Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho!
What a nice little movie this is. Arthur Christmas is very predictable but also a very enjoyable animated comedy that the whole family can enjoy. Aardman animation have now become the British version of Pixar, with Chicken Run, Wallace and Grommitt in The Curse Of The Wererabbit, the underrated Flushed Away and now Arthur Christmas, a charming tale about Santa's youngest...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But disappointed really
My little boy wasn't interested in this film at all, I was quite disappointed - he watched lots of films but couldn't get into this one at all, the story was too slow.
Published 1 month ago by R. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas With the Aardmans, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Today you get an impression of the amount of lag there sometimes is between me seeing a film and getting the time to actually write down my impressions of it. Tis the start of spring, yet I am now getting around to reviewing 2011's big Christmas hit `Arthur Christmas'. Brought to you by the Claymation talents of Aardman, but like with their earlier (and criminally under looked) `Flushed Away' this is a CGI affair, rather than their more famed plasticine creations. `Arthur' tells the story of Father Christmas' son Arthur and his refusal to allow even one child to go without at Christmas. So far so sickly sweet, but there is an added bit of spice to the film that lifts it from empty child fantasy into something all the family can enjoy - humour.

`Arthur Christmas' is a funny film, especially when Bill Nighy's Grandpa Christmas is on screen. The great Claymation may not be in evidence, but the Aardman funny bone is. Directors Sarah Smith and Barry Cook manage to balance the films comedy whilst still being able to make it a `true meaning of Christmas' style film. Children will enjoy the experience of being in Santa's Grotto, whilst the adults can enjoy some of the sly digs. I am not always a fan of moments being in kids films for the grownups, but in this case it works.

After watching `Arthur Christmas' I was filled with the joys of the season and this is what this type of film should do. The voice cast was filled with great British actors inc. McAvoy, Laurie and Nighy and they are all excellent. However, there is no denying that this film is not up to the standards of `Wallace and Gromit and the Curse of the Were-Rabbit'. I believe this is due to time. A CGI film is relatively quick to make, whilst Claymation takes years. With manual animation you spend countless hours studying the sets and keep adding to them as you think up new visual gags - Wallace is full of them, whilst `Arthur' is strangely devoid of them. Perhaps they did not have time to add that extra Aardman magic to the film.

Being worse than `Wallace and Gromit' is no shame in itself, most things are. `Arthur' remains one of the best recent Christmas films and will be a standard of the season for decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthur the film it could have been..., 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
Made by the relentlessly impressive Aardman animation studios, this Christmas movie potentially had quality written all over it. However, despite boasting a top-notch voice cast: Hugh Laurie, Bill Nighy, Jim Broadbent to name just three, I have to say I ended the experience feeling a little let down. The problem for me was that the wafer-thin story was stretched out over around ninety minutes, thus causing things to sag noticeably in the middle section. The best bits came in the opening twenty minutes, and this made the film seem longer - especially towards the end.
That said, it was still good to see a new Christmas movie, and there were some great moments, mainly featuring Nighy's 136 year old 'Grand Santa' and his equally aged Reindeer.
Our two children loved it anyway, and I guess that's the point after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But disappointed really, 23 Feb 2014
By 
R. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My little boy wasn't interested in this film at all, I was quite disappointed - he watched lots of films but couldn't get into this one at all, the story was too slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Christmas film. In fact, fantastic film. Full Stop, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
Arthur Christmas is one of those rare computer generated films which is lucky enough to have things in common with such greats as Toy Story and Shrek, i.e. it can be watched on many levels and therefore enjoyed by both adults and children.

It tells the (very British) story of Father Christmas' operation and how he, and his family, plus an army of highly-trained elves, delivers presents to all the boys and girls on one night. However, his family-run business hits a rocky patch when one little girl is accidentally missed out, threatening to ruin Father Christmas' good name in the process. Step up Arthur (youngest son of Father) Christmas, who with the help of an elf with an obsession of wrapping things in pretty paper and bows, plus his aging (and slightly senile) Grandfather (aka `Grand Santa') set about making the one last drop on Christmas Eve in which to get the present to the girl before she wakes up and thinks Father Christmas has forgotten about her.

It's not a particularly complicated story and, on hearing about it, I first wondered how much mileage could be made out of it. The trailer looks impressive, but sometimes they squeeze all the best gags into the ninety second trailer and there's nothing left for the film itself. Luckily, this is not the case. The story is truly charming. It highlights the best of British (vocal) acting talent and weaves it into a heartfelt story about family at Christmas with jokes that will make children chuckle, while others will go straight over their heads for `parents only' to enjoy.

I'm no fan of Christmas. I think it's overhyped, expensive and too commercial. Many a Christmas ever I've locked out the three well-meaning ghosts, but Arthur Christmas even managed to make me feel almost festive - an emotion that Dudley Moore couldn't even manage in his Father Christmas movie. That's how good Arthur Christmas really is (unless I'm experiencing a mid life crisis a few years early).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good to watch during the christmas season, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Wgl Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
U bought this dvd thinking that U would like it due to the themes and also because it is sn animated film. The film exceeded my expectations and it is a cleverly made film for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 11 Dec 2012
By 
L. Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
This film is perfect for all children from 3 to 103 ! We loved it at the cinema and have bought it for the grandchildren to watch on Christmas Eve as it sums up the magic of Christmas in a modern way. It even explains how Father Christmas is able to distribute all the presents all over the world in only 24 hours....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five star movie, zero star UV (digital) copy, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie is great: funny, clever and a joy for all ages over repeat viewings. The UV copy is however a total pain in the behind. Rather than just put in a code and get a download to my iPad I had to sign up for two different web accounts, download a third piece of software and now, hours later, it still hasn't downloaded the movie. God knows if I can get it transfer to the iPad. All a bit rich to use something I've bought. Amazon, use your clout to tell the studios to drop this UV nonsense as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great kids film, format options limited. UV Why?, 18 Nov 2012
Great Christmas film for the kids. Animation and plot will keep the kids hooked throughout. Possibly even some of the big kids. Perfect film to keep to start the festivities.

I will however question the limited format options that appear to be available.

Where have all the 'Triple Plays' gone? UV Copy is of no use. Could this end 'Blu-rays'? I purchased 'Triple Plays' as they were portable and could be used on a variety of players. While film companies continue to release a UV copy, i will not buy any blu-rays and will opt for DVD (Cheaper versions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Christmas returns on DVD, 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
Simply put, the best animated Christmas movie you'll ever see, for children and adults alike! Don't forget to listen to Justin Bieber's version of 'Santa Claus is coming to town' over the end credits, as not many people heard it when it was on at the cinema and they missed another treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - but where is the digital copy - UV is pointless!, 25 July 2012
By 
Mrs P (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] (DVD)
My family loved this film at the cinema and would quite happily buy a triple play set with DVD, blu ray and digital copy on the day of release. Unfortunately what is being released is DVD + UV copy or Blu ray plus UV copy - I am therefore going to be saving my money and waiting til I can pick it up at half the price next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa12cf9b4)

This product

Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011]
Arthur Christmas (DVD + UV Copy) [2011] by Sarah Smith (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews