Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar at his best!
I'm an engineer by trade, and I've been a fan since the 60's.
if you remember the 'Tangs' from then you may not appreciate this album from the first listen.
Edgar (Froese) says he got tired of today's stuff so got the old instruments out of the cupboard and put this album together.
Absolutely brilliant!
This is the old Tangerine Dream with a modern...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by puppet52

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring
Is Tangerine Dream dead? On the evidence of this then they just as well be; there have been very few decent albums this decade and this pointless compilation provides ample evidence why - it's just Tangerine Dream just going through the motions. There are no stand out tracks they all merge into one continuous lumpen mass of uninspired sequencers with barely a change in...
Published on 24 Feb 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar at his best!, 9 Feb 2010
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
I'm an engineer by trade, and I've been a fan since the 60's.
if you remember the 'Tangs' from then you may not appreciate this album from the first listen.
Edgar (Froese) says he got tired of today's stuff so got the old instruments out of the cupboard and put this album together.
Absolutely brilliant!
This is the old Tangerine Dream with a modern melody and rythm but with the unmistakable 'Tangs' baseline, beat and melody
most of us 'oldies' remember them for.
Buy this album, sit back without any interruptions and enjoy this very fine work, you will not be disappointed.
Booster is brilliant in it's entirety, it has the old trademark of the Tangs mixed in with the modern stuff!
The Man has produced a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring, 24 Feb 2009
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
Is Tangerine Dream dead? On the evidence of this then they just as well be; there have been very few decent albums this decade and this pointless compilation provides ample evidence why - it's just Tangerine Dream just going through the motions. There are no stand out tracks they all merge into one continuous lumpen mass of uninspired sequencers with barely a change in tempo to distinguish them. It's shame as there are hints of the trademark Tangerine Dream sound but it lacks the creative spark, there is no polish and at times it feels like something knocked up in a bedroom studio, something even Joe Public could create armed with a PC, some music software and an arpeggiator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album..., 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
If you like TD then you'll like this... what more can I say. I have been following them for nearly 30 years so have quite a lot of their stuff and it's as good as ever..they are not too shabby live either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't give me a boost, sorry., 10 Sep 2014
By 
Philip Laskey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booster (MP3 Download)
Oh dear. After one passable track Edgar and company then start to churn out some very bland and forgettable software composed music, including what are apparently attempts to remix some of their classics. Maybe I'm being too harsh, but it's really put me off listening to any more of their new stuff, and this is from a long standing fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mixed bag of styles, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
mixed bag of styles. the type of tracks are different and consequently won't appeal to everyone except crank fans of TD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good TD, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. Cross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
Some good digital tracks here from Mr Froese and co. As usual nice clear recordings with dynamic digital and orchestral tracks. If you are into TD or electronic music it's a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll never hear electronic music again, 10 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
Tangerine Dream, a band lost in time, then found by a small audience, gradually increasing their listening base to appeal to the mainstream, and then finally becoming a dated remnant of the drum machine 80's era.
They have gone back to recapture some of the "sounds" of their past. By "sounds" I mean exactly that. They have re-created some their original sounds that were used on earlier recordings and included these vintage sounds on some of these new recordings.
PLEASE GUYS, GET RID OF THE STUPID DRUM MACHINE!!!!!!! QUIT RUINING YOUR MUSIC!!!!!
Sorry about that, but you purists know what i'm talking about here. Edgar, you too, you know what i'm talking about buddy. There's just no way to really do it without the analogue modular equipment from the 70's and 80's. Thats where you need to start Edgar. You have to get that equipment back at all costs or else you will never be able to get your sound back. If I want to play rockabilly music, I can't do it with a digital amp and a see-through plastic guitar, I have to get the real stuff. I have to go out and find an old Gibson hollow body and an old tube amp. Yeah it costs money, but thats the only way.
The modular systems with the analogue sequencers and arpeggiators define the sound that Tangerine Dream created in the 70's and early 80's (and late 60's).
Thousands and thousands of pounds of gear, that nobody wants to carry around anymore or deal with. A complex system of wiring voltage controlled oscillators and sequencing notes in a way so unique that Tangerine Dream invented a style of music by using these systems. A beautiful unique sound that can only be achieved with such equipment. IT CAN'T BE FAKED EDGAR!!!! WE KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MODULAR AND DIGITAL!!! DIGITAL=FAKE, MODULAR=AUTHENTICITY.
Stop fooling people, and find your modular systems, they are out there, they can be rebuilt.
I have to say that some of the sounds on this release sound legit to an extent. That is to say, I don't believe they are using a modular setup but they have found some old analogue synths, like the Oberheim Matrix 12 and some sort of old ARP thing. Trust me, I can tell the difference between an ARP 2600 computer plug-in and the real thing, its not that hard.
It sounds like a start towards something better, but in reality I believe that one day in the not too distant future another band will appear out of the blue, a younger band that mysteriously finds Hyperborea hidden beneath the surface of the melting seas of Antartica, still sealed in shrinkwrap, and playable on an antique Techniques turntable, powered by -----. And they will call themselves "White Eagle", not knowing exactly why but liking the name nonetheless, and they will take stage names as their obsessions with the ancient forefathers of modern music haunt their 50th century invisible optic high school brainwave education. "Phaedra", "Rubyicon", and "Atem" have searched the barren wasteland for tools to create the modules they so desire and need to fulfill the void that has existed for thousands of years. What was once a dry burnt brown desert will now become a beautiful Green Desert once again, and modular analogue music will drift through the Stratosphere and Ricochet like a Cyclone through Alpha Centauri and as the analogue waves are heard through the optics, a standing ovation is seen and heard, and the band takes the stage once again for their final Encore.
Thank you and goodnight to all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 7 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Booster (Audio CD)
As the review title says what I ordered, is what I got & it came when it was stated as coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Booster
Booster by Tangerine Dream
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews