Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Temptation
Sweet Temptation is about three women: Maddie, Jess and Lauren, all of whom are struggling with their weight as well as difficulties in their everyday lifes; from their jobs to their relationships with their partners and work collegues. Although the three of them don't know each other they are brought together by one thing - their desire to lose weight, so they all join a...
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Amy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Body positive? Not after reading this!
This book was about three "fatties" whose lives only improved once they started to lose weight.

According to the author, shedding the pounds is the answer to the perfect relationship, finding new love, promotion, confidence and even your own business! Gosh, for all the slim women out there who are unemployed or single, I wonder how YOU will achieve this...
Published 7 months ago by Princess Darkel


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic!!, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
I must say i was expecting a book that droned on about eating the wrong foods and weight loss after reading the review but what i discovered after a few pages was a fantastic book about 3 womens very different lives which i could not put down and couldn't wait to go back to the next day!!!
I would recommend this book to anyone......brilliantly written and I will be reading the authors other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Temptation ... to keep reading, 15 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, downloaded it onto my Kindle and found it hard to put down. Subsequently I ended up reading it in lunch breaks, in bed at night and - gasp - even in the bath.

Some of the issues really touched me and the story was well paced, with the three main characters being likeable, with warm chatty voices (even the one who is pretty inflexible at first). It was like being down the pub with your friends, having a gossip.

This is the first Lucy Diamond book I've read and I will definitely buy another.

A great read with plenty of light moments, although I did shed a tear at the end. I won't ruin the surprise ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious- a perfect holiday read, 13 Aug 2011
By 
E. WOOLSTON (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
Light as a meringue, very satisfying and totally readable, this really is one for the girls (and the older girls too!). Plenty of chuckles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read !, 13 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
This story really pleased me....the story line was well put together about three ladies who originally met through having weight issues, but their coming together was much more than that....in fact....the whole story, which was easy to read, was a delightful. I hadn't experienced any of Lucy's other works, but this has certainly inspired me to read more. This is nice easy reading for any lady either at home or on holiday. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regular Fat Buster..., 4 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
We have all been there... Struggling to keep the pounds off, thinking salad belongs with the rabbits and thinking that eating a picnic bar substitute's one of your 5 a day. This book follows the lives of 3 women all struggling with their weight and deciding to join 'Fat Busters' to shift the pounds.

Maggie works in radio under a beautiful yet horrible boss called Colette who embarrasses Maggie by sending her to 'Fat Busters' as a part of her 'Making Birmingham Beautiful Campaign'. This coupled with an embarrassing mothers race at her kids sports day she decides it is probably time she tried to shift the pounds.

Jess is a beautician who works for a horrible boss who insists she doesn't fit into the parlous 'image' coupled with her controlling boyfriend who talks down constantly even postponing her wedding until she shifts the pounds. She is on a mission to get into a size 10 wedding dress to avoid the wedding being postponed yet again so off to 'Fat Busters' she goes.

Lauren owns a dating website yet after the breakup of her marriage she is starting to feel under qualified to give people advice on love. Without the comforts of marriage takeaways (plus a cat) have become her new best friend so she is joining 'Fat Busters' for a bit of self confidence and to shift those pounds.

Surprisingly, this book actually gave me motivation to go on a diet and even to venture to the gym. You can relate to all three of the girls throughout the book and I am assuming that Lucy has had some experience in the weight loss field as she describes the struggles and relapses perfectly. It was joys to see each of the woman's self confidence grow throughout the book. Not only does the book show the struggles of losing weight and keeping it off but it also goes deeper into the lives of the three women such as Maggie's marriage, jess's boyfriend troubles and Lauren's failing business. All three girls come together at 'Fat Busters' and actually manage to become great friends with the ability to help each other out along the way. Lucy Diamond creates amazing female characters, all strong women who are not afraid to show their soft side it is a truly inspirational read and does make you think about your own health and happiness throughout. I would recommend this book to anyone, regardless if they want to lose weight or not as it is a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!!, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
The first book i bought on my Kindle! And sooo good! Really heartwarming and at times sad, but always a fantastic read!
Really makes you look at your own friends and appreciate what you have in your own life!.
Def buy this book its brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !!, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
I read this book on holiday in just over a day, easy to read and well written.

The three main characters all face different issues, however they are brought together through 'fatbusters' and their desire to loose weight. Each chapter is written from the perspective of one of the three women, enabling the reader to get to know them and thier journeys individually as well as their freindships to each other. It is both amusing and sad, so will have you laughing and crying in equal measures. I can personnally identify with a lot of the issues, as I am a member of a 'fatbusters' group, however you don't need to, to enjoy this book.
I will be looking out for more titles by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Paperback)
This book is a really good summer read, I enjoyed getting to know the characters and I found myself laughing out loud as well! First time reading one of her books, chapters are easy to follow and is great seeing how all the chapters interlock nearer the end. Looking to read more of Lucy Diamond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain fab!, 15 July 2011
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Kindle Edition)
This book made me laugh and made me cry. It's not the kind of story to make you think too much but you'll fall in love with the chracters wishing they were friends of yours! Just a pure easy read. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally engrossing!, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Sweet Temptation (Paperback)
I've just finished this book in less than a day - fair enough, I was poorly-sick and in bed so didn't really have to do anything else, but I don't think I'd have been able to put it down even if I'd been fighting fit!
It's an interwoven tale of three women living in Birmingham, who come together through circumstance and forge a friendship and support group that helps them all transcend the problems they face - which are not simply weight-related. It's very uplifting, but in no way facile - there are real tragedies in this story as well as eventual and hard-won triumphs. All three women are extremely relatable and well delineated, you're privvy to their inner thoughts and insecurities, and their relationships with the people around them are convincing and detailed.
I think the author has tapped into something very important - the way women's feelings of self-worth get mixed up with everything else in their lives - including weight and body image. All three protagonists are at an impasse - for a variety of reasons - and each of them needs help to move ahead. They get there in the end, and the insights the author provides through her characters are thought-provoking and optimistic in equal measure. A really lovely, warm, thoughtful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Temptation
Sweet Temptation by Lucy Diamond
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews