Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and interesting
this series was immensley enjoyable. passed it round the family who all gave it the thumbs up for its challenging and entertaining content
Published on 22 Nov 2010 by Raymond R. Bullock

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too harsh on the Jesus Crispies
As a Brit, I am aware that both Season One and Two of LAP are US-centric but then it was developed first and foremost for the US market.

In contrast to Season One and with a new narrator (American as opposed to British) I was immediately struck by how biased/Christian-leaning Season 2 came across, right from the off (something that was far more absent in Season...
Published 8 months ago by Me


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too harsh on the Jesus Crispies, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As a Brit, I am aware that both Season One and Two of LAP are US-centric but then it was developed first and foremost for the US market.

In contrast to Season One and with a new narrator (American as opposed to British) I was immediately struck by how biased/Christian-leaning Season 2 came across, right from the off (something that was far more absent in Season One). The narrator's tone was very much damnation/judgement. Snakes were continuosly referred to as 'serpents' as if to reinforce a biblical downfall of man. It's fine if that's your bent but as someone who is not religious and simply interested more in the science behind decaying things, I found it incredibly irritating.

Also in contrast to the First Season (which I thought was superior) it seemed to take AGES for the breakdown of things to be explained. Events occured only after what seemed like an extraordinary period of time telling you about the entire HISTORY of the place/building, and the scientific angle and future decay was tacked on almost like an afterthought. Thankfully several of the original structural engineers, scientists and authors like Steven S. Ross (legend) managed to (imo) save what I felt was a poor follow up to the First Season. The graphics were again great though.

So in short: buy this if you want to be regaled by a Christo-westernised narrative in places and a deeply America-centric view of the entire world plus more emphasis on history of past rather than future (I honestly felt it wandered) and go for the First Series if you want a more concise and to-the-point representation of what the rotting and rebuilding future looks like.

All imo. Each to their own but that's my take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and interesting, 22 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
this series was immensley enjoyable. passed it round the family who all gave it the thumbs up for its challenging and entertaining content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great season and you learn something new every episode!, 13 Sep 2010
By 
J. Gloster (at my keyboard typing!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
After buying the 1st life after people and really enjoying it i thought id give the 2nd series a try too, This series really is an amazing incite into mankind's structures and materials, foods and machines and how long before they become non-existent, also what will be the last thing standing to show we once existed! You really do learn something new every single episode definitely worth the watch and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars hmm, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first one (season 1) totally excellent, this season (2), whats with the religious pscychobabble? what does it have to do with people not being on the planet? we didnt need this element to what is a very good series. and to be honest, if your a believer, then there is more than one religion on the planet!! the first episode (wrath of the gods) bangs on about god, churches, serpents and black cats!! why? nothing like trying to 'convert' people through what is supposed to be a normal documentary! very disappointed in the second season, putting me off buying the 3rd when it's released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life after people DVD, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating and chilling to see what might happen without humans. It takes you to happenings you never even though off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and simulating., 21 Dec 2012
By 
S. MCCARRICK "Professional Troll Hunter" (Dublin, Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Channel 4 in the UK carried the documentary version of this from the History Channel. I've young children- this is going to be my nighttime TV after they go to bed over the Christmas period- I am so looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lets move, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
the follow on to what happens to earth when man vanishes leaving animals and nature to reclaim the earth,brilliant to watch,recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves every award under the Sun, 17 Jun 2010
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Not yet on general release till Mid July this 2nd series is now on the History Channel.Its the same fare as the first Season and is an idea which could go on even further.
The Ultimate Disaster Movie which is Science Fact not Fiction.There's many abandoned cities where just such a thing has already happenned.
Running a close second to Life After people is Aftermath-a series of programs which ask "imagine the World without Oil","Imagine the World if the population doubled" or "Imagine the World if it turned slower".
In these programs there's maybe the answer to how people disappeared of the face of the Earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: DVD Set Release is 1.33 Aspect Ratio Letterboxed!, 27 April 2013
By 
Leonard Smit - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable - how could a modern, wide-screen production be released in a full frame letterbox travesty? I don't know, but it is. This wide screen production has been shrunk to fit into an old style 1.33 aspect ratio frame with black letterbox bars top and bottom. On a modern wide screen, the letterboxed image also gets pillarboxed (bars on the sides of the image). This sort of thing could be forgiven in the early days of DVDs, but to see it now strains credulity. Sure, you can zoom the image, but if you do that the already 'soft' image becomes fuzzy (particularly the CGI scenes).

The truly bizarre thing is that the Season 1 DVD set is proper anamorphic wide screen. What a difference. The mind boggles that anyone could deliberately mangle wide screen video this way.

As for the content - light on science, heavy on mediocre CGI, appalling physics (this could be forgiven in a movie, but not in a documentary) and an uncomfortable use of terms and principles associated with Christian end-of-days mythology. However, it remains interesting and I did watch it all the way through.

If I had known it was letterboxed - I wouldn't have bought it. If it had been released as anamorphic wide screen (and at a low price), I would have bought it (and given it 3 stars). But as it is, it deserves no stars at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life After People - Complete Season Two (2-Disc Set) [Blu-ray][Region... History Channel., 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ALTHOUGH UNLIKELY TO HAPPEN, i FOUND THE IMAGINATION OF WHAT WOULD HAPPEN TO BE VERY INTERESTING AND ENTERTAINING FOR ANYONE TO WATCH IF SOME FORCE DECIDED THAT ENOUGH IS ENOUGH WHEN DEALING WITH HUMANS..

NO ONE COULD WATCH IT WITHOUT APPRECIATING THE POSSIBLE ACCURACY OF THE DETERIATING LANDSCAPE IF SUCH AN EVENT DID HAPPEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After People - Complete Season Two (3-Disc Set) [DVD]
£6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews