Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2010
How long have we had to wait for this?

This is the first of the nine series of T. Bag to be released, and hopefully we will have the lot eventually.

In this series, a young girl (Debbie - Jennie Stallwood) happens upon an old curiosity shop on her way home from school. There, she finds an antique board game which draws her into a land where people cannot read because the evil enchantress, T. Bag (Elizabeth Estensen - Emmerdale's Diane Sugden), and her young and mischievous sidekick, T. Shirt (John Hasler), have stolen the magical golden letters that complete an ancient legend inscribed on the chest in the first square. It is up to Debbie to retrieve the letters and complete the legend to reveal the mysteries of the chest, but T. Bag is never far behind.

This series is fondly remembered by many people, and it is wonderful that it is being brought out on DVD at last so that it can be shared with another generation. The story is vibrant and witty, and there are some hilarious moments in it, usually delivered by T. Bag and T. Shirt. As with all the T. Bag series, you end up rooting for the bad guys!

Beautifully written by Lee Pressman and Grant Cathro, who also wrote "Spatz", "Mike and Angelo" and "The Tomorrow People", the T. Bag adventures have rightly earned their place in cult children's television history.
55 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
Finally this absolutely brilliant show arrives on dvd after years of on line petitions. It ran for nearly 10 years and starred elizabeth estensen as t bag, a witch who would battle with a young heroine to collect magical items that would allow her to rule the world! Aided by her side kick t shirt, t bag would get in to various scrapes in many mystical lands.

This dvd contains the complete first series and christmas special. I am now off to pre order!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
As if by magic, the first series of T.Bag dating back to 1985 is finally avaliable on DVD.

This is the first of the 'Debbie Years' as a young girl called Debbie (Jennie Stallwood) would be the main protagonist for the first 3 series. In this series it's her job to find letters all over Letterland and prevent the wicked T.Bag (Elizabeth Estensen) and her side kick T-Shirt (John Hasler) from making sure no one in Letterland will be able to read.

All 10 episodes are present on this single DVD and the quality is very good, despite being made in 1985. If you feel like a trip down memory lane to one of the most beloved kids shows from Children's ITV back in the day, you won't be dissapointed with this DVD release.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Ah, when I saw this on my recommendation list I had to look twice. T-Bag was one of my favourite shows growing up (though I am the only child in the family who even remembers it!).

The first series followed Debbie as she collected different letters to fill in a worded puzzle. I just love the alliteration used in this series - it was very memorable. And T-Shirt - he was possibly the first boy I ever had a crush on - he was so adorable!

Well worth the money as they certainly don't make TV shows like this anymore!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
When I saw T-Bag available on DVD I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. I ADORED this Series as a Child in the 1980's and watched it everyweek without letup.

That's when Children's Television was at it's Peak. T-Bag,Deborah and T-shirt bought the Show ALIVE each week.

Each episode kept the audience glued to their Television Sets and you are transported to the Four corners of the Globe searching for Letters and solving puzzles.

Jim Norton is in EVERY Episode of this Series and he is FANTASTIC.

If like me you MISS the 1980's and your Childhood purchase this NOSTALGIC Trip down Memory Lane.

This is when Children's Television was at it's BEST. This Series is DEARLY MISSED. But I am THRILLED Revelation has RELEASED it NOW on DVD for a NEW Generation to ENJOY.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
T-Bag is a classic from Thames TV it is finally on DVD every series follow the same sort of story T-Shirt and a friend are whisked into a world created from something in a little shop where everything starts.

In this series the young has to find a number of letters to open a chest but T-Bag tries everything to stop her with her young T-Shirt making countless cups of Tea with the magical tea plant.

This series comes from the time when children's TV enjoyed a boom many classic and cult show were created a broadcast after school.

T-Bag worked her magic but T-Shirt always helped his friend out in the end and they deafeat the evil T-Bag there are about six series in all and most are coming this year and can be per-ordered now via Amazon.

Start collecting T-Bag and enjoy another great 80's show.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
I dont really understand this - but then, it is designed for children - and they love it.

A girl journeys through land of letters learning about the alphabet and words beginning with each letter.

The children are captivated and its relaxed, calm delivery means it is just right before bedtime.

Made in a time before dumbed down "cool" street talk and wobbly cameras infested children's tv.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Finally after years of petitions by fans around the world this hilarious tv series is finally on DVD.

I only hope all the series will be released as my favorite episodes are with the second T-Bag who was played by the brilliantly over the top star Georgina Hale.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Bought this dvd just in time for Christmas for my 9 and 5 year old daughters as I remember watching this series as a child. So glad I did, they absolutely loved it. In fact, my eldest daughter has begged me to keep the dvd so that she can let her children watch it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
T-Bag is an excellent adventure series, where for once you end up willing the baddy to win! Elizabeth Estenson (now Diane in Emmerdale) is hilarious as the hap hazard witch T-Bag. The comedy between herself and T-Shirt (a very young John Hasler) will have you in hysterics! The fun gets even better as the series progresses.

This first series did have a more educational feel to it and I think the writers found their feet more in series 2 T-Bag Strikes Again (you could tell the budget to make the show had increased) and the escapades of T-bag got more hilarious! (including her many 'disguises' lol)

I'm so happy that Revelation Films have decided to release T-Bag on DVD. I can't wait to see all 10 of the episodes in DVD quality! At the current price, it's definately worth picking up if your feeling nostalgic toward those days of coming home from school and sitting in front of the TV!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.