Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You could do worse than have a date with Tina and Steve
Date Night tells the story of a married couple (Steve Carell and Tina Fey) who are stuck in a bit of a rut and whose lives revolve around their kids and work (just like so many of us). However, the similarities end when they get mistaken for criminals during their weekly `date night' and are ruthlessly hunted down across New York by the mob.

I feel after that...
Published on 25 Nov 2012 by Albatross

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ATTEMPT AT RELATIONSHIP MOVIE
The movie starts out showing us Tina and Steve as a typical NJ couple with a boring life. Once a week they have a date night where they go out to the same restaurant and order the same food. For entertainment they "guess" what the story is, or mini-biography behind other couples eating at the restaurant. perhaps one of the better scenes with these two. They are also...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You could do worse than have a date with Tina and Steve, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
Date Night tells the story of a married couple (Steve Carell and Tina Fey) who are stuck in a bit of a rut and whose lives revolve around their kids and work (just like so many of us). However, the similarities end when they get mistaken for criminals during their weekly `date night' and are ruthlessly hunted down across New York by the mob.

I feel after that brief plot summary I should write `...with hilarious consequences.' However, that would not be accurate. Date Night is not a `laugh a minute' film. I actually think it's better than that. It goes to great lengths to portray a `normal' married couple who, although are happy together, there's still that little something - call it a spark? - that's gone out. It's a funny film, but mixed with decent observations and character development that lifts it emotionally from the likes of American Pie and The Hangover.

It's funny and entertaining and, although not that original in its storyline, the chemistry between Carell and Fey is undeniable. I think that most couples married for a long time will easily understand the situation of Phil and Claire.

A great date movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ATTEMPT AT RELATIONSHIP MOVIE, 6 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
The movie starts out showing us Tina and Steve as a typical NJ couple with a boring life. Once a week they have a date night where they go out to the same restaurant and order the same food. For entertainment they "guess" what the story is, or mini-biography behind other couples eating at the restaurant. perhaps one of the better scenes with these two. They are also once-a-weekers in the bedroom. When their neighbors get divorced because they were in a similar rut, Steve re-examines their routine and decides to do something different by going to a different restaurant. Then, in a case of mistaken identity, they get hunted down by two rouge cops working for the mob.

There are some great scenes such as the bit role by Mila Kunis, and the taxi cab scene. There are also some scenes that didn't play well such as serious scenes between Steve and Tina as they discuss their life. Neither Carell or Fey pull those scenes off very well.

The comedy is good, but not constant. The attempt to make it into some kind of romantic comedy was bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Friday Night Film, 24 May 2010
By 
JennyD (Manchester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard great things about this film, afterall it throws the a King and a Queen of American Comedy together. Personally i don't really like Steve Carell, he annoys me but in this film he actually came across as a really likable guy. Fey is on top form and is fantastic as ever. Both actors give it their all and there is chemistry between them, you can believe they are a couple.

The script is fantastic though admittedly there are afew lines that are meant to be funny but don't quite work. Thats just my view. The storyline; a couple is growing apart due to the pressure of daily life including kids and work. Determined to bring the spark back into their marriage they decide to go on a date but when they get to the restaurant they find it fully booked. When a couple who booked a table don't turn up Carell & Fey decide to take their place. It turns out that the couple whose identity they have stolen are wanted by criminals. I won't say too much more because i don't want to give away everything. Really though the story isn't the most important thing, its all about the laughs. My favourite parts: the escape in the slowest boat ever & the sex robots. If you want to laugh and cheer yourself up, if you want a easy to watch film which isn't demanding at all you can't do much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of comedies ever but a wonderfully relaxing and funny movie, 2 Aug 2011
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
Date Night may not be a comedy to grace the top 10 (or 100) lists of best films ever but Steve Carell and Tina Fey pull off an entertaining couple of hours worth of relaxing comedy in this one. They play a typical middle class couple looking for some excitement on their date night, where a case of mistaken identity thrusts them into an environment completely out of their comfort zone.

In my opinion Steve Carell does a better job than in Dinner for Schmucks [DVD] and Tina Fey actually manages to play a convincing mother and wife. The story, of course is farfetched but not to the extent to be in any way a disturbance to enjoying the comedy.

With the exception of one or two scenes, the movie is unlikely to remain memorable for long but as light entertainment, it does its job really well, and if you are after a bit of laughter, you could do much worse than this on Friday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Date Night" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues On The 'US' Disc..., 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I tried real hard to like "Date Night" but it was good in my books rather than being great. My wife digged it more than I did.

Anyway if you're a fan - be aware that the 'US' 20th Century Fox BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED (no matter how Extended the version may be) and therefore won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Stick with the UK variant (Region B). It's dirt-cheap now and a fun night in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too film, 28 April 2014
By 
craig donnelly (delft, delft Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night (Amazon Instant Video)
It was a really funny film. Steve Carell at his best as usual & Tina Fey was good too. Recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not even Steve Carrell can rescue this disaster, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. A. D. Lackie "Adam" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Childish, transparent plot complemented perfectly by dreary jokes mainly themed along how difficult or tiring it is being a parent.
I love Steve Carrell, especially in the Office, which is why I rented this film, but even Steve could do nothing with this.
The best part was the bloopers during the credits where Steve's infectious humour was given room to shine.
Poor - don't do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recommend., 7 Jun 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I would have given 5 stars but the quality and dimension was disappointing. I feel that it was lacking - quality, but not from the movie itself. the movie was really funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny film however at times in the film it did get a bit silly but Steve Carell is very funny as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of DATE NIGHT, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Date Night [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Carell and Tiny Fey star as a married couple, who after stealing a resveration and a really posh restaurant for their Date Night (see the title trick there?) are on the run from 2 dirty cops. I think that this movie was hilarious, with shocking sexual references throughout the movie and a running gag about Jeanne Tripplehorn. Don't forget, Mark Walberg stars in the movie, who Fey acts crazily about... The movie is a thriller, along with romatic, and comedic, with bizzare situations happening every minute, which liftens up the plot a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Date Night [Blu-ray]
Date Night [Blu-ray] by Steve Carell (Blu-ray - 2010)
£9.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews