Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2011
This recipe book does not fail. The recipes are easy to follow for just about anyone from beginner to confident cooks. As someone who has lived in Canada, the UK and Germany, all ingredients that are called for in the recipes can be easily found. Nothing complicated and all recipes I have tried are very tasty. My husband's favourite is the Cassoulet, we have it at least twice a month! And to answer a question from the comments, yes, there is comprehensive nutritional information for each recipe. If you have read any of Dr. Barnard's other books, this book will nicely round things off so you can put his great advice into practice!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Many people believe that anyone aiming to lose weight or just live a healthier lifestyle can do no better than adopt a vegan diet, and this book explains why. As you would expect with the author being a doctor, the book contains well-researched information and evidence to advocate the health benefits of a vegan diet. The recipes are simple and easy to understand with the methods usually including no more than four steps, and most contain 300 calories or less per serving.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
The recipes in this book are great, the only reason I haven't given it five stars is because it's not great for someone cooking on their own, as generally the recipes serve around 6 people. Still would recommend it for some inspiration for healthy eating.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
This advice is now becoming mainstream, backed up by science and real people's experiences of reversing diabetes. I don't have the illness but I do have insulin resistance but thanks to starting a vegan way of eating, i.e. low fat plant based nutrition, the blood glucose has returned to normal levels and the fat (contained in my body cells) is now being removed and the weight is reducing as a consequence. I first found Dr. Barnard on YouTube when searching for "reverse diabetes with vegan diet". Having heard him speak, I just had to have the book. It is a great buy.

You should supplement this book with the dvd "Forks over Knives" and the Forks over Knives Cookbook. The dvd will give you a well rounded look at how meat and dairy both contribute to heart disease, osteoporosis, arthritis and other degenerative diseases. The cookbook will provide many great recipes to keep you going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
This is a sister book to Food for Life, and the following comments duplicate my review on that book as they are all applicable to this book.

The additional point I would like to make is that this is a less detailed view on supporting facts to going vegan and the benefits of doing so. It is easier to read, and the recipes I think a little more adventurous.

Following the review of Food for Life

Found this book very informative, and in general not make sweeping statements were not able to be supported by scientific facts supported in the published papers. I have not followed up all those papers to look at the detail that would guess that somebody would have done.

Most interesting read, very helpful taking this step, generally very good. I definitely recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Great book,ideas for a beginner are clear.
Had a bit of a struggle sorting some American food names,especially as I then have to translate into Portuguese !!
Still, the science behind the book is so good, and very readable.
Our exploration came as a result of cardiac problems,others who want to explore this easy way of healing, should also try The Rave diet and Lifestyle,by Mike Anderson.Both books together give a wide range of help and advice as well as food ideas.The RAVE Diet & Lifestyle - 3rd Edition
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
Dr Neal Barnard is a truly wonderful guy. His efforts to help people make the best of their lives through the replacement of our sickening Western meat'n'dairy-based diet with a plant-based one should win him the Nobel Peace Prize. Buy the book, give it a good read, then enjoy all the tasty and healthful recipies! You will never look back.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I bought it for my vegetarian teenage daughter, I believe the recipes are good but she's not tried them all yet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2011
As a vegan I was keen to see Dr Neal Barnard's view on veganism and use his ideas.
Worth reading.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Easy reading, keeping the scientific jargon to a minimum, but without insulting the intelligence of the reader. Like all of Dr Barnard's books, it's a kick-start to good health.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse