Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Only Thing I Understand Is Living..."
Released 26 July 2010 as a 48-track 3CD set - "Think About The Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972" on Chrysalis/EMI 5099964214726 takes its title from a track on the 1970 TEN YEARS AFTER album "Watt" - and breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 (76:53 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Ssssh" - released August 1969 in the UK on Deram SML 1052 and in the...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much of their era
Like Curved Air who I reviewed recently Ten Years After were one of the 50 to 60 bands who comprised the classic rock era of the late 60's / early 70's.
When I was at school we had a lunchtime club called the Contemporary Music Society which really consisted of older boys playing records to us younger pupils and occasionally talking about them. I can barely remember...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money ?, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
I was very happy when I saw that EMI / CRYSALIS would rerelease 5 of my favorite TYA albums onto one single package for little money.

It seemed that the record industry with the crisis the internet possiblities has brought them had finally understood. Instead of asking ridicously high prices for releases that had been paid off already over 30 years ago it might be wiser to put them in nicely done LP replica low cost 5 CD Packs.

One perfect example of how to do it right was recently given by BRUCE SPRINGSTEENs eight(!!!) CD set THE COLLECTION 1973-1984 which you can purchase here AMAZON for as little as under 14 GBP.

His record company SONY / COLUMBIA did a perfect job and as an old time fan with only the original worn out vinyl in my possession I finally took the chance, bought it and have been very happy to rediscover his - in my opinion - finest music in a perfect package and brilliant sound.

Anybody who treasures Cover Art and never really liked the feel of the plastic package the normal CD comes with but prefers a carton / LP replica style at a budget price might also consider the ORIGINAL ALBUM CLASSICS by SONY/ COLUMBIA with Artistis like SANTANA, MOUNTAIN, BYRDS, JOHN McLAUGHLIN and many others.

To a lesser extend you might also take a look at the WARNER / RHINO offerings with a similar package called ORIGINAL ALBUM SERIES both offered between 9 and 12 GBP for the 5 CD package but be careful not always the latest Remastered Versions have been used.

Unfortunately EMI / CRYSALIS have had a different viewpoint and / or not the right people to treat the product/ Artists with the love and respect they deserve. Holding the TYA Set in my hands I see a big plastic / Jewel case - I even thought
these are not existing anymore - that holds the 3 CDs plus a flimsy 8 page Inlay/ booklet with small pictures of the 5 original LP covers - back and front - printed on 2 pages plus the production credits not even mentioning the running times of the songs.

The CDs are printed full on with the old green CRYSALIS Label ( which is nice to see ) , the masters they used for this edition are the latest even with some bonus tracks - which is not important to me - but the sound comes perfectly crisp and clean out of my speakers.

Coming back the the initial question - Value for money ? - YES - there is value for money even tho my expectations were not really met, anybody who is just interested in the music without bothering about the package will get a deal here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good old days, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Ten Years After and Alvin Lee at their best. Good old fashioned late 60's/early 70's heavy rock with virtuoso lead guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 great albums, 6 July 2013
By 
G. D. Mcallen "Frater Achos" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Great price for three discs that contained 5 albums. I had Shsssh on vinyl years ago and wanted to replace it with a cd. Then I saw this boxset on offer for not much more in price than a single cd. None of the really early albums are included but the 5 albums represent some of their best material. Recommend buying to any fan of Ten Years After.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD Review, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
This is a great service and I will be happy to use it again in the future if and when required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time, 15 May 2011
By 
Simon F. (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Ten Years After forged their reputation on the live circuit, capturing their blistering set on a series of fine live albums including "Undead" (1968), "Recorded Live" (1973) and "Live At The Fillmore East, 1970" (2001).
I had never bothered with any of their studio albums until this three-disc set appeared. It features five complete albums, "Ssssh." (1969), "Cricklewood Green" (1970), "Watt" (1970), "A Space In Time" (1971) and "Rock And Roll Music To The World" (1972), plus a handful of exclusive single A and B sides.
And now having ploughed my way through it all, I'm sorry to report that Ten Years After are best sampled via the aforementioned live albums.
These studio recordings are just dull, failing to capture any of the excitement of the band in full flight. Funnily enough front man Alvin Lee appears to agree; the CD booklet reproduces his liner notes from "Ssssh." In which he grumbles at some length about the problems of trying to make a studio album that can stand alongside their live gigs. Ten Years After made eight studio albums between 1967 and 1974 when they broke up. This CD set gives five good reasons as to why you should only bother with the live albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews