Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly wonderful film.
I wanted to see this as I've just learned to skate, not actually giving much thought to the plot. However it was fantastic! My partner and I grinned throughout (almost - you'll understand where not when you see it) and I am grinning still. A film about girls made by women for everyone! Hurrah. It's funny, empowering, warm hearted and feels like real life. The teenage...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by The Zocat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Only Film About Female Roller Derby You Need
Sports films have been around for years and the big hitters are pretty much covered; boxing - done, athletics - done, baseketball - done. It's up to the modern film maker to scrape the sport barrel dry and look for the one or two pastimes that are stuck to the sticky yeasty bit at the bottom. How about female roller derby, is that obscure enough for you...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Sam Tyler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Whip it DVD, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd very funny great entertainment laughed alot, good characters would definitely recomment it to tothers just a laugh a minute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars roller derby, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
cannot review the dvd as it was a present for someone else but the item arrived in good time and very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, feel good film :P, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because it looked okay, I'd heard some good things about it, so got it cheap.

I have not regretted it one bit.
The story line isn't the most thick i've seen, but not particularly thin either, it was relatable (if thats even a word...), it was believeable, funny, and just generally made me want to get out my old roller skates - not to necessarily do it to that extreme...but just to have a bit of a roll :)

Just a genuinely fun feel good film, a bit girly - but not really tbh...I loved it, you'll love it - don't think twice, just go and buy it! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie at the cinema when it first came out, my friend liked it but i instantly fell in love with it. I had never heard of roller derby before seeing this movie but it made me look into it and i found out there was a league in my area! Now i am in love with roller derby and i love this movie. It's not just for fans of roller derby though... it's perfect for teenagers, it's a gritty, funny, heartfelt movie (and i love how she handles the guy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a teen girl picture - there is substantial content in this film, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
On the surface this may look like a teen Rom Com; but it most certainly is not. Although there are some standard story elements in the film they are played out at a very high standard, using well developed characters, with the relationships between them presented with considerably reality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars L.O.V.E, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
LOVE this film. Includes fierce, competitive women in roller derby. Never seen anything like it before but definitely worth watching. The characters are great and the actors are amazing!! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Girl Power Movie., 16 Aug 2010
By 
Ms. H. C. Carney (england, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
I only happened to catch this film at an Ellen Page special movie night at a local art's program centre.
Definitely one of my favourite films of all time now.
I mean, Ellen Page, Drew Barrymore, Juliette Lewis, Marcia Gay Harden and Zoe Bell all in one film? Its like an explosion of talent which created this memorable masterpeice.
Drew Barrymore deserves a standing ovation for her directorial debut, and i'm praying she keeps going.

I certainly have a soft spot for Ellen Page. Since i saw her in 'Hard Candy' and 'Juno', i've been intrigued in the work she chooses, and her role as Bliss was just perfect. A total indie rock chick by day, who works at the goofy but classic 'Oink Joint' and wears a piggy apron. But by night she transforms into roller derby sensation Babe Ruthless, surrounded by the equally amazing 'Hurl Scout' team.
It portrays the average mother/daughter conflict that most go through well. Both have different ideas regarding Bliss' future; Her mom wanting her to compete in Pagaents while Bliss wants to get out of Bodeen, Texas and get herself a life. Differences which in the end reunites them together.

The soundtrack is fab, fab, fab. Such a mixture; from Dolly Parton to Kings of Leon to Jens Lekman. And each suited the scene so well.

I don't think this film has an age or sex limit. I think everyone can enjoy it and get something different out of it. It also makes you feel DAMN good! Had me smiling and laughing the whole way through.
It's a full on, rockin, girl power film that all will love.

Drew Barrymore and Ellen Page? I applaude you both for a magnificent film which i without a doubt will be purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite chick flick., 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
My favorite chick flick.
Ellen Page absolutely owns this movie, and drew Barrymore is SOOOO funny ! (Directed by Barrymore!)
Roller Derby FTW...god bless America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
A reasonable film for a children's day at home when the weather is too wet to go out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok., 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whip It [DVD] (DVD)
This is fun and good for teenagers but not much depth to be gained her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whip It [DVD]
Whip It [DVD] by Drew Barrymore (DVD - 2010)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews