Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the basics
Nicely put together book - well written and clear.

Great for the complete newcomer to self defense as it breaks down things as basic but essential as throwing a punch/knee/headbutt. If you have a bit of prior training you might find some of the book a bit simple but its still good for refining technique and referencing.

The suggested fitness training...
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by Mr B

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
This book may be seen by some as a slow burner, as the actual 'Krav Maga' doesn't really come out until quite a way into the book - especially as Krav Maga is really sold on being such a quick to learn, easily remembered and in many ways simple fighting system to learn.
If you read it through a few times though, you do start to see things making a little more sense,...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by uavnorfolk&chance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 8 Nov 2011
This book may be seen by some as a slow burner, as the actual 'Krav Maga' doesn't really come out until quite a way into the book - especially as Krav Maga is really sold on being such a quick to learn, easily remembered and in many ways simple fighting system to learn.
If you read it through a few times though, you do start to see things making a little more sense, although I do think an over-emphasis on warming up and general exercise abounds.

Once the actual attacks & defences are revealed, it is a well written and clearly photographed guide book.

But if, like me, you don't want to wait until you're half way through a book to get to the actual subject matter, you might find that you read it a few times and don't really come back to it - beginner or not.
It's ok but doesn't blow you away.....
If they just cut out the warm-up's and exercise sections, as I don't think they are really that necessary, and covered more Krav Maga practices, I think it would be much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the basics, 2 Jan 2010
Nicely put together book - well written and clear.

Great for the complete newcomer to self defense as it breaks down things as basic but essential as throwing a punch/knee/headbutt. If you have a bit of prior training you might find some of the book a bit simple but its still good for refining technique and referencing.

The suggested fitness training section is nice and theres some history of Krav, legal implications and a section aimed at women too.

At this price you can't go wrong - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Krav Maga, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and well presented book for anyone interested in martial arts. For anyone intending to take up the art or just adopt some of the training for self defense purposes working on your own, it has excellent coverage and good pictorial
photographic coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As i'm already doing Krav Maga self defence classes, i thought i would take a look at this book, it's a good book very inofrmative, well laid out, a must for anyone intrested in Krav Maga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 5 Oct 2009
By 
a very good book. Full of easy to learn techniques for krav maga. i train in krav maga and this book helped alot. A good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for simple self defence a must read, 10 Oct 2009
By 
D. I. Humphreys "darren" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
simple well ilusrated and writen book full of good simple techneques
to improve your self defence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for starting out, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
covers lots of exercises and drills with plenty of tips a defo buy can be found bargain prices second hand:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The The bodyguards, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Krav Maga for Beginners: A Step-by-Step Guide to the World's Easiest-to-Learn, Most-Effective Fitness and Fighting Program (Kindle Edition)
Would recommend all these books , If you're going to bodyguard. So this is what you want ?get these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 May 2010
Good book, giving you a broad understanding of this combat system, with decent enough pictures.

One thing I noticed, having done some Krav Maga, is it doesnt even mention 'scanning' (checking your surroundings) which was pretty much the first thing I learnt about Krav Maga, and I would think pretty fundamental to self defense.

All in all, good stuff written by a top authority, this would compliment your lessons. I find it useful after the class to follow up reading the techniques again from the book, although you can see minor differences in the techniques taught in the UK and the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the absolute beginner, 13 April 2010
By 
J. Jürs "Henrik Jürs" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very sound and well layed out book - explaining all the basics in Krav Maga.
I have never studieed KM - but have expeirince with other fighting styles (matial arts which KM claims not to be!) - and I was bit disapointed - as a lot of the presented techniques was very similar to those found in other styles.
KM, Karate and Muay Thai all does the roundhouse kick or the front kick a bit different - but still - they are just that - roundhouse kicks and front kicks.
My point is that if I had know that this book was so basic - I would have skipped it and gone straight to the next in the series.
For absolute beginners - this is a good book. If you have some fighting expierience - go for the more advanced stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews