Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror as it should be
REC was one of those films that proves yet again recent American horror is in a pretty poor state and was of course remade about ten minutes after the original was released. Doubtless REC 2 will be remade by this time next week.

Anyway, the first question fans of REC will be asking is is the sequel as good? With a big smile on my face, I'm happy to say yes...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by LukeW

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rec 2 - Disappointing
I loved Rec and was looking forward to watching the second part. As a recent convert to the zombie movie genre, Rec had me on the edge of me seat all the way through, and although I was little disappointed with the ending it didn't ruin it for me.

So, decided to see the whole thing through to the end and watch Rec 2. I won't go in to the plot as there are...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Mr. Paul J. Sargeant


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one., 23 May 2014
By 
Pete Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
Despite continuing straight after the ending of the first film in this series, it somehow doesn't manage to sustain the tension and claustrophobia that made .rec work so well. Instead, it tries to discover the back story behind the events in the apartment block, and by doing so, drifts off the path of excitement. The ending is never less than predictable, and repetition of events does not hold the viewer.
That said, it is not a bad film, it just pales by comparison to the first part. Perhaps best watched all in one go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
Another good film in the REC series, loved the first one and this film is almost as good, great suspense, few twists, definitely a must for zombie film fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid sequel to Spain’s very own 28 Days Later, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ignoring the – rather pointless – Hollywood remake, Quarantine, REC was a cult classic in the horror genre. However, naturally – being a Spanish movie – it was cursed with subtitles, therefore it never reached a mainstream audience. However, that didn’t stop it spawning a sequel, which takes place immediately after the events in the first film.

If you haven’t seen REC then stop reading and watch it now. It is the better of the two movies, but, as far as sequels go, REC2 is actually pretty good. Here, a team of armed police officers enter a quarantined building to see what happened to the original occupants. And here’s a clue… zombies.

Of course naturally things don’t go too well for our boys in blue and, if you can ignore the fact that armed, well-trained men get easily overpowered and forced onto the back foot by unarmed (albeit zombified) civilians, then you can enjoy this one, too. There’s more gunplay as the budget is bigger than the original, so they can afford to add a few shoot-outs into the mix. However, if you’ve seen the original, you’ll have already seen the best scares. REC2 certainly isn’t as intense as its predecessor, but it’s still a decent enough follow-on.

Plus you probably won’t care about the central team as much as they’re all just ‘men in armour’ and it’s hard to make out who’s who. There are some other characters added a little way into the film, but that feels like an interruption as you’ve done your best to follow (and care about) the initial team before this new lot are thrown into the frying pan.

It’s not as good as REC, but in a world of terrible cash-in sequels, it certainly stands out as one of the better ones (which is more than I can say for ‘REC3’).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sequels are never bad., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
Incredible second part of a saga which began with a shooting style and it has continued to maintain and even with that essence of terror / horror also kept the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars follow on, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
from documentry type horror rec1. subtitled /spanish.good horror.they quarintined in block of flats is story.plenty of jumpy bits,good plot/idea,well acted.should stopped at 2 though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as scary, if not scarier, than the first one!, 21 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
Rec 1 and 2 have to be some of my all time favourite horror movies.

It's a non-stop terror thrill ride. Very few scary films make me feel the way these films do.

REC 2 was by no means a disappointment, which is rare, as far as sequels go.

I was hugging a cushion almost all the way through. These Spanish film makers truly know how to make a superb horror movie.

If you have REC 1 don't hesitate in buying this. Not all sequels are bad, as this one clearly proves it.

REC 1 & 2 are basically just one big movie, the second film follows on straight after the first one and still manages to uphold it's terror right the way through without disappointment.

If I had to choose which one is my favourite, I don't think I could. They're both as good as each other.

I also recommend purchasing them on Blu-ray. It's well worth it, the picture and sound quality is unreal!

As for 'REC: Genesis', I have never seen it and don't plan to. I have heard nothing but bad reviews from it, and as far as I know, it's not by the same director. So, I recommend everyone to steer clear of the third film, 'Genesis', and just stick with the original REC 1 & 2.

5 stars. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars horror stories come and go., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a true macabre horror I just found it difficult to follow the plot but nasty surpirses abound in its many twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Rec'd, 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
The original film is one of my favourite found footage horrors.
This is a little more hohum than horror. It doesnt have to be believeable but you have to dispend disbelief...
The previous film was original (till the ending) - this slides too easily in and out of too many genres tropes :- a bastard offspring of Aliens, Carrie, Contagion and 28 Weeks Later; rests a little too heavily on the laurels of REC - and at times falls dangerously close to parody. (The "revelations" concerning a number of main and peripheral characters are not very interesting, the "reason" for the outbreak to me is not affecting enough.)
Having criticised so much - I still like the pace and a couple of the setpieces are great. Just dont expect the thrillride of the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great horror DVD, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first Rec( Americans made their remake, Contamination) The second carries on from where the last one ended at the building block which has been sealed off. Again with "shaky "camera work which adds to the tension and a bit of a twist at the end. Good for any horror lovers of the first Rec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel!, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rec2 [DVD] (DVD)
The reviews suggest that the third Rec film, [Rec] Genesis, is totally different to the first one - in a bad way, being quite derivative (I haven't seen it myself yet, though). So I wasn't sure what to expect from Rec2.

Well it turned out to be excellent! Starting 15 minutes after the end of the first film, it follows a SWAT team on their helmet cams as they storm the quarantined apartment building. They're led by a biologist who needs samples of the virus to create a vaccine but it quickly becomes clear that he knows a lot more than he's letting on. So we have the same tension & scary atmosphere of the first film, only this time more of the mystery is revealed without telling us too much & there's a couple of wicked twists.

While it was just as atmospheric as the first film, it was slightly less scary as this time I knew what to expect. But by developing the story in the way that they did, the filmmakers still kept me on the edge of my seat. And not everything is revealed - there's plenty of room for more sequels.

I'm not sure what I'm going to make of Rec3 but rest assured, if you liked the first film, you'll love the second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009]
Rec2 [Blu-ray] [2009] by Paca Plaza (Blu-ray - 2010)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews