Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but still entertaining
Having read the first four books in this series in relatively short order, I thought it would be worth taking a short breather and reflecting on what's been read so far.
Without a doubt, the series is a real page-turner, with plenty of action and plot twists to keep the whole thing entertaining and captivating.
But therein lie some of the problems. You get the...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by John Orr

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 star
I think the 3 star say's it all. It's ok. It's better than some of the stuff that's out there, but it's just not capturing me. The universe doesn't seem to care about the Eden fleet, and the 'hero' is really boring, because he can't die.
Published 11 months ago by Kodiak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but still entertaining, 2 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first four books in this series in relatively short order, I thought it would be worth taking a short breather and reflecting on what's been read so far.
Without a doubt, the series is a real page-turner, with plenty of action and plot twists to keep the whole thing entertaining and captivating.
But therein lie some of the problems. You get the impression that the whole thing has been blurted out in a great rush in order to keep up with the plot, and the writing and story has suffered a bit for it. There are enough grammatical and vocabulary errors to jar the reading senses and ruin the flow at times. 'Lead' for 'led', 'queue' for 'cue' and 'automation' for 'automaton' (although, there is the possibility this one is deliberate) are a few among many. There are also stretches of dialogue or narrative that are poorly 'telegraphed' and it is not always obvious who the characters are until that part is well under-way. The majority of the errors would be found through better proof-reading and the advice of an experienced editor. I appreciate these are self-published works, largely done without the luxury of such expensive frills, but a bit more care in this area would have probably nudged an extra star on the review score (although it probably still doesn't merit a perfect five).
Some of the plot twists are also a little too 'convenient' and that detracts a little from the overall quality of the work. Having the availability of 'miraculous' medical technology may be perfectly acceptable in sci-fi of this nature, but it does make you wonder if it's not simply a convenient way or moving the story along at a faster clip without the need to develop a more intricate process. But, in many respects, that's perhaps a churlish gripe, because even the 'convenient' events do fit well into the overall whole and allow the story to expand in ways which do keep you hooked. My concern is that it leads to a contrived conclusion rather than a well worked out one.
I guess I'll need to keep reading to find out. And that is, without a doubt, the big achievement of this series - it does make you want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story coming together, 18 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading these books back to back and have enjoyed all of them so far. The story brings back together some of the characters for an action packed reunion. The story does a good job of giving you just enough information about the different plots and what is happening in the background to keep you involved.But not enough to know whats going to happen for sure.
This was quite a good sized sequel and covered quite a lot of ground and still a good page turner.
If you have read all the books so far then like me you will probably read all this series,still if you are unsure after the last one I would recommend getting this one.

Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The threads merge, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
It's been a little while since I read 'Triton' (Broadcast 3) as I ploughed through the whole 'Song of Fire & Ice' series in between, so my memory of the previous book was more hazy than I'd expected. However, it didn't take long to pick up the the threads again.

This book follows on directly from 'Triton' and deals with the ongoing struggles of Jake Valance & Co to come to turn with both their personal challenges and a fight against the Order of Eden and Regent Galactic corporation. Some storylines that were previously disparate are now brought back together in this book.

As ususal it's well paced and contains plenty of action but there is always time for character definition as well - to me this is one of the strengths of the 'Spinward Fringe' series.

I recommend starting these at the beginning but for those who have read the previous braodcasts then this is well worth continuing with. On that note, I'm off to order 'Fractures'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 April 2011
By 
Graham B. Irvine "Scifi head" (Shetland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
The story, as with all the series, is excellent. The only reason it doesn't get an excellent review is the grammer and word usage is frequently wrong ie. queue instead of cue, if you can overlook these type of errors and frequent double words, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi at its clichéd best, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
Good book little short but enjoyable.
can't wait to read the rest in the series.

Keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't put them down, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant. Started this series with a free book and can't get enough. The characters, tech and stories are well thought out and well believable. Would have been five stars but I find the love story really annoying, but only because it's so out of place, it's like something out of a Cary Grant film, where as the other relationships in the book are more in keeping with the rest of THE books.
If you like star trek, battle star and especially farscape you will love this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spinward, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
A colossal drama, over countless years, fast paced battles , packed with technology, a sci fi story where future science clashes either humanities foibles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
The series as a whole is fantastic. After reading origins I was disappointed with the idea that the following books were moving away from the "levelling up" aspects of the first light. Only to realise that I was wrong!

It's also great to read villains who are multi layered and do not just behave in the characteristic cardboard cut out kind of way.

It feels like a sci-fi version of Game of Thrones so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spinward fringe, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
Any sci-fi would love this series of books by Randolph lalonde. The crews of the various ships constantly lurch from crises to crises and you never know who will make it. The action and suspense are great and the sciencey bits are always top notch. Could not put down from book 0. Excellent and thoroughly deserves 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get better than this, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline (Kindle Edition)
Another awesome book in the series, great Sci fi that just keeps getting better, great characters a deep plot and lots of action. This is the best series I have found on Kindle, since I found the Spinward series I haven't read anything else in between. Beware addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spinward Fringe Broadcast 4: Frontline
1.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews