Customer Reviews
Zaz


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZAZ is Zazzy Jazzy
Zaz is a street born busk performer of casual genius. The voice control and breadth of musical sound is very much in the modern idiom but it has historical depth when we recall the sounds of Django and Bechet. She is claimed to be the new Piaff and if resurrection is a possibility, she might well be the original. If you make a pilgrimage to Pere Lachaise in Paris and MP3...
Published on 21 Mar. 2011 by Terence

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT AS A GIFT
I bought this as a gift and have been thanked for it so obviously the person liked it I presume.
Published 10 months ago by Val Martin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZAZ is Zazzy Jazzy, 21 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
Zaz is a street born busk performer of casual genius. The voice control and breadth of musical sound is very much in the modern idiom but it has historical depth when we recall the sounds of Django and Bechet. She is claimed to be the new Piaff and if resurrection is a possibility, she might well be the original. If you make a pilgrimage to Pere Lachaise in Paris and MP3 a Zaz track at the foot of Edith's grave you might spiritually get the answer. For me Zaz is both hypnotic and addictive. She is not on the retail lists of major music retailers in the UK so Amazon might be your only opportunity to hear a youthful genius in full flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful album, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (MP3 Download)
Having discovered this album on holiday in France, I toyed with the idea of buying it over there but am glad I've saved a few bob and got the download from Amazon - cheapskate that I am, but this album would have been worth the price in the shops in any case. Zaz is a bit like a French Eddie Reader and her folk inflected songs exhibit humour and a stereotypical French "knowingness" if that makes sense. Jaunty, cheeky songs sit nicely alongside plaintive ballads to make an album of rich variety and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fresh sound from france, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
Take Vivaldi's 4 Seasons, whisk trough some Ella Fitzgerald, top off with a pinch of Manu Chao, serve it in a Jacques Brel cup and kick back for some seriously French style quality time. Although it's more likely you'll find yourself bouncing through your living room with your speakers on full blast. Having found the perfect balance between the French tradition of creating epic, dramatic songs and a jazzy, sometimes even Balkan sound, ZAZ Leaves you with a surprisingly warm and uplifting feeling. The perfect soundtrack to start a night out in Paris, or to end it in good company in a late night bistro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of France and no X Factor in sight thank goodness!, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
Once in a life time the music industry comes across such originality and genius, Zaz is just that. If you love Piaff then you will adore Zaz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She'll have you "Singing LOUDLY in mangled french", 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
I read the reviews here on Amazon before buying this cd and one that made me laugh (and decide to buy it) was by someone going by the name of wadrad, as quoted in my title. From the moment I received it and started playing it, I understood what he meant.

I don't understand a word she's singing but I really don't care. Her voice is amazing; she's got this slightly husky/smoky quality to her voice and the slightly folksy music compliments her perfectly. Her songs are nearly all upbeat with some scatting here and there, and will have you feeling like bopping across the room.

I initially bought it for Dans Ma Rue but quickly fell in love with all her other songs. There's not a song on this album that I don't like. A must-get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its french and I love it, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
Heard the last song on the credits of a film,liked it ,its on this album (last) I like the rest even if I don't know all the words-google translate for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The summer of 2013, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
This album was the highlight of my 2013 summer holiday in terms of music. I listened to it all the time, in the car, in the train, in the mountains, at friend's houses, everywhere I could plug the CD in or have an aux jack.
I find the music very honest and refreshing. The lyrics are uplifting and Zaz's voice is faultless. I couldn't recommend it more to anyone who is tired of whatever music stations and radios are selling these days.
Looking forward to one of her street concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little album!, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
Enjoyed this so much I am going to Paris to see her live. A superb voice and a range of jazz-influenced, fun tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very gifted, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
I heard Zaz on the Andrew Marr show and was immediately impressed. She has a mixture of influences. I have been studying French off and on for half a century. Why will no-one say they talk too fast? Nevertheless an entertaining album. I read she was considering Eurovision. That could be the Kiss of death. If you fancy something a bit different gave it a play. Amusez-vous bien!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Francais, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zaz (Audio CD)
I was looking for an example of an up to date French pop star and happened to find Zaz. She has been likened to a modern day Edith Piaf and certainly she has that jazzy "wobbly" voiced charm but she is also very now. Some of her songs I would call "quirky" but very easy to listen to!!! The children at school thought she was "cool" so she can't be bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zaz
Zaz by Zaz (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews