Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars94
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2013
Came nice and quick, good movie, I saw it on the plane coming back from Africa at about 1am in the morning and kept bursting out laughing, on a silent plane not a great idea. Never the less I think it's funny and has got good humour, not too rude either e.g. A goof fam movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
This is a real laugh out loud movie and even though it looks like a chick flick it suits both sexes! Very amusing escapades of a normal, bored couple who decide to do something different for date night and the story begins....a great watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Haven't laughed so much in ages. Missed it in the movies & taped if at Christmas. My husband & I both thought it was one of the best movies we have seen in a long time so bought the DVD. You wont be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Steve Carell and Tiny Fey star as a married couple, who after stealing a resveration and a really posh restaurant for their Date Night (see the title trick there?) are on the run from 2 dirty cops. I think that this movie was hilarious, with shocking sexual references throughout the movie and a running gag about Jeanne Tripplehorn. Don't forget, Mark Walberg stars in the movie, who Fey acts crazily about... The movie is a thriller, along with romatic, and comedic, with bizzare situations happening every minute, which liftens up the plot a lot more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 November 2012
Date Night tells the story of a married couple (Steve Carell and Tina Fey) who are stuck in a bit of a rut and whose lives revolve around their kids and work (just like so many of us). However, the similarities end when they get mistaken for criminals during their weekly `date night' and are ruthlessly hunted down across New York by the mob.

I feel after that brief plot summary I should write `...with hilarious consequences.' However, that would not be accurate. Date Night is not a `laugh a minute' film. I actually think it's better than that. It goes to great lengths to portray a `normal' married couple who, although are happy together, there's still that little something - call it a spark? - that's gone out. It's a funny film, but mixed with decent observations and character development that lifts it emotionally from the likes of American Pie and The Hangover.

It's funny and entertaining and, although not that original in its storyline, the chemistry between Carell and Fey is undeniable. I think that most couples married for a long time will easily understand the situation of Phil and Claire.

A great date movie.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
If you we're wondering about watching this, don't. Steve Carrel and Tina Fey are well cast leads for this, and their portrayal of a suburban couple in way over their heads is believable and funny.

As a big Steve Carrel fan I had high hopes. Steve does comedy just as fluently as he does "normal family guy", and he mixes it with his usual style of slightly dry, but brilliant timed comedy in this. Tina Fey is great as his loving wife and they really spark together on screen. The supporting roles are we'll cast and compliment the plot well.

The plot:
Well, you can read the blurb for that. My take on it was that it was perhaps a little too ambitious. It's the "mistaken identity" plot as seen in literally thousands of films. And it's a hard one to pull off, especially as a comedy. Date Night tried hard to pull it off and in places it did it well, in others it didn't quite hit the mark. This was evident as the the plot pace fluctuated throughout most of the film.

Sometimes it seemed to loose it's pace and become a little slow, bogged down in certain scenes that went on too long with not enough humour. Others flow like a well oiled machine, and are genuinely hilarious.

Although at times it's a little hit and miss, overall the humour is good and keeps up with a good story. When it comes together it comes together perfectly, and thankfully this is for at least 70% of the film.

You could do much worse than to watch Date Night. It's funny, it's witty, at times it's sharp, poignant, and touching. It's a romantic comedy with a twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
The genre of comedy-thriller has been known for producing some frankly turgid films, but thankfully 'Date Night', with its promising pairing of Steve Carrell and Tina Fey is, whilst inconsistent, a decent film. 'Date Night' stars Carrell and Fey as Phil and Claire Foster, a suburban couple who find themselves in deep water on a night out, after pinching a dinner reservation from a couple whom, unbeknownst to them, are being hunted by two corrupt cops - Jimmy Simpson and Common, respectively. In a case of mistaken identity, the Fosters' night out leads them around New York, trying to escape the dodgy policemen, track down the criminal couple whose reservation they stole, and using the services of a perma-shirtless security expert, Holbrooke Grant (Mark Wahlberg), to end the madness. The plot is undoubtedly ridiculous, but it allows for a handful of genuinely hilarious moments, from Phil's' need to tow a terrified taxi driver round NYC, with their cars stuck together (watch out for the 'kindle moment' - the funniest gag in the film) and Phil and Claire's attempt at dancing dirty, for the hilarious, perverted governer Frank Crenshaw (an excellent turn from William Fichtner).

Despite a handful of brilliant gags, one or two excellent action sequences, and some surprisingly decent dramatic plotting, 'Date Night' does have its flaws. The film drags a bit in places, and the 'Extended Edition' of this DVD provides adds another ten minutes onto a running time that was already long enough to include all the film's best bits, and a few dull moments besides. There are also a few characters who just don't work, such as a babysitter whom suddenly turns nasty, and Wahlberg's irritating Holbrooke Grant (though Claire's flustered, flirty chemistry around him is wonderfully judged). Indeed, the film as a whole hangs together a little uncomfortably, and the mixture of wry and slapstick comedy, with genuinely dark moments, doesn't ever quite gel, but there are enough good performances, decently-staged dramatic moments, and genuine laughs (an attempt to escape the cops in a very slow boat being one of the finest) to make 'Date Night' worth a watch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 August 2011
Date Night may not be a comedy to grace the top 10 (or 100) lists of best films ever but Steve Carell and Tina Fey pull off an entertaining couple of hours worth of relaxing comedy in this one. They play a typical middle class couple looking for some excitement on their date night, where a case of mistaken identity thrusts them into an environment completely out of their comfort zone.

In my opinion Steve Carell does a better job than in Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] and Tina Fey actually manages to play a convincing mother and wife. The story, of course is farfetched but not to the extent to be in any way a disturbance to enjoying the comedy.

With the exception of one or two scenes, the movie is unlikely to remain memorable for long but as light entertainment, it does its job really well, and if you are after a bit of laughter, you could do much worse than this on Friday night.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
This is a very decent film. The leads are very funny actors who work well together. There are funny moments and funny cameos. In fact, if the creators had stuck to funny, they would have done better. The attempt to bring in an absurd storyline by which the couple are caught in the middle of organised crime derails a promising start. I think a comedy about the two trying to keep the spark in their marriage and the various dates they go on to attempt this would have been great- instead the pair race around in cars, meet bad guys and undertake secret missions- all only somewhat amusing.
Not quite an action movie, and with the comedy severely compromised, this seems like a missed opportunity. The fusion just didn't work for me. Even so, it is better than a lot of its hollywood contemporaries and is reasonably enjoyable- if primarily due to the performances of the two leads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2010
I'd heard great things about this film, afterall it throws the a King and a Queen of American Comedy together. Personally i don't really like Steve Carell, he annoys me but in this film he actually came across as a really likable guy. Fey is on top form and is fantastic as ever. Both actors give it their all and there is chemistry between them, you can believe they are a couple.

The script is fantastic though admittedly there are afew lines that are meant to be funny but don't quite work. Thats just my view. The storyline; a couple is growing apart due to the pressure of daily life including kids and work. Determined to bring the spark back into their marriage they decide to go on a date but when they get to the restaurant they find it fully booked. When a couple who booked a table don't turn up Carell & Fey decide to take their place. It turns out that the couple whose identity they have stolen are wanted by criminals. I won't say too much more because i don't want to give away everything. Really though the story isn't the most important thing, its all about the laughs. My favourite parts: the escape in the slowest boat ever & the sex robots. If you want to laugh and cheer yourself up, if you want a easy to watch film which isn't demanding at all you can't do much better than this.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)