]
Psychosis [DVD] by Reg Traviss (DVD - 2010)
£4.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews