Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wishing for the world of good
If you've come to the Saw Doctors through their superb live shows, or the rough-and-ready folk-rock of the first two albums, you may be a bit disappointed by "Same Oul' Town". Easily the most polished of the studio albums to date, it can seem as if some of the spontaneity of earlier works has been sacrificed in favour of smoothness. But to say that is to do an...
Published on 27 Sept. 2001

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrong cd
I was sent wrong cd in the box, i will return it in the post as soon as possible, and would like a replacement
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by angie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wishing for the world of good, 27 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
If you've come to the Saw Doctors through their superb live shows, or the rough-and-ready folk-rock of the first two albums, you may be a bit disappointed by "Same Oul' Town". Easily the most polished of the studio albums to date, it can seem as if some of the spontaneity of earlier works has been sacrificed in favour of smoothness. But to say that is to do an injustice to the songs themselves, which are possibly the finest collection ever assembled by the boys from Tuam. Silly upbeat numbers are in the minority (though "Back to Tuam" and "Macnas Parade" provide welcome contrast), instead the majority of this album is wistful, introspective, and ballady. The social conscience of the band is powerfully expressed too in the unity anthem "All the One" and the beautiful "Everyday", which very understatedly tells the story of an Irish lass driven abroad to get an abortion, and is a plea for love instead of judgement. "World of Good", which was for me one of the best singles of the 1990s, is simply the best thing you could ever offer to an old companion or lover, and the album closes with the gorgeous, wistful "Clare Island" - which, if it isn't pure romance, I don't know what is. This is the album which defines the Saw Doctors, not just as good-time rock 'n' rollers, but as people with something to say, and big hearts behind the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deeper more thoughtful album from the Saw Doctors., 4 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Saw Doctors songs tend to be on Universal themes and this album is no different. Everyone can recognise subjects ranging from loneliness, first lust, fear and the desire for success. Songs like Clare Island, Same Old Town and Share The Darkness were immediate favourites. The single To Win Just Once is/was a live staple, fitting for a band dyed in the Maroon and White of Galway. All The One shows that small town differences don't seem to matter so much once you leave the small town. This album has grown on me the more I've listened to it from initial disapointment to a wry realisation that the Saw Doctors still haven't made a bad album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant album from an absolutely brilliant band, 13 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Soft quiet ballads to rip-roaring classic songs! Its all here! Impossible to stand still or keep from singing along to all of the songs! From the quirky 'World of Good' to the classic 'To win Just Once' to the beautiful 'Share the Darkness' and 'Clare Island'. Highly highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 4 Dec. 1999
By 
Mark Sourbutts (Leigh, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Yet again a cracking album from the Irish lads from Tuam. A little bit more downbeat than the last two. But still a beautiful album. Look out for "To win just once" and "Clare Island", both tracks are very popular with concert goers. Also look out for the very sad "Everyday" which touches on the sensitive subject of abortion.
Buy this, make these guys from Tuam into the legends they deserve to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Same Oul, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
This is my 2nd time around buying this CD (note to self do not lend Cd's to friends)
Sounds just a good this time.Great vocals. For me no bad tracks bit more polished than earlier CD's, some upbeat Back to Tuam and Macnas Parade. Slower more thought provoking lyrics with Everyday,Same Oul Town, Share The Darkness and one of my all time fav Saw Doctors tracks World of Good (thanks Pete)
Great listen from a great and very underated Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just What The Doctors Ordered., 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Hello.
This album captures the Saw Doctors at their best.
They seemed to have had such a fine time recording the
tracks. Ones which I related to more than any of
their other releases.
Track 3 'Same Ould Town' is a gem. Only those
who were born and bred in such a town can feel the
benefit of such lyrics on this particular track.
Other notable favourites are 'Why Don't We Share
The Darkness Tonight'. A love song. But not sentimental
or over bearing.
Another highlight track and one I never tire of. Even all these
many years later is 'Back To Tuam,' a fun time song. One
which is all the better once you find yourself hollering out
the lyrics.
I don't want to choose any one track over another. I am
so overjoyed by the whole of 'Same Oul Town.' But Like a
parent secretly favouring one of their kids, I must opt for
'To Win Just Once'. A song which sums up how a small
town lad feels. Of the ache to leave the place of his birth
and the dreams and ambitions he holds on to.
A Real Doctors Treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLINAT SERVICE, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrsjemorris "jem" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
What an excellent company to deal with.CD arrived on time. i am enjoying listening to it, fantastic service, thank-you!againwould use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Great CD full of good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
Everything ok thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrong cd, 7 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Same Oul' Town (Audio CD)
I was sent wrong cd in the box, i will return it in the post as soon as possible, and would like a replacement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Same Oul' Town
Same Oul' Town by The Saw Doctors
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews