Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britains Answer To Funny Games
I decided to rent this film out, After the 4 stars on the front of the dvd case given from the magazines "Empire" and "Total film" caught my eye. First of all i must say this movie is not for everyone.. There are some, lets say very uncomfortable and awkward scenes in comparsion to the controversial "Funny Games" made in 2007 where the plot is very identical. Teenagers...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by M. Faccenda

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A distrubing reality of todays society
I saw this film in Blockbuster and decided to rent, based on the cover and the 4 stars being plastered over it.

The whole film takes place in the same couple of rooms and is shot in real-time. My initial opinion after 10 minutes of watching a pan boil and a couple eat dinner was "was a load of junk, why am I watching this toot". But I decided to watch the...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by J. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britains Answer To Funny Games, 20 Oct 2010
By 
M. Faccenda (Wishaw, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
I decided to rent this film out, After the 4 stars on the front of the dvd case given from the magazines "Empire" and "Total film" caught my eye. First of all i must say this movie is not for everyone.. There are some, lets say very uncomfortable and awkward scenes in comparsion to the controversial "Funny Games" made in 2007 where the plot is very identical. Teenagers breaking into mum and dads home and subjecting them to humiliation and (sexual)violence etc... other films it brought to mind while i was watching it were the last 20 minutes of "The Great Ecstasy Of Robert Carmichael" made in 2005 and "Last House On The Left" Films which give the message that not even your home is a safe place,and always think twice before answering to strangers.
Being a fan of horror and thriller films i was`nt dissapointed....due to some really good acting preformances. The film is made up of a list of unknown actors that have been seen in British tv programmes like Holby city, Peak pratice, The Bill, Peep show etc...
The film is directed and written by Paul Andrew Williams, who has also made "London To Brighton" and "The Cottage"
The film running time is 74 minutes, Audio is 5.1 surround or 2.0 stereo, English subtitles only. The Speacial features include Commentary,the making of, and trailers etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A distrubing reality of todays society, 15 Aug 2011
By 
J. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in Blockbuster and decided to rent, based on the cover and the 4 stars being plastered over it.

The whole film takes place in the same couple of rooms and is shot in real-time. My initial opinion after 10 minutes of watching a pan boil and a couple eat dinner was "was a load of junk, why am I watching this toot". But I decided to watch the entire film, to see how shocking it was (after the hype of the cover).

What entails is a shockingly accurate depiction of youth culture today. The scene where the father is subjected to having to hand over his banking details to the unwanted visitors is true enough to real life these days, but the scene where the "lead-boy" takes the mother into another room and *off camera* rapes her, are actually quite disturbing, and again, very accurately describes the mentality of the younger generations in todays world.

All told, the film is short (mercifully) and far from sweet. If you enjoyed Eden Lake, then watch Cherry Tree Lane. Whilst its not as visually distrubing, the plot and the mental picture it builds up are more than compensating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling latest instalment of home invasion horror., 28 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
Cherry Tree Lane is written and directed by Paul Andrew Williams. It stars Rachael Blake, Tom Butcher, Sonny Muslim, Jumayn Hunter & Ashley Chin. Plot finds middle-class couple Christine (Blake) & Mike (Butcher) suffering the ultimate home invasion hell when one night three youths force their way into the house looking for their informant son.

It's the sort of plot that could have been gleaned from The News Of The World on a Sunday morning. Whilst not as horrific as Eden Lake, or as far fetched as Harry Brown, Williams' third film unsettles from the off and has much to say along the way. We begin with a slow zoom in shot of the front of the house, a middle-class suburbia that's comforting and a world away from the horror about to be unleashed. Then inside and Williams appropriately films an untended cooking pot coming to the boil as Christine chats on the phone in the back ground, the simmer to boil motif neatly setting us up for what is to come. Told in real time, Cherry Tree Lane's story never leaves the house, claustrophobia reins as our couple are trussed up and subjected to a terrifying ordeal. Pretty sparse in set up and location, then, but this is not just an excuse for some terror. Williams goes a bit more deeper with his themes, daring to delve into the psyche of Britain's unruly youths, neatly observing cultural class division and the ever widening gap between the generations. It's darkly humorous at times too, the bleakness of which has a cheek about it as the story runs its (collision) course.

Where Cherry Tree Lane differs from other film's of its ilk is that the violence is mostly done off camera, mercifully so during one extreme passage. The power of suggestion really comes to the fore as we hear but don't see. This lack of on camera violence will disappoint those who need it in their horror diet. So be advised gore seekers, this is unlikely to be the film for you. Williams also faces the problem of trying to avoid comparisons with the afore mentioned other film's, the likes of Funny Games and The Strangers. It can be said that the home invasion format is most likely now looking a bit tired, to that end Williams' British take is likely to only resonate with the self aware British public. But it is challenging and confrontational. The ending is a little too abrupt, and perhaps inevitably-implausibility creeps in. But for the most part this is unnerving stuff, a chilling tale executed with a realism that's not found in more glossy productions: with the final shot astutely serving to keep us agitated. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, sharp, and to the point...., 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
Prosperous professional couple Mike and Christine are settling in for a standard evening of wine, TV and low-level marital hostility when a ring on their doorbell changes everything.

Their son Sebastian is in a little trouble with some local boys, who are quite prepared to camp out and wait for him to get home.

The resulting culture-clash is raw, revealing and nerve-split-tingly tense......

Be warned viewers, this is a grim and depressing movie, one not to be viewed with someone you have not known long.

The claustrophobic setting only mounts to the tension, and the feeling of dread right from the moment we see the boiling broccoli, stays with you right until the last reel.

There are some predictable moments in the film, The two main gang members are like good cop, bad cop. One having complex/complexion issues, the other being apologetic when the other isn't there.

The acting is good, and the camera-work and set is haunting and sometimes quite visceral.

There is no way out for anyone in this movie, and even the innocent are doubted in this, many will ask about the final frame 'did he have the knife/axe' or 'was he scared'.

The film doesn't let up for the duration, and there were many times i had to heavy sigh, as it was very uncomfortable to watch.

But coming from the director of 'from London to Brighton' and 'The cottage', I had a good idea it wasn't going to be a happy experience.

Be warned though, if you do want to see this piece, it is good, but you won't feel very good after watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Williams' other works., 24 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
Director Paul Andrew Williams other recent films, The Cottage [DVD] [2008] and London To Brighton [DVD] [2006],had more going for them than this drama which for me didn't quite capture fully the horror of home invasion by a bunch of young thugs.

This scenario has been better done in several other films,though this work of Williams does have his trademark of grittiness and natural acting that complimented the excellent LTB.

Although this was somewhat disappointing,Williams is still a director to watch: one hopes he'll be given a bigger budget one day and we will see what he can really do with no restraints on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh!, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
A boring, broccoli boiling, middle-aged couple are attacked, as they are having dinner, in their London home. They are beaten, bound and gagged by some hoodie-gang of suburban thugs who are waiting for the couple's son to come home, to teach him a lesson!

There is some violence, but it's no more shocking than Daniel Craig's Bond having a fist fight, except for the suggestion that the woman is sexual violated, which happens off screen.

The rest of this tedious observation features on the personalities of the gang who make themselves comfortable in their new surroundings and even watch a DVD and invite friends over and phone their mothers to SKY+ stuff for them, for when they get home later. There is some pay-back towards the end, but don't hold your breath.

I suppose the slowness and fact that it is solely filmed within the house, is supposed to add to the isolation and intensity. It doesn't! There is no tension, plot twists or touching turn-around, or deep scares or brooding atmosphere! It's just, well, dull. Even the opening titles are so slow I nearly gave up on it.

This film is also wrongly classed as a horror film. It is NOT! It's an URBAN DRAMA. It is not even a thriller. The whole thing could have been condensed into an hour long made-for-TV one-off.

And I'm not some yoof who has been fed hi-octane CGI rollercoaster movies and can't watch anything slower. I like a slow suspenseful build to a film but, this was bland even by my standards.

You have to be easily pleased to give this effort 4 or 5 stars. When I think of great horror films, which would deserve those stars, many of them fairly slow paced, many involve isolation and/or violence to some degree or another I think: Alien, Stanley Kubrick's The Shinning, John Carpenter's The Thing, Black Christmas (1974), Friday 13th (1981). Then I think about horror films that are dramas also, and I come up with, the very observational but also probably one of the most realistically brutal films I can remember seeing; Wolf Creek and the fantastic Swedish film, Let The Right One In which also has its brutal moments. You have to wonder what anyone was thinking calling this unoriginal lacklustre production, a horror film.

Don't waste 75 minutes of your precious life on this uninspiring lame production. Doing the ironing, cleaning the bathroom or sanding down a log would be more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HOUSE INVASION, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen far better films of this ilk,but i wouldn't go as far as to say it's awful,just a bit dull.
A middle-aged married couple settle down for a meal,the woman answers the door and gets attacked and has a knife held to her throat. The man gets attacked and tied up by the thugs,she gets raped,he gets frustrated by being so helpless. The thugs sit around waiting for their "mate" to return home,so they can go about their business,all the while talking big. More morons come into it,not really doing much as we wait for something big to happen,it never really does.
Some might enjoy the slow building tension of this,but i was expecting more. The acting is passable but not great,the movie is short but plods on,it certainly isn't one i'd bother watching again. That said,i appreciated what they were doing with this take on a house invasion,mirroring today's youth,you could say.
So perhaps just about worth a watch,just don't go expecting too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars MAKE YOURSELF AT HOME, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
Michael (Tom Butcher) and Christine (Rachael Blake) have a strained relationship. He doesn't trust her after she confessed to an indiscretion. They also have an issue with their son Sebastien (Tom Kane) who have been hanging out with the wrong sort. Their conversation is low, so I needed to crank up the volume to hear what they were saying. What was with the still camera in the opening bedroom shot?

Soon some of Sebastien's mates break in looking for him in a bad sort of way. This becomes a home break-in film as our gang helps themselves to some cookies, DVDs, and the wife. Things get weird when the gang's girlfriends show up, one of which is dragging along her innocent pre-teen brother.

The break-in formula runs its course and rather quickly in this 77 minute film.

The acting was alright, the characters needed a little more developing. The home break-in terror was light compared to others in this genre. You might want to go watch "Mother's Day" or "Last House on the Left" again before seeing this one. Not really worth renting.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, off screen rape, discreet nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Thriller, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the movie great Suspense from the movie wasn't Creepy or scary though but enjoyed the movie It will be apart of my DVD collection for along time 👍👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but unsettling and memorable urban horror, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] (DVD)
**** Warning spoilers ***

Many reviewers here have highlighted the movie's flaws and it's hard not to agree with at least some of the criticism.

The overall plot - savages break into a home and terrorise the middle-class couple, is far from original and the early scenes of domestic tedium do drag a bit (but I would argue that they at least allow the tension to build and serve to contrast with the horrors to come).

Are the characters mere caricatures? The jury's still out on that one. The savages certainly fall stereotypically into the category of Kenneth Clarke's much-quoted "feral underclass", but I felt the acting, from a pretty well unknown cast, was solid and compelling. Indeed, the gang-leader (Jumayn Hunter) puts in a thoroughly convincing portrayal of pure evil personified.

The movie certainly plays on the viewers' fears and you cannot help but imagine what if this hellish experience ever happened to you? But I guess many such films manipulate viewers' sentiments in this manner and the director can be forgiven manipulating our feelings like this.

The violence occurs mainly off-screen, but we do get to witness the disturbing aftermath. You are sure to hate the head gangster and will cheer when he gets his head smashed in near the end. There's more though. The movie has one last a shocking little trick up its blood-soaked sleeve though, when the brutalised husband discovers that the gang's young lookout hasn't fled the house. The boy (around 10 years old I'm guessing?) is still in school uniform and looks terrified. The man is covered in blood, full of adrenaline and clearly not thinking straight. What does he do with the carving knife in his hand .... Well, all decent films leave you with something to debate when they're finished and Cherry Tree Lane is no exception. Despite the flaws, I found Cherry Tree Lane to be a powerful piece of cinema which will not easily be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cherry Tree Lane [DVD]
Cherry Tree Lane [DVD] by Paul Andrew Williams (DVD - 2010)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews