Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly wonderful film.
I wanted to see this as I've just learned to skate, not actually giving much thought to the plot. However it was fantastic! My partner and I grinned throughout (almost - you'll understand where not when you see it) and I am grinning still. A film about girls made by women for everyone! Hurrah. It's funny, empowering, warm hearted and feels like real life. The teenage...
Published on 28 Dec. 2010 by The Zocat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Only Film About Female Roller Derby You Need
Sports films have been around for years and the big hitters are pretty much covered; boxing - done, athletics - done, baseketball - done. It's up to the modern film maker to scrape the sport barrel dry and look for the one or two pastimes that are stuck to the sticky yeasty bit at the bottom. How about female roller derby, is that obscure enough for you...
Published on 30 Nov. 2011 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly wonderful film., 28 Dec. 2010
By 
The Zocat (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to see this as I've just learned to skate, not actually giving much thought to the plot. However it was fantastic! My partner and I grinned throughout (almost - you'll understand where not when you see it) and I am grinning still. A film about girls made by women for everyone! Hurrah. It's funny, empowering, warm hearted and feels like real life. The teenage clash with parents happens, but they are not so bad, just parents, there is a great love story, best friend relationship, and loads of really cool roller derby, which involves women zooming round on roller skates and bashing each other out of the way. All teenage girls should see this and so should everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whip It, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whip It [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was surprised by just how much I enjoyed `Whip It'. I was expecting a fairly innocuous comedy film, but this is laugh out loud funny, a feel good film that is also kind of endearing and it has a kick ass soundtrack, not bad for Barrymore's directional debut.

Bliss is a seventeen year old girl who lives in a quiet Texan town, she works at a local diner, she likes rock music and her mum encourages her to enter beauty pageants. Then everything gets turned upside down when she finds and joins a roller derby team and a love interest in the guise of a guitarist in a local band. Before long she is breaking out of her shell, as well as breaking some heads as she whips her way round the derby ring. She finds an alternative, outlandish family in her team mates and has to balance her mums aspirations for her and her own dreams in life.

Ellen Page is excellent as Bliss and all of her team mates are superb as alternative, fun loving girls with heart. Barrymore is hilarious in the side role she plays, as is the feisty Juliette Lewis and all of the `stage names' the girls take on will crack you up. The crashes and bashes on the track will make you laugh and wince in equal measures. You'll come away from this with a warm glow and feeling good and will have had some real solid laughs throughout, what more can you ask for.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Only Film About Female Roller Derby You Need, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Whip It [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sports films have been around for years and the big hitters are pretty much covered; boxing - done, athletics - done, baseketball - done. It's up to the modern film maker to scrape the sport barrel dry and look for the one or two pastimes that are stuck to the sticky yeasty bit at the bottom. How about female roller derby, is that obscure enough for you?

Bliss is a small town girl with large town aspirations. Her hopes come in the form of the all-female roller derby that meets regularly in the city nearby. `Whip It' is a coming of age story about growing apart from your family and making something of yourself - even if that something happens to wear roller skates and spends time knocking people over. As the film directional debut of Hollywood veteran Drew Barrymore (she may only be 36, but she has been working most of her life), her quirky sense of humour and interesting take on life is apparent on the screen. `Whip It' is a coming of age story told through the prism of films such as `Donnie Darko' or `The Royal Tenenbaums'. It has a dark nature to its humour, but is actually very sweet.

One of the best things about `Whip It' is the stellar female performances. This is a female ensemble piece and the likes of Ellen Page shine. Kirsten Wiig is also excellent and shows why she has gone on since this film to make her own way in Hollywood. The story itself is incredibly generic and the setting is some weird idiom of anywhere between 1990-2005. What the film lacks in narrative imagination, it makes up for in its goofy nature. Barrymore's personality is all over the film and you cannot help becoming involved in Bliss' story and overjoyed when she does well. However, this does not stop the film from lacking real drive or direction. As a debut there is real promise for Barrymore as a director, next time she just needs a little more vision and story.

The film benefits from High Definition and the extras are great fun, highlighting the good time that the cast had and why the onscreen chemistry worked so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars untimate alternative feel good movie, 28 April 2010
This is one of the most amazing girls feel good movies of all time, the cast, characters, music everything is so fun and feel good, no real girlyness its all alternative fun, is really fun and touching and I dare you to not watch with a smaile on your face this movie deserves so much more credit and air play anyone who is tired of the old girly chick flicks will love this very refreshing that you will want to watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant movie, 3 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Whip It [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
so clever on so many levels. great pace and characters. Very funny in places and a fabulous soundtrack. The blu-ray transfer is good but not great but the sound mix makes up for this in HD. This film has a charming feel to it the whole way through and its just one of those films, it really should not be as entertaining as it is, but something about it just grabs you. recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teen Girly Movie Goes To The Rollerderby !, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, so look, I cannot say that this is my usual genre of movies, but it is quite nice to take a break from all the Aliens, Monsters and general Bad Maniacal Slashers causing havoc in the universe and I have to say that I quite enjoyed it for what it was - a story of a young girl growing in a dead-beat town, with all the usual teen urges that come with the blossoming of true adolescence. We've all been there - must be more to the world, first sexual experience and betrayal, and parents that want us to live our lives exactly the way that they had planned it for us.

My only real issue with this movie is that although Ellen Page plays our young hero superbly, I cannot say that I was overly impressed with her skating ability ! Yeah, it's a silly issue - but with a movie about a girl joining a skating team it may have helped to have a better skater, for at times she did not look as confident on her wheels as the rest of the cast and she was a little bit to `strained' going around the track.

Anyhow, Ellen Page is by far the star of this movie, plays it well and is going to go much further than just a few teenie movies. So - for me - a thoroughly enjoyable break from my norm, the sort of movie you would watch on a plane and not tell anyone after that you enjoyed it !!So, 4 out of 5 - would give it more but I am sure my heavy action / sci-fi friends would laugh at me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, fun, and good natured, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
Likable" could be seen as a lukewarm compliment for a film. "Cute" could
even be a backhanded pit-down. But this film is likable and cute in a very good way.

The story of an off-beat 17 year old, well played by Ellen Page, finding herself
by secretly joining the roller derby, sort of a funky, punky hipper, faster moving
version of professional wrestling, in Austin, Texas may be cliched on the surface,
but the lovely character detail and successfully offbeat casting make the film a quirky,
likable winner.

Not a great film, nor an "important" one, but one I enjoyed and was never bored by. And
at a time where most Hollywood "entertainment" centers around blowing stuff up, its nice
to see a mainstream film with rich characters and a big heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Whip It" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ever since her breakthrough on "Juno" Ellen Page has made smart choices with her movies and the uplifting "Whip It" is yet another.

However if you're a British fan please note that no matter how enticing the price may be - the American BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Luckily it was given a BLU RAY release on this side of the pond (Region B) and it's fallen to a dirt-cheap cost since.

Take a chance on this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly action packed!, 5 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw this film I liked it but there were things I missed the first time. When I watched it the second time I realised that the film was very intricately made and the viewer missed key things the first time round and therefore needed to see the film a second time to really appreciate the action packed scenes and the moderately comedic performances of Ellen Page (Juno) and Drew Barrymore as an actress and in her directorial debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Wanna Roller Skate!!!, 2 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely brilliant film, doesn't take itself seriously, and it's so not your average Hilary Duff / Linsey Lohan etc type girly film- it's a girly film with balls and self respect, if your into your average rom-com but feel that you'd like to see more attitude and less 'girl-worrying-about-boy's-opinion' you should definately buy this (a steal at £4.95!) You'll wanna dust off your old Barbie Skates after this Roller-Derby-Coaster Ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whip It [Blu-ray]
Whip It [Blu-ray] by Drew Barrymore (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews