Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life remains a classic forever
Old but Gold - this series still reflects a lot between different layers of society & visions, is extremely funny but so true. G R E A T Entertainment value & good for many hours of laughs too.
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Iqbal Jetha

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was so looking forward to this...
I love The Good Life

It was, is and I am sure will continue to be one of my favourite TC series of all times.

I have been waiting for the full series to be available as a boxed set, and with glee ordered this set, which as always was delivered with Amazons efficiency.

All the episodes are here, including the Royal Variety Performance...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by Doug


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life remains a classic forever, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Old but Gold - this series still reflects a lot between different layers of society & visions, is extremely funny but so true. G R E A T Entertainment value & good for many hours of laughs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life Complete Box Series, 24 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I have always wanted this collection, and have seen it advertised on this website before for an astronomical price of 300! so it was out of my price range, so I was delighted to see it re-packaged at a more reasonable price, The picture and sound quality is excellent. There are bonus material including interviews with Bob Larbey one of the writers and Richard Briers the star, all the episodes are here including the Royal Command Episode which was recorded in front of the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh, we see behind the scenes of that episode, with the Queen arriving at the studio's meeting and greeting before and after the show is recorded. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality good, 12 Sep 2011
By 
D. Mackett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I hesitated before buying this DVD set after reading the reviews questioning the picture quality. I find the quality very good and I am glad I decided to buy it despite the reviews. I can only think that the playback equipment used by the reviewers was not up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As 'Good' as it gets!, 2 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I vaguely remember The Good Life the first time around in the mid 70s and, even as a child, it struck me as something rather special. Thankfully, this slice of 70s BBC comedy is some of the best of it's kind ever made, so much so that 4 decades on it is still as charming, as enjoyable and downright hilarious as it always was.

I cannot recall having enjoyed watching an old series so much in a long time, especially given the current lamentable state of home-grown entertainment television... You can't even watch BBC1 these days without feeling nauseous to the core, and the less said of ITV the better. It seems strange to say it, but 'The Good Life' is very 'refreshing' viewing, a much needed antitode to the bulk of modern 'popular' TV output and a quite splendid escape from the stresses of modern life too.

As to the disc themselves... Frankly, I cannot for the life of me understand all the fuss about alleged quality issues that this box set seems to have provoked. I watched the whole thing on a large modern flat screen and it looked perfectly fine. I've watched an awful lot of '2 Entertain' licensed DVDs - mostly mid 70s 'Doctor Who' episodes, which apparently go through allsorts of digital clean-up, that look considerably worse than 'The Good Life'. Granted things like bright blue and bright yellow do tend to look a bit odd on 70s 2&1/4" video tape recorded TV shows as those two colours were often used for super-imposed visual effects which can give a sort of unintended 'Ready Brek' glow, and silvery objects can leave blurry green trails under strong studio lights BUT 'The Good Life' has very little of this at all - save for two episodes where Felicity Kendall's mustard coloured jumper strobes a bit BUT 'good grief' this show was made almost 40s ago and looks as nice as you could ever rightly expect to see it.

I've noticed some people bemoaning the meagre extras in this boxed set. Personally, I don't see this as a problem - the 'magic' of these DVDs is in the episodes themselves... and after all i/ The Good Life was made decades before a whole slew of extras and offcuts for home-release were an essential requirement, AND ii/ Just how many times would one honestly watch such extras anyway? I cannot think of a deleted scene, interview, or mini-documentary on any DVD I've watched more than once or didn't 'ffw' through to start with.

No, 'The Good Life' is as good as it gets and stands up very well almost 40yrs down the line on the merits of the writing, the acting, the production... without the need for gimmicks. Perhaps my only suggestion would be to watch DVD 8 slightly out of sequence and watch the 'Royal Command Perfomance' before the Christmas Special because the latter is by far the better and more fondly remembered episode. Top marks to the BBC, 2 Entertain & to Acorn Media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as ever., 14 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
The Good life is as funny now as ever it was when on television. Does not seem to date as other sit com's do. The actors are perfect for the charecters they play. The danger when buying this box set is not being able to stop watching it untill the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic nostalga, 27 May 2011
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
It's just right. Lots of my favourite programmes and some I'd never seen before.
This is my favourite series of all time. I love all the actors and the show itself is
interesting and very funny. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life - Absolutely!, 20 May 2011
By 
belly (Macclesfield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
This series is as fantastic now as when it was first produced! Great entertainment, laugh out loud for all the family! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escaping the rat-race with charm, 15 Mar 2006
By 
If you have ever wanted to shout "stop the world I want to get off", this is what this sit-com is about. Charming in it's wit and humor, it gently pokes fun at the classism and snobbery of british life. It contrasts the social climbing of Margo next door and toadying that "Jerry" her husband must do to keep in with his boss, with Tom & Barbara's poverty, freedom and self-sufficiency. It is as relevant today as then (mid 1970s). It's style of humour is perhaps "quaint" much in the same vein as Wallace and Grommit, or the Ealing comedies, and the humour of the characters are that they are all essentially likable - despite obvious warts and all.
Tom( Richard Briars) and Barbara (Felicity Kendall) have excellent "chemistry" together. All the characters are well acted. Because of this, each episode is guaranteed to leave you with a strong feel-good factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Plenty of Life in The Good Life, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Stephen Citynskyj "Stephen Citynskyj" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
The set includes every episode for all four series, plus a few extras dotted among the episodes, and the 1977 Christmas special. It also includes footage of the 1978 royal visit to BBC Television Centre, in which The Queen sat down to watch an episode being filmed. The sycophancy of the commentary during the cast and crew line-up is almost as comic as the episode.

It's a gentle comedy, non-threatening and unfailingly middle-class. It depicts English eccentricity as charmingly aspirational, even if the economics of the self-sufficiency they espouse don't quite add up. Yet it hangs together very well, framed at the outset by a plot that has integrity and warmth. It also manages the rare feat of capturing the sexual frisson between Tom and Barbara that sustains them when times get tough. Thirty years on, I still wonder why the BBC never edited out that brief glimpse of Felicity Kendal's breasts in "The Early Bird" episode.

Sitting down to watch all four series in one go, I found the later episodes much thinner plot-wise than the earlier ones. They seem to be less about Tom and Barbara, and more about pushing their neighbourly friendship to extremes that begin to look silly rather than comic. For example, the episode with Margo's supposed affair seems to have nothing whatever to do with the Good's self-sufficient life. Overall though, The Good Life is as fresh and relevant today as it was over thirty years ago. Even if the simple agricultural life it depicts doesn't quite add up to a practical possibility, it presents us with a delicious fantasy that we could, if we tried hard enough, escape the rat race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Set of The Good Life, 4 July 2012
By 
Heidi Brand (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Like some others I hesitated to buy this due to reviews concerning poor picture quality, but I needn't have worried. The quality is fine. It's great to see these characters again & to re-live a classical time in British Comedy. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6e59e4)

This product

The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD]
The Good Life - Complete Boxed Set [DVD] by Richard Briers (DVD - 2010)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews