Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Only Thing I Understand Is Living..."
Released 26 July 2010 as a 48-track 3CD set - "Think About The Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972" on Chrysalis/EMI 5099964214726 takes its title from a track on the 1970 TEN YEARS AFTER album "Watt" - and breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 (76:53 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Ssssh" - released August 1969 in the UK on Deram SML 1052 and in the...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much of their era
Like Curved Air who I reviewed recently Ten Years After were one of the 50 to 60 bands who comprised the classic rock era of the late 60's / early 70's.
When I was at school we had a lunchtime club called the Contemporary Music Society which really consisted of older boys playing records to us younger pupils and occasionally talking about them. I can barely remember...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Only Thing I Understand Is Living...", 24 Jan 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Released 26 July 2010 as a 48-track 3CD set - "Think About The Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972" on Chrysalis/EMI 5099964214726 takes its title from a track on the 1970 TEN YEARS AFTER album "Watt" - and breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 (76:53 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Ssssh" - released August 1969 in the UK on Deram SML 1052 and in the USA on Deram/London DES 18029
Track 9 is "If You Should Love Me" - the non-album 7" single B-side to the 'American' release of "Love Like A Man" issued in 1970 on Deram DEM 7529
Tracks 10 to 17 are the album "Cricklewood Green" - released April 1970 in the UK on Deram SML 1065 and in the USA on Deram DES 18038

Disc 2 (79:17 minutes):
Track 1 is "Love Like A Man (Single Edit)" - a non-album version [A-side] issued May 1970 in the UK on Deram DM 299
Tracks 2 to 9 are the album "Watt" - released December 1970 in the UK on Deram SML 1078 and Deram XDES 18050
Tracks 10 to 19 are the album "A Space In Time" - released August 1971 in the UK on Chrysalis CHR 1001 and in the USA on Columbia KC 30801

Disc 3 (60:16 minutes):
Track 1 is "I'd Love To Change The World (Single Edit)" - a non-album 7" single version [A-side] issued September 1971 in the USA on Columbia 4-45457
Tracks 2 to 10 are the album "Rock & Roll Music To The World" - released October 1972 in the UK on Chrysalis CHR 1009 and in the USA on Columbia KC 31779
Track 11 is "Choo Choo Mama (Single Edit)" - a non-album 7" single version [A-side] issued November 1972 in the USA on Columbia 4-45736
Track 12 is "Love Like A Man (Recorded Live At Bill Graham's Fillmore East)" - a non-album 7" single version [B-side to "Love Like A Man"] issued May 1970 in the UK on Deram DM 299

Housed in a double jewel-case with a fairly skimpy (but informative) 8-page booklet - EMI have released many multiple CD sets in this 'retro' series with the same generic packaging - Robin Trower, Be Bop Deluxe, Frankie Miller, Barclay James Harvest, The Groundhogs, UFO and The Edgar Broughton Band among them. All are remastered and pitched at mid-price.

In this case (as is with most of the others) - the superb remastered sound comes courtesy of PETER MEW at Abbey Road. It should also be noted that "Ssssh", "Cricklewood Green" and "Watt" are different remasters to the 2002 versions done by PASCHAL BYRNE at Alchemy Audio in London. The other big draw here for TYA fans is the difficult to find and hugely popular albums "A Space In Time" and "Rock & Roll Music To The World" from 1971 and 1972 respectively - available remastered - and reasonably priced at last.

Musically - as one reviewer rightly says - some tracks are plodding and none are 'live' and therefore not really representative of the band at their best. But dealing with what we do have - there is so much on here to savour. "Working On The Road", "I'm Coming On" and "Choo Choo Mama" are great boogie tunes. I also love the acoustic vibe of "Circles", the Prog Rock keyboards of "Standing At The Station" and the string arrangements of "Over The Hill". There are even wise deliberations on beliefs on the trippy treated vocals of "Religion" (lyrics above). It isn't all genius - of course not. But there are 5 studio albums & five rare 7" single sides on here - and that's an awful lot of Classic Rock music for not a huge amount of wonga.

Niggles - packaging wise its workmanlike at best. I would have much preferred it if this entire series has gone down the road of Columbia's "Original Classic Albums" mini box sets - albums in repro card sleeves with the full session info available via download from Sony's website. But alas...

Too often overlooked - TEN YEARS AFTER still hold huge swathes of fans in serious affection - and on re-hearing these remasters and Alvin Lee's terrific axework - it's easy to know why.

Rock & Roll Music To Us...

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic ten years after > you name it and Ten years after can play. Blues / Rock/Jazz, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
I have all the albums in vinyl which I bought when they were released, have a number of cd's This is such a good collection do not let it go.the quality is. Alvin Lee is so good.
I love guitar orientated music, Santana , Clapton , Page, Hendrix, the list can go on and on, all brilliant but Alvin just does things better for me.
If you have not seen ten years after at the Marque go and get it and see how good Alvin and the rest of the band are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LASTING TESTAMENT TO A FALLEN AXE MAN, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
As it sadly turned out, this compilation of the most consistent work produced by TYA came ahead of the premature death of Mr Alvin Lee, but will stand the test of time as being the definitive record of one Britain's best blues/jazz bands of the 1960s 70s. I have had all the albums in all of their respective formats through the years, never tiring once of the brilliant music that they produced. Although everyone thinks of Alvin Lee as the showman, but Messrs Lyons, Churchill and Lee were the sublime support for him. Thank you Alvin Lee and Ten Years After for a solid contribution to the world of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement to the Power of 10, 7 Mar 2011
By 
H. Llewelyn "Hugh Llewelyn the Welshman" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Has any blues-rock album started off with a more frantic track than "Bad Scene" (on Ssssssh)? It's just not good for me to listen to it at my age. I saw 10 Years After at the famous 1969 Blues Festival at Bath with the likes of Led Zep, Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, John Mayall's Blues Breakers,the Edgar Broughton Band etc - and 10 Years After were the most exciting (fan of Peter Green though I am). It was totally exhausting just listening to them and I was a hyper active 19 year old then! This 5 album set (Half Ten Years After?) consists of their best albums, in my ever so humble opinion, and there is a great deal of wonderful heavy blues-rock-jazz stuff on it (and just a little drosssss). Has anyone noticed that "Two Time Mama" is more like Canned Heat than Canned Heat? And "Standing at the Station" on "Rock & Roll Music to the World" (Naff title, though) is in my view the most mind-grabbing, body-grabbing, and anything else-grabbing 10 Years After number of all. Must rush to put it on the old gramophone player and gently sway on my zimmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleasantly surprised, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Much better than I expected

I was previously only really familiar with TYA as a live act

Extended live work outs such as I'm Going Home and Woodchoppers Ball were what I considered the norm for this lot

Therefore I was very pleasantly surprised to discover the breadth and scope of their studio stuff was much more than I had imagined, eclectic and far reaching in nature, they cover blues, boogie, rock'n'roll, psych-pop, prog, jazz and folkie acoustic type numbers - all with a degree of aplomb

I now regret having had these boys labelled in my own mind for so long - a remarkable voyage of discovery awaits anyone of a similar mind to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IT STILL ROCK'S MANY YEARS AFTER !, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
This Album by TEN YEARS AFTER The Chrysalis Years includes 3 CDs,this is a great collection of there music during the period of 1969 until 1972.There are 5 Albums on the 3 Disc's:1. SSSSH, 2. Cricklewood Green, 3. Watt, 4. Space In Time, 5. Rock & Roll Music To The World,and there are 3 different versions of "Love Like A Man", 2 studio versions one long and one short, and a long live version, which was one of there hits during the 1970s.
Alvin Lee was a brilliant Blues & Rock Guitarist and vocalist,and playing his guitar he was hailed as one fastest in the world!.
My favourite Album on this CD is SSSSH,this Album really Rock's,anyway these Classic Album's of "Ten Years After" on 3 CD's is well worth having in your collection,even if the Music is now over " Fourty Years After !".
[Rock]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good buy, 23 Feb 2014
By 
A great value purchase. 5 albums from their best period, plus singles for only 11.49! Alvin Lee is not just a fast guitarist, but plays with passion and can play delicately as well. The band play great Rock and Roll/ 70's R&B as well as classic 12 bar Blues. There is a high energy and some stunningly good guitar playing throughout all 5 albums, but I especially like the last 2- A Space in Time and Rock 'n' roll music to the world. AI also thoroughly recommend the 1973 double album called *Recorded Live". As has been pointed out by other reviewers, T.Y.A were classed as a "Live Band" (but like the Grateful Dead, Man and many other bands with such a tag),by listening to these albums you'll find some gems of songs that didn't make it to the live shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realize what I was missing, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
My first taste of TYA was the release of Undead, an album that still sounds as good today as then. This was followed by Stonedhenge and Ssssh. The former was an interesting album but very different from Undead and not totally to my liking. While Ssssh had more in common with Undead musically at the time for me there was something lacking. Subsequently for listening to TYA I stuck to Undead and their Woodstock performance.

How wrong I was. The five albums in this set really are excellent. I've know realized what I've missed over the past 40 years. I've always been a lover of live music and hearing Undead as my first taste of TYA probably set me on the wrong path. Listening to these albums, while all are studio albums, they have an underlying feel of live recordings rather than something that has been put together from several takes. They also highlight how good a guitarist Alvin Lee was.

My only query is related to Ssssh. It's in the set as from the Chrysalis years but I have it on vinyl on the Deram label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much of their era, 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
Like Curved Air who I reviewed recently Ten Years After were one of the 50 to 60 bands who comprised the classic rock era of the late 60's / early 70's.
When I was at school we had a lunchtime club called the Contemporary Music Society which really consisted of older boys playing records to us younger pupils and occasionally talking about them. I can barely remember most of the sessions. The only ones I do recall were ones on Mott the Hoople, before they became mainstream, The Velvet Underground and Love - the latter was quite funny as the boy presenting it just kept playing the records until the teacher demanded he say something about this band none of us had ever heard of.

However the one that remains most vivid in my memory was the one on TYA, mainly because the boy presenting kept saying he hadn't got most of the records he was talking about. However he did play Sweet Little Sixteen, so he must have had the album `Watt.' At the age of 12/13 I thought this was one of the most exciting things I'd ever heard (I didn't even know it was a Chuck Berry song at the time!) and resolved to investigate TYA further. I never did of course and it wasn't until I became an adult that I purchased a vinyl compilation of the band. I actually think the version of Sweet Little Sixteen is actually quite poor now!

As with many bands of that era it's easy to forget how big TYA were at the time. Although they were probably only a bottom of the premier league band in the UK, not in the same league as Zeppelin, The Stones or the Who or even Deep Purple, they were for a time superstars in the States. Alongside Humble Pie, a band of similar status, they had the most tours of the United States of any British group of their era. Although they had negligible singles success, their albums sold well and they were a regular fixture on the festival circuit, appearing at both the Isle of Wight and Woodstock, Alvin Lee's guitar histrionics lending itself perfectly to the live experience.

Despite the many compilations over the years I don't think there's been a definitive comprehensive compilation of TYA. I own the double disc Anthology 1967 - 71, which I had to buy from the U.S as it isn't available here. However this doesn't have anything from the albums released after 1971; most noticeably 1972's `Rock and Roll Music To The World' (TYA's most recent release when I caught up with them) and 1974's `Positive Vibrations', albums that contain some of the band's best material.
Similarly this compilation is also not definitive as it covers the Chrysalis years, therefore there is nothing from the first three albums: `Ten Years After', `Undead' and `Stonedhenge,' or the outtakes album `Alvin Lee & Co'; a couple of early non album singles are also missing. I'm Going Home, far and away Ten Years After's most famous song, is also missing. This compilation isn't therefore really a best of, but a collecting together of the albums `Sssh,' `Cricklewood Green,' `Watt,' `A Space In Time' and `Rock and Roll Music To The World' in their entirety together with a couple of other singles and B sides.
It does therefore feature Love Like A Man, the band's only British hit and I'd Love To Change The World, their biggest American single, which after I'm Going Home are their other most famous songs. However 1974's `Positive Vibrations' album is again missing.
There are therefore a total of twelve tracks that overlap with the Anthology, which is ultimately a much stronger collection, as not only does it feature the best of their early material but it creams off the best of `Sssh','Cricklewood Green,' `Watt,' `A Space In Time,' although as already indicated you don't get anything from `Rock and Roll Music To The World' on that anthology. The US Anthology also contains decent liner notes, whilst this collection features a paltry paragraph and a few lines from a 1969 interview with Alvin Lee.

Coming to the music and it must be observed that, exciting live band as they were,TYA did lack enough decent original songs to propel them into the company of the aforementioned Zeppelin, et al. Their music was very much of its time, although by these albums the blues of their early period had been largely left behind, when they tried to break out of their default boogie style, they did struggle somewhat, never making a completely successful and satisfying album, and their attempts at originality tended to rely on dated production gimmicks such as phasing and sound effects.

`Cricklewood Green' is usually regarded as their greatest album and it does feature Love Like A Man; the jazzy Me And My Baby and the psychedelic 50,000 miles Beneath My Brain are also strong tracks, however I would contend that'Rock & Roll Music To The World' is actually their best; the title track is excellent whilst Choo Choo Mama is perhaps their best rock and roll song. Indeed TYA are at their strongest on these types of numbers; Baby Won't You Let Me Rock n Roll You and `Going Back To Birmingham (not featured here as it's on Positive Vibrations' ) are similar numbers. When the band tries to diversify away from the blues or boogie, for example by playing acoustic, much of the time they are boring as the songs aren't strong enough.

This was ultimately their problem. Alvin Lee originally disbanded the group in 1975 because he said he was fed up of being a travelling jukebox, but ultimately they were a boogie, blues rock band and no more. They could be compared to Status Quo as a boogie band and, although Alvin Lee was a better guitarist than anybody in Status Quo, they lacked the Quo's pop sensibility. As a blues band they could be compared to their great contemporaries Fleetwood Mac, but Lee lacked the song writing prowess, singing and originality in playing of Peter Green, whilst as a heavy rock band TYA didn't match up to Zeppelin, Purple or Sabbath.

In conclusion, although Alvin Lee was one of the fastest, flashiest guitar players on the block, TYA didn't have the songs or the sound to ever be anything more than a good band of their era rather than a great band who could transcend eras. A single, or at the most double, disc compilation of the best material from all their albums is all the TYA most people would want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars total bargain.... tya great band...., 7 Oct 2010
By 
Mjw Simmons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Think About the Times: The Chrysalis Years 1969 to 1972 (Audio CD)
tya were superb. a great band as my brother used to say.... 5 lps for [...].... great musicians esp the bass player. just buy it but only if u like bluesy hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews