Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Coast - Hotter than UV rays
The sound of summer has arrived and its utterly joyous and endearing (just ignore the oil on the beach). Best Coast are a surf/pop/gospel group from Los Angeles who comprise the wonderfully named Bethany Cosentino, who writes and records with her great chum Bobb Bruno. They state as their key influences California boys, Connie Francis, Stevie Nicks and cats which is...
Published on 1 Aug 2010 by Red on Black

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, awful production
I agree with all the good stuff that has been written but also with the fact that the production is shocking. I'm a massive lo-fi fan, so it's not that I want more polish, but you actually can't hear some of the great raw guitars and vocals very well at all. And the drums virtually disappear at times. It sounds like this was recorded on an old portable cassette, played...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by M. J. Unwin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Screw the haters, 22 July 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crazy for You (Audio CD)
Best Coast maybe in danger of losing their coveted reputation as the only group successfuly managing to translate; soppy pining, weed smoking, half baked lyricism into genuinely powerful art. Their latest album The Only Place suffered an indie backlash early this year and it's got a few people retrospectively thinking Crazy For You wasn't as effortlessy charming as they gave it credit for it 2010. Despite how retrograde this sounds, i can see why some may highlight the unexceptional elements of this album as being somehow more important in 2012. With the band seemingly unable to build on what they achieved here with follow up The Only Place, there's a strong impulse to throw the baby out with the bathwater.

I'm proud to announce i'm still a Best Coaster though, as i'm in love with this amazing album perhaps even more now that im having to defend it's Neo slacker genius to a slew of haters and turncoats. I slightly jest about the extent of my ardency towards Crazy For You, but i do still really enjoy listening to this and for good reasons to. Bethany Costentino's voice is so sweet and honest on here not to mention pitch perfect. Her lyrics are as endearing as they are simple. The rhyming couplets lazy/crazy, prettier/skinnier and low/go have irked some who find them embarrasingly primitive but i just find them open hearted and lacking in pretension.

The music on Crazy For You perfectly complements Costentino's voice to. Emphasising a more lo fi garage pop sound opposed to the overproduced sheen of The Only Place. The catchiness of all of these songs on here make it hard to pick favourites but "I Want you" finds a wonderful balance between Phil Spector's wall of sound pop and The Ramones early punk. And the scrappiness of "Bratty B" and the Nirvanaesque distortion in "Goodbye" make Bethany sound like the most loveable 21st century Riot Grrl. Music this great should never be relegated to the guilty pleasure spot in anyones album collection, so i'm going to blast this a little louder in my flat from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Crazy for You (Audio CD)
Stunning debut album, all-time favourite for rainy days. More please!
Ps the cat's really cute :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak stuff/Actually no, it's good!, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy For You (MP3 Download)
Bought this album after being bombarded by 'Boyfriend' on BBC 6Music until I couldn't get it out of my head. Every other track on the album is more or less identical, only slightly less catchy. A real disappointment. The two stars are because there is still something I vaguely like about the sound, though it may only be that it reminds me of something better (e.g. Sonic Youth). *UPDATE* 6 months on, I have changed this from 2 stars to 4 stars. It's not especially intelligent, innovative or exciting, but there is something really beautiful about this album. It is a heartfelt love letter, sometimes pleading, sometimes despondent but always real, filled with dreamy surf rock vocals and guitars. It took its time, but eventually it won me over completely - Bethany Cosentino has a beautiful voice and her lyrics are simple but evocative, drawn from authentic emotional turmoil. Nice album, Best Coast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Every song sounds the same, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy For You (Audio CD)
Just buy one song. There's no need to have the rest as they are not dissimilar. The lyrics are really, really tedious. It's not bad for one or two listens, but then you get tired of her loving you or wanting you or being crazy about you or missing you or whatever in the same key. Formulaic is the word I'm looking for. And shallow. And yes, it does sound like it was recorded in the public toilets at New Street Station. I think all the positive reviews must be from lovelorn 16 year olds or those who don't want to listen to anything too challenging. Bless their simple little souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, awful production, 4 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy For You (Audio CD)
I agree with all the good stuff that has been written but also with the fact that the production is shocking. I'm a massive lo-fi fan, so it's not that I want more polish, but you actually can't hear some of the great raw guitars and vocals very well at all. And the drums virtually disappear at times. It sounds like this was recorded on an old portable cassette, played over an AM radio and rerecorded back onto the cassette. So it's five stars for the songs and the simple arrangements and one star for the production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not up to expectations, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy For You (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong, I love this album, but somehow in comparison to the earlier singles and EPs this is just somehow missing something. Not sure what it is, maybe some of the songs just don't hit the same heights. All the usual ingredients though, that you'd expect of Best Coast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible production, 28 Sep 2010
By 
M. Brown (Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy For You (Audio CD)
Am I the only person who thinks this album sounds like it was recorded in a toilet? It's easily the worst production of any album I've ever owned. The vocals are completely buried in the mix, and the guitars constantly grate. If this album was well-produced, it would probably deserve four stars, but for me, it's sonically unlistenable. The tracks sound like substandard demos. I can't believe I'm the only person who finds this to be the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy for You [VINYL]
Crazy for You [VINYL] by Best Coast (Vinyl - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews