Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good , yes, expensive, yes!
First of all, this is very easy to set up. I am a bit of a technophobe, but it was straightforward. Secondly, it fascinated me that my son was in glorious technicolour in the daytime, and in black and white at night. Thirdly, the picture quality is excellent, very clear, and the sound quality is very good too.

My two main gripes with this are:
Although the...
Published on 5 April 2011 by sam155

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good device
- A nightlight very weak, not usable.
- Not possible to play/stop lullabies from the baby unit.
- Not possible turn on/off a nightlight from parent unit.
- No rechargeable battery in baby unit.
Published 16 months ago by Roman Peregontsev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Easy set up, and works well, 18 Oct 2011
By 
George Rodger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first monitor we've had, so can't compare with others, but we've been impressed with it.
It's easy to set up, good picture quality in light or dark - we especially like the infra-red that comes on when it's geting dark in the room! - good sound quality, and feels pretty robust.
And it reacts instantly to any noise, which is very reassuring.
Yes, it's not the cheapest monitor out there, but it works well and we can envisage using it well into the future, monitoring future offspring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars expensive but lovely, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Jessie (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Easy to set up, you can watch you baby in the dark too with the infra red facility. Great for those parents who need that bit of extra reasurance, also fascinating to watch you baby sleep, better than any tv channel. Well made and you know it is going to last. I usually use a sound monitor but sometime it is nice to see that they are fine especially when they are sleeping up 2 flight of stairs from your living room! The only set back is the cost of it, I guess I would have to try out many more more monitors to see if it really is worth paying the premium for a top brand you can trust. I must say though that about 7 years ago when I bought a sound monitor it cost about 2/3rds the price of amazon's price on this so the technology really has come down in price as I'm sure 7 years ago this would have been a £500 product. Would recommend to parents as you might be using one of the for a long time, I still have use of a monitor as you can use it on subsequent children therefore justifying the cost a bit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (Infra)-ready for use, 17 April 2011
By 
Samuel "Samuel" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well, baby monitor have simply changed since we had our first children! Gone are the days of dodgy static-laden sound, and in is video, complete with sound activation, and infra-red so that you can even see your baby in the dark.

This baby monitor is really excellent, and seems very reliable from early use. The sound activation, after the first few nights not quite trusting it, seems to work very well, and the video is excellent - although given that the camera is obviously stationary, it would be of little use once your baby is old enough to move around the cot. Although the need for a monitor should have ended by then anyway. The infra-red also works well, even if my wife does like to watch the camera picture of the baby rather than getting much needed sleep!

The only slight moan would be that the unit needs charging very regularly, but this is only a minor moan. Five stars, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night and Day Avent lights the way., 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the Avent SCD600 Philips have designed a robust and not unattractive piece of personal security equipment which does not look too industrial when placed in your baby's bedroom. Set-up is simplicity in itself not requiring a Masters Degree in electronics nor a lifetime subscrition to 'Popular Mechanics', it is infinitely easier than many plug-and-play items to operate. Okay the range of the camera is not immense at a maximum of 1.5 meters and in some cases the picture can be a little grainy. However, unless you're trying to do a cheap version of 'Springwatch' or set-up a private maximum security installation it is more than adequate. The sound is a little tricky to get right, but together with the image will ensure that you're not perched on the edge of your seat tensely waiting for the sound of your precious bundle's next inhalation, a mini-nightmare with the sound only baby monitors.
Only time will tell if it represents extremely good value, however, to date I can thoroughly recommend this device.

19 May 2011
Two months down the line the SCD600/00 is still performing most adequately, and it's cheaper than a nanny. Super!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality unit but expensive, 21 Mar 2011
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The design of the baby and that parent units is clean and modern but both are quite bulky, not a problem with the base unit but not sure it is neccessary for the monitor unit which limits portablity. The sound and picture quality are both fine with both day and night video feeds are very clear.

There are some thoughtfull extra features such as night lights on the baby unit, and the ability to have baby unit start playing lullabies by pressing a button on the base unit. The base unit can be set to turn the screen off automatically to save battery unless the baby starts making noises and it can be used without the AC adapter with AAA batteries.

I noticed two main issues with this unit.

1. The camera is not fixed to the camera stand, but held by a magnet, so it can be easily adjusted in any direction but for my setup, positioning the camera was a problem. The designed of the base makes it very difficult to view anything that is below it. There is a standard tri-pod mount as an alternate mounting option.

2. The night vision infrared lights on the baby unit glow red. They are low intensity, but still visible and may cause distubance.

Range seems fine for my use approx 30ft through walls and you get out of range it beeps and flashes to let you know, The receiver also has a battery life indicator showing the remaining battery life but I am not able to comment on battery life yet. A good quality unit that is mostly well designed but the positioning and lights may be a problem for some and it is expensive compared with the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
I was a bit disappointed with this baby monitor for several reasons. One is that it lacks certain features that audio baby monitors from Avent have, such as temperature and humidity sensor, talk feature and switching on the light from the remote unit. Range could be better too and its a shame it doesnt support using two camera units like the Luvion baby monitor at the same price. Also it would be more convinient to have something like a clamp to put it on the side or at the back of the baby cot. The picture quality is excellent both at day and night and the tunes are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for the model after experience with 3 units in almost 3 years, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
I first bought this model as a gift. It proved to be reliable as that gift is working fine after almost 3 years on continuous use.
The second unit was for own use and it worked perfectly until the monitor was broken by the user (after approximately 7 months of use). Thus I have bought another one which works fine since a couple of months ago.
There are more advanced models on the market but this one does what it's made to do.

Cons:
- it does interfere with the WiFi signal so we keep it at a distance from the sources
- battery only lasts 1 night and about 1-2 hours so you will need to keep it plugged in every other night.
- the "baby music" only works for 2+ years old babies, it just wakes up / keeps awake the younger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems good to me, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's funny, the technology companies always seem to strive for smaller and smaller gadgets and yet this monitor has such a great feel to it precisely because it's chunkier and smooth and rounded. Moreover, because of its simplicity and clarity of picture, it actually has the feel of genuinely useful and usable technology, as opposed to, you know, gadgetry. I keep thinking how, if cavepeople could see this, they simply wouldn't believe it. After all, how amazingly useful it is that we can check on baby whilst entertaining friends at the end of the garden, for example, without having to go anywhere. For these reasons, I like it.

Maybe it should do a bit more for its price (although the lullabies are a nice touch with a suprisingly sweet tonality to them), and even though we're all constantly bathed in electromagnetic fields these days I do still slightly worry about the constant bombardment we might be putting ourselves under, especially when it comes to new-born babies. But other than that, I can't fault it. Besides, unless it turns out that we're all frying ourselves, that last point is probably a very minor one because such forcefields (wi-fi, mobile phones, etc.) are already everywhere and owning a baby monitor isn't going to make the slightest bit of difference.

Assuming parents can't find a better deal or a different monitor with significantly and obviously better features, I don't think they'll do much better than this one. They certainly won't go wrong with it. All in, I'd definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCD600/00 Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Very low audio levels, could barely hear our baby. Have sent back and we've reverted to using our £20 Woolworths baby monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews