Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This made me a Perry fan.
I'm not a Perry fanatic, and used to despise her, but I really love this CD! After listening to it for a while at a friend's I ended up buying my own. The music can be very changeable in style, going from happy pop to nostalgic to slightly sinister almost but it all works very well together.

I've seen some of the reviews parents have posted on here about how...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Victoria Mcnaught

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fire work is the best song!
Like katy Perry's voice but some of the songs are just about her love life, how a boy makes her feel, are they good in bed etc.. However there are a couple of songs that do go against the usual girly sing songs about love..

Songs I recommend are: Fire work, Pearl and Not like the movies..

The others are ok but don't stand out much from other pop...
Published 5 months ago by Matty


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This made me a Perry fan., 7 Sep 2011
By 
Victoria Mcnaught "Vix0r" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
I'm not a Perry fanatic, and used to despise her, but I really love this CD! After listening to it for a while at a friend's I ended up buying my own. The music can be very changeable in style, going from happy pop to nostalgic to slightly sinister almost but it all works very well together.

I've seen some of the reviews parents have posted on here about how shocked they were so I will say this- don't go buying this for your young daughters expecting the happy clappy pop other artists produce and aim at kids. This isn't for them. There's a reason it says explicit lyrics at the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE guilty pleasure of 2010 is here! Katy Perry delivers retro pop and surefire production for her sophomore album!, 2 Sep 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Katy Perry until recently at least wasn't my cup of tea! my brother being a huge fan of One Of The Boys (and believe me he played it at everry given chance!) struck me that she wanted to be too famous too early with I Kissed A Girl,Hot N' Cold,Waking Up In Vegas etc. seeming way too generic and flowery and sweet to listen to, let alone a commercial mess of production!
Nevertheless, California Gurls (which without a doubt has become something of a huge anthem this summer,and it's brilliant!) won me over with it's retro 90's style production, Cyndi Lauper campness and prince 80's electric guitar synths and an absolute cracking hook of a tune! she had indeed won me over from being a P!nk/Madonna/Prince/Bowie style hybrid of a wannabe, to Katy showing us that actually she is somewhat of a guilty pleasure to hear one the radio Ipod or CD player stereo speakers!

however, it's the title single Teenage Dream that definitively certified myself as a fan! like Katy's answer to Madonna's huge anthem Into The Groove this albums title track is a synth pop,rock masterpiece of a tune! and on of 2010's most expertly crafted sensational thumpy songs i have ever heard, each time a refreshing joy of a listen.

My brother was so delighted (and actually scarily ecstatic!) when this album arrived yesterday morning, which a % must have been from being 'high' from the Candyfloss Straberry Sugary smell that grasps your nostrils as soon as the jewell case is opened to play the disc, almost in a similar respect to Madonna's Like A Prayer booklet having the Church scent smell in a blissful sort of way and definitely a soft nice smell, Katy's however is something of a polar opposite which may either cause migranes or just have you addicted...let's say i prefer Madonna's scent from Like A Prayer's patchouli oil which is AMAZING! also the candyfloss reminds me of the funfairs of Summer and adds to the playful personality of the album itself.

In a year dominated by generic R&B,Electro sounds and Lady Gaga, Katy offers that antidote for good old skool pop tunes and one 80's style groove after the next (some better than others!).

Stand outs include ET,Firework,Pearl,Not Like In The Movies,What Am I Living For? and Last Friday Night.

A brilliant album that will be regarded as Katy's most defining record of pure retro style bliss and somewhat of a career high as we will see it selling out and topping the charts on a global scale, she is going to literally dominate 2010.

while not 100% perfect, it's a fantastic album that will be anually played every summer! 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album full of Katy's personality, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Teenage Dream is both quirky and breezy with fun lyrics and a nice Madonna-esq 80's backbeat that is very infectious. Katy Perry has a powerful voice and really makes these songs work. The music is sassy and fun, just like the girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Commercial but full of catchy, highly polished pop, 3 Aug 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Teenage Dream is one of those albums that you know that everyone has or loves. There is definitely a lot to like about this album. The singles that have been out already - California Gurls, Teenage Dream, Firework, E.T. and now Last Friday Night (TGIF) are all great, instantly memorable pop songs that you've probably heard of before. They've all become a bit overplayed now, losing a bit of their spark and likability, but that's to be expected with most pop songs on the radio nowadays. But that doesn't stop Teenage Dream from being such a fun listen - the innuendos, subtle jokes and pop-culture references show a side to pop music only someone as cheeky as Perry could pull, which gives the album quite a fiery personality. Definitely pick this up if you haven't already, as it is kind of essential modern pop music to any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Good fun cd, gets you up and dancing, not really suitable for younger children due to some of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katy Perry, You're My Teenage Dream!, 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
i LOVE katy perry, like so much. it's unreal.
this album i prefer to one of the boys, although i love that album as well.

Teenage Dream is my favourite song in the whole entire world, ever.
I was SO excited for this album to be released, and when it finally was i was ecstatic.

Teenage Dream, Hummingbird Heartbeat, Firework And Peacock are the four best songs on this cd! (L)
They are more the dance, upbeat, songs :)
i had them on repeat for like 2 months!

Circle The Drain, E.T., T.G.I.F., Who Am I Living For? are more of the Rock songs which I also love.
Pearl, The One That Got Away are more of the pop but also have like a rock feel to them.

then you have Not Like The Movies which is a very slow, calm song which is amazing.

This is one of my favourite cds I have in my collection, and I am very pleased I bought it :)
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream On!, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Victoria Byerley (Manteno, IL 60950) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teenage Dream (MP3 Download)
Teenage Dream is a delightful pop album that you won't want to miss picking up. Its cleverly crafted lyrics and memorable melodies will be stuck in your head all day! Some of its gems include Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) which will soon become a party favorite, Who Am I Living For, a true song about finding yourself, and The One That Got Away, a heartfelt tune about wanting someone you can't have. The hard copy of the album contains a sweet cotton candy scented booklet and beautiful pictures of Katy! Fans of One of the Boys won't be disappointed. You definitely won't regret purchasing this album. -VB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music is great, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Daughter loves it. Pity that these singers feel it necessary to add bad language to their music. Apart from that it has plenty of Katy Perrys hits which keeps the daughter happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Dec 2011
By 
connor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
Very quick download and much cheaper then apple. Even better with my student discount Even better that you can have this song on your phone and on apple devices rather than just having it on only one device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katy Perry - Teenage Dream, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Teenage Dream (Audio CD)
I love Katy Perry and I think anyone would be mad to not have this album in there Cd rack! Because its bloody amazing! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teenage Dream
Teenage Dream by Katy Perry (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews