Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic 2.1mm ID 5.5mm OD 5metre long extension cable
I bought a bunch of these to help connect the power to some White LED strip lighting. At 2.1mm Inside Diameter (ID) and 5.5mm Outside Diameter (OD) the connectors are a standard size for most 12V DC systems, including many CCTV cameras and lots of Power Supply Bricks (PSBs). Some PSBs use the slightly larger 2.5mm/5.5mm female which usually (but not always) makes good...
Published 19 months ago by R. F. Stevens

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR THE TENVIS JPT3815W
This cable does not fit the TENVIS CAMERA although it is SHOWN IN THE OTHER ITEMS BOUGHT WITH THIS CAMERA its the WRONGE SIZE GOOD JOB I DID NOT PAY A LOT FOR IT AMAZON GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT HOW MENY OTHER PEOPLE ARE GOING TO FIND THEY BOUGHT GOODS THEY COULD NOT USE.
Published 16 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic 2.1mm ID 5.5mm OD 5metre long extension cable, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
I bought a bunch of these to help connect the power to some White LED strip lighting. At 2.1mm Inside Diameter (ID) and 5.5mm Outside Diameter (OD) the connectors are a standard size for most 12V DC systems, including many CCTV cameras and lots of Power Supply Bricks (PSBs). Some PSBs use the slightly larger 2.5mm/5.5mm female which usually (but not always) makes good connection to the 2.1mm/5.5mm male.

I measured the loop resistance of each of the five leads and they were all the same at 1.0 Ohm there and back. So if the lead is passing 1 Amp it will drop 1 Volt. This resistance is reasonable for powering a CCTV camera which typically uses 0.08 Amp in daylight and maybe 0.3 Amp when lighting the Infra Red LEDs for the night vision. Furthermore, most of the cameras have a local regulator and are designed to tolerate a small drop in the supply voltage when using long leads, so yes, we can use these leads with a CCTV camera - if the plugs fit.

However for my LED strip lights, which take a lot more current than a camera and are sensitive to voltage variations, I had to make sure these power leads were cut as short as possible before soldering the cut end to the strip, and the LED strips were also cut into short lengths so as not to take too much current, and all were star connected back to the two dimmers and the power supply.

Other 5m and 10m leads of this 2.1mm/5.5mm style I have used in the past, but of a different make (4.8mm cable diameter, but alas no longer available), were significantly better at about a fifth of the resistance, which means these thinner (only 2.8mm cable diameter) ones supplied by Kenable lose a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR THE TENVIS JPT3815W, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
This cable does not fit the TENVIS CAMERA although it is SHOWN IN THE OTHER ITEMS BOUGHT WITH THIS CAMERA its the WRONGE SIZE GOOD JOB I DID NOT PAY A LOT FOR IT AMAZON GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT HOW MENY OTHER PEOPLE ARE GOING TO FIND THEY BOUGHT GOODS THEY COULD NOT USE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars correct size plug and socket for the Ucam 247 outdoor HD 1080, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
had to use a new stanley knife blade to pare down the black rubber slightly on the plug end that connects to the camera so as it fits inside the rubber sleeve on the camera socket and makes a waterproof seal ( or bak up with a bit of self amalgamating tape around the joint)
happy with purchase !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine, does what it's supposed to., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
It's a cable. Nothing fancy.

Does what I want it to, in extending CCTV camera and infra red light power supplies.

Nice clean and comes in a little bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING Not suitable for Tenvis JPT3185W camera, 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
The connectors of the cable itself are too large in radius to fit into the the Tenvis JPT3185W camera or its adapter.

When I measured the internal width of the hole inside my camera's adapter connector, it was 2.1mm, but the pin within the extension lead female part is larger than this internal diameter, as is the hole in the other end, which should be exactly the same size. Therefore the description is inaccurate or vague and misleading in describing what exactly the "2.1mm" refers to. Every diameter in this product seems to be larger than "2.1mm" anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problem solved, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
This cable is ideal for my purpose being of excellent quality. The price was competitive and delivery rapid. All in all a good deal from a good retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As per my previous review !, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
Excellent product - does what it says on the tin - It came in the normal post fairly quickly. That's 2 I have purchased now - both for different uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY as part of the IP Web Pan / Tilt package, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
I bought this wire (albeit only a couple of quid) based on what other people had bought as a package

It doesnt fit the camera output so it's useless for this model camera;

Wireless IP camera Pan/Tilt 2-ways Audio Mobile Viewing WEP/WPA/WAP2 wireless Wi-Fi Pan/Tilt internet IP camera day and night vision CCTV

I contacted the seller who was unable to (a) remove this package deal and (b) provide a suitable replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Correct Dimensions, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Ayoub Aliwi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
I did not buy the item yet, but when I read the reviews that some have ordered and the cable did not fit, I decided to contact the seller. He advised me that 2.1mm is the diameter of the pin in the female part, and that the diameter of the male part is 5.5mm
Hope that helps...

N.B. I put 4 stars for the cooperation of the seller over the phone, not for the item cuz I didn't buy it yet; but I think it is conveniently priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING Not suitable for Foscam Wireless IP Camera F18910W, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: kenable 5.5 x 2.1mm DC Power Plug to Socket CCTV Extension Lead Cable 5m (Camera)
Thisitem is advertised as suitable with the above camera, it is NOT. As per previous thread this is being advertised incorrectly and WILL not fit the Camera power lead as an extension. The F18910W connected is SMALLER than the 2.1mm. Don't waste your money like I did. This has been raised by customers before, and Amazon/ Sellers still advertise then together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews