Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!
This recipe book does not fail. The recipes are easy to follow for just about anyone from beginner to confident cooks. As someone who has lived in Canada, the UK and Germany, all ingredients that are called for in the recipes can be easily found. Nothing complicated and all recipes I have tried are very tasty. My husband's favourite is the Cassoulet, we have it at least...
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by tofukitty

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not my favourite book
i have many vegan books - some more health focused than others. this one is bland and boring to flip through (not all my books have pretty pictures, so it's not that) and nothing really jumped out at me.
Published 13 months ago by AP MOUNTFORD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 30 Mar 2011
This recipe book does not fail. The recipes are easy to follow for just about anyone from beginner to confident cooks. As someone who has lived in Canada, the UK and Germany, all ingredients that are called for in the recipes can be easily found. Nothing complicated and all recipes I have tried are very tasty. My husband's favourite is the Cassoulet, we have it at least twice a month! And to answer a question from the comments, yes, there is comprehensive nutritional information for each recipe. If you have read any of Dr. Barnard's other books, this book will nicely round things off so you can put his great advice into practice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative Book, 20 Jun 2011
Many people believe that anyone aiming to lose weight or just live a healthier lifestyle can do no better than adopt a vegan diet, and this book explains why. As you would expect with the author being a doctor, the book contains well-researched information and evidence to advocate the health benefits of a vegan diet. The recipes are simple and easy to understand with the methods usually including no more than four steps, and most contain 300 calories or less per serving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, 5 May 2011
By 
The recipes in this book are great, the only reason I haven't given it five stars is because it's not great for someone cooking on their own, as generally the recipes serve around 6 people. Still would recommend it for some inspiration for healthy eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This advice is now becoming mainstream, backed up by science and real people's experiences of reversing diabetes. I don't have the illness but I do have insulin resistance but thanks to starting a vegan way of eating, i.e. low fat plant based nutrition, the blood glucose has returned to normal levels and the fat (contained in my body cells) is now being removed and the weight is reducing as a consequence. I first found Dr. Barnard on YouTube when searching for "reverse diabetes with vegan diet". Having heard him speak, I just had to have the book. It is a great buy.

You should supplement this book with the dvd "Forks over Knives" and the Forks over Knives Cookbook. The dvd will give you a well rounded look at how meat and dairy both contribute to heart disease, osteoporosis, arthritis and other degenerative diseases. The cookbook will provide many great recipes to keep you going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, good recipes, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it for my vegetarian teenage daughter, I believe the recipes are good but she's not tried them all yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good review., 16 July 2011
By 
J. M. Burlison "jackiesread" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a vegan I was keen to see Dr Neal Barnard's view on veganism and use his ideas.
Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, read it, eat it!, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dr Neal Barnard is a truly wonderful guy. His efforts to help people make the best of their lives through the replacement of our sickening Western meat'n'dairy-based diet with a plant-based one should win him the Nobel Peace Prize. Buy the book, give it a good read, then enjoy all the tasty and healthful recipies! You will never look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegan food, 1 Sep 2011
By 
Jjdrew "jackie Drew" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book,ideas for a beginner are clear.
Had a bit of a struggle sorting some American food names,especially as I then have to translate into Portuguese !!
Still, the science behind the book is so good, and very readable.
Our exploration came as a result of cardiac problems,others who want to explore this easy way of healing, should also try The Rave diet and Lifestyle,by Mike Anderson.Both books together give a wide range of help and advice as well as food ideas.The RAVE Diet & Lifestyle - 3rd Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes. Sound advice., 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Chantal Wright "Clipboard" (Camberley, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect starter book for any future vegans. Delicious recipes that all the family will love. Loss weight is slow but steady and stays off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recipes, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of information and lots of lovely useful recipes which are not complicated or time consuming to make very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews