Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Sept. 2010
By 
D. Kourkoutas (hellas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Audio CD)
If you like nightfall in the middle earth, you will love this one too.. This doesnt mean that they repeat theselves but that both albums have the same spirit and the same amount of creativity invested in them.. I love both albums equally.Strongly recommened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To Their Best.. Believe It...., 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (MP3 Download)
I've always had a soft spot for Blind Guardian but generally thought that they had peaked about the time of "Nightfall in Middle Earth". The following albums were good but I had a sense that they were trying too hard to develop new sounds.

However, "At The Edge Of Time" is simply marvelous, like a modern version of their older style. Highly charged fast bits, slow bits and melodic intervals to die for with that slight hint of the medieval that they do so well. I keep coming back to this album and finding something new in the mix. Production is very good too. I bought the last 6 Blind Guardian albums and although I am suprised to say it I genuinly think this may be my favourite.

Top class melodic power metal with a very distinctive style. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling, dynamic and excellent,, 28 July 2010
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
Blind guardian are back this month with a new album! - the follow up, that is, to 2006's "Twist in a myth" and which ever way you look at it "At the edge of time" must surely be the best work the guys have done since 1998's classic concept opus "Nightfall on middle earth." Back once again with a rounder more fuller sound than last time. There is much new stuff on offer here too and to be frank the usual deep and delicate power/thrash demons, wizards and dragons stuff which the band perform and write so well.

The album kicks of with the almost 10 minute progressive/power metal masterpiece in the form of "Sacred worlds" this is BY FAR the best track on the album and is an instant classic. Lord of the rings style doom and gloom intro gives way to the perfect Blind guardian melodic power rhythms, this in turn illustrating the near perfect band sound. Violins, orchestra, classic soloing and all sorts is showcased on to the album in an exceptiional and a highly professional approach, which really does set the tone for the forthcoming tracks.

In between we have "Tanelorn" an impressive reminder of past material reminisent of "Somewhere far beyond" (and the like.) The chorus though is admittedly hit and miss, but overall the song impresses. "Ride into obsession" in particular is the standout number in the central eight shorter pieces. Equalling, anything of "Imaginations from the other side" what, with it's utterly power metal class tendancies. "A voice in the dark" also deserves a mention as a enjoyable creation that will prove to be another strong and probably popular mention of the album in future years. Keeping things short and sweet the remaining mid section of the band is typical back-in-time Blind guardian, well written and performed but not completely original.

"War of the thrones" should be seen as the weakest of the lot, Lacking the wow factor and failing to capture the rest of the album's spirit, which is really a shame becouse the rest of the album flows so well. I am not sure why this songs chorus irritates me so much but what what i can say is that the negatives more or less stop here. All i have for the rest of this album is high praise, high praise indeed for the album closer "Wheel of time" which again demonstates a level of talent which practically outclasses almost every other power metal band out there at the moment.

Being progressive at a lengthy 8 minute plus duration, the song is a fitting and pleasant end to a album that doesn't outstay it's welcome at all. "Wheel of time" is very epic in similar ways to "Nightfall on middle earth" was and it's just simply amazing. My opinion is then only very slightly confirmed to the belief that the ender is only just eclipsed by the brilliance of the first track, and yet again inventive and screaming solos grace "Wheel of time" on top of the the truely amazing guitar sound and in combination with Hansi's terrific vocals.

"Twist in the myth" was an utterly disapointing album. But fear not "At the edge of time" surpasses it by miles and in my humble opinion only misses out on classic status by one or two of the middle songs which don't quite cut the mustard. Fellow excellent band "Rhapsody of fire" have only just regained their former glory with their amazing new album; also out earlier this year. And i would say Blind guardian have also done themselves a similar amount of credit by this new return to form- and roots!.

The 2CD version is a generous value for money item, that includes many demos for the bands tracks that appeared on "At the edge of time" a bonus online card which unlocks some exciting unreleased studio tracks and a short but nice inclusion of the album making, a short studio interlude to provide a nice touch. This album is more than very good, it deserves to be five stars- albeit a weak five stars i.e 8.75/10. But it is highly recommended none-the-less. Both fans and newcomers need to hear this, your ears will be happy. Great, great power metal indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At last, something that nearly equals "Imaginations ..., 23 Aug. 2011
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
For me, Blind Guardian, have never been able to reach the successful heights of their 1995 release "Imaginations From The Other Side", a true masterpiece.
Their subsequent albums have always been acceptable, all containing 2 or 3 great tracks, but overall, fairly average.
(Some people may disagree about "Nightfall ...)
Orchestral movement starts, Gothic choirs accompany and then the storming guitar riffs and double bass drums of the opening track, you know that Blind Guardian are definitely back.
All tracks are thumping power metal, with the exception of Curse My Name and War Of The Throngs, where they move into their trademark medieval folk style, with Hansi Kursch, once again, showing that he is the vocal master in this genre.
All songs are strong and no fillers.
Favourite tracks are probably Road Of No Release and Valkyries.
They have come very close, on this occasion, of matching that timeless 1995 classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my fiancé for Christmas as he's a fan of the band and their last album especially. I personally don't like them that much, as it's not my sort of music. But regardless of this, I listened to the album with him (It's 2CDs, with both remastered versions and original recordings) and I was pleasantly surprised by both the lead singer's voice and the music. The music and the instrumentals within the songs are absolutely fantastic.
The album case is clever, it opens up into about 5 pieces, with two CDs, an a lyric booklet, which has fantastic album art throughout. If you're a Blind Guardian fan, it's a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back! Epic! Killer!, 28 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
A fantastic blend of the old style and the new improvements,
At The Edge Of Time album proves to be the best Blind Guardian
in the last 6 or more years!

Songs are fantastic lyrics are genius
and the music is unbelievable!

I give this product a strong 9+/10

Very happy with my Limited Edition -
great value of excellent quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very well made power metal masterpiece!, 28 July 2011
By 
R. Haynes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
I won't go into too much detail, put simply this is a must have for any power metal fan. Orchestras, rapid guitars and even the odd lute are found on this CD. This is definitely one of those albums that grows on you, at first I thought this album was great now I think it's one of the top power metal albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent! Get it!, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Duan Diederik Joubert (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Audio CD)
My only opinion worth anything is that if you like blind guardian, or metal, you won't regret getting this.

I've got all their albums since Nightfall in Middle Earth and this one is anything as good as the best of them, if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cd :D, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
Great CD, perfect for any Metal fan :D Very pleased with Price and delivery speed, I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't own it :D Definately worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ...., 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) (Audio CD)
This band deserve greater recognition in the UK. Another fantastic album: Sacred Worlds, Road Of No Release, Ride Into Obsession, Curse My Name, A Voice In The Dark,... Contrary to the previous reviewer I think that War Of The Thrones is a classic Blind Guardian song. This album gets better with every listen - I can't find a bad song on it. Absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi)
At The Edge Of Time (Ltd.Digi) by Blind Guardian (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews