Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persevere with this
I have had this CD for about 8 months and have been reserving judgment on it until now. None of the tunes are particularly catchy and for me at least it was not as easy to get to know as, say, Britten or Bartok. So my first impression was 'sounds beautiful but is the same all the way through and rather anodyne at that'.

But some features started to catch the...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by M. D. Holley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and Gold
Same theme all way through, very boring ok for background music, thought it would be better from what I have heard.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs K E Ruse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Persevere with this, 7 Aug 2011
By 
M. D. Holley (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
I have had this CD for about 8 months and have been reserving judgment on it until now. None of the tunes are particularly catchy and for me at least it was not as easy to get to know as, say, Britten or Bartok. So my first impression was 'sounds beautiful but is the same all the way through and rather anodyne at that'.

But some features started to catch the ear: Whitacre has a wonderful way of relishing scrunchy discords which don't quite sound like anyone else.

It is too much to digest in one go so I tried picking a single song and then listening to it over and over while closely following the text, and eventually my ears opened up. His way with setting the words is rather wonderful and part of the pleasure is the way he brings out the meaning. For example, try the way he sets 'opened' at the end of track 12.

After all this time I still haven't been able to make sense of all the tracks, but I do really love Lux Aurumque (1), A Boy and a Girl (8), Three Songs of Faith (10-12) and Sleep (16) and I am sure these are little masterpieces.

I note some reviewers dismiss this CD as light weight or sugary, but I can't really see that myself, with the possible exception of the Seal Lullaby (track 7). Maybe the initial impression of blandness (which I experienced too) was the cause.

After several months' exposure to the music I can see that the songs are actually quite varied and no longer all sound the same. Whitacre has a rather distinctive style which is quite new and original - this is probably why many of us don't 'get it' at first hearing.

But do persevere - you may be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burnished gold and blazing light, 18 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
Never has a choral recording been more appropriately titled than Eric Whitacre's new CD `Light and Gold'

It is a selection of pieces polished to burnished gold, with tonal and harmonic beauty. Look further within those tight harmonic lines, which almost sit in each others laps, and the intricacies of the works become apparent as well as the shining simplicity and deeply personal meaning behind these pieces.

The Eric Whitacre Singers make a highly polished debut, obviously bathed in this composer's music, supported on this recording by Laudibus and The King's Singers. The other star of the recording is the almost Cathedral-like acoustic of St Silas' Church, Kentish Town, London. The warmth and clarity of the recording and acoustic add to the awe of the pieces and provide Light to that burnished gold.

The pieces themselves are a veritable rainbow and I would encourage you to read the accompanying booklet before you listen, which put the pieces into context. Some booklets are simply marketing / promotional bumph, but not this one....

My particular favourites are `The Seal Lullaby', based on a Rudyard Kipling story, and `I thank you God for most this amazing day'

When listening to new choral music, as well as intricate highly professional pieces, I also seek pieces that offer repertoire to amateur choirs and the piece that I hope will be taken up by choirs across the UK is the beautiful Hebrew love song `Kala Kalla (Light Bride)'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but Polyphony is better, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
Eric Whitacre is truly great and original composer and this is fine introduction to his music. However I prefer the previous album of his music by Stephen Layton and Polyphony. The recorded sound is simply more natural and affecting.

However, as the albums only slightly overlap on repertoire, I would not hesitate to recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for contemplation., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
As previously commented - this is a delight to listen to - I love this man's work. This will calm your busy day. Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
I have only recently started listening to classical and choral music and this cd is a fantastic introduction. I was recommended this cd by a friend and can only pass this recommendation on. The music is magical and beautiful with a range of songs from lullabys to quite upbeat pieces. I love listening to this cd after a stressful day after work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light & Gold - Eric Whitacre, 18 Aug 2011
By 
N. Lacey (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
Light & Gold This music is extraordinarily beautiful and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the beauty of close harmonies which lift the listener to another plain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choral music can be a hit, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Ioannes Thyrsus (Regnum Hispaniae) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
People involved in choral music already knew that Whitacre is a splendid composer. This cd HAD to be good, and it really IS. Anyway we miss more new pieces. I have now 3 cds with Whitacre's music and 3 different versions of Lux Aurumque, Sleep ... If you have not any cd of this author yet, this Light and Gold will become a little treasure in your cd collection. If you were one of those not interested so far in choral music, make yourself a gift and get this cd and you will discover a wonderful universe. Remember these Mozart's words: If only Humankind could sense the power of harmony!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunningly Good Choral Album!, 19 Dec 2010
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
The music here is just sublime. Beautifully sung; sparse and spiritual, yet modern. This chills you, lifts, you, allows you to contemplate. I find this just hauntingly beautiful music and somewhat difficult to describe! Just buy it and listen for yourself. Highly recommended (and I want to hear more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical transformation, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
This CD is one of the rare ones... the selection of music and care and attention to detail render it in my ears as one of the best CDS I have heard. Both technically and musically it is a masterpiece. Transforming and heartfelt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful CD!, 16 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Light And Gold (Audio CD)
Just lovely music. Eric Whitacre's music has a way of making the hairs on the back of my neck tingle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light And Gold
Light And Gold by Eric Whitacre (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews