Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 29 July 2011
All I can say on this is just read it. One of the best fantasy books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell at his finest, 9 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since reading David Gemmell's 'Troy' series of books I have been hooked on Gemmell as an author. I have since begun to read all of his books and the Drenai books are simply wonderful reads.

I was originally unsure about whether to read the Drenai books as I've never been a huge fan of heroic fantasy - however given just how much I enjoyed the Troy books and the wonderful writing style of David Genmmell I decided to try them. I am so pleased that I did and I have now read nearly all of Gemmell's books and urge anyone considering the books to do it, you will not be disappointed.

All of the books are great and can be read as stand alone books or in order. The characters are wonderfully bought to life, there's love, romance, humour, twists & turns, betrayal, revenge, heroes, villains, sorcery, savagery, battles, noble deeds and you will simply fall into the world the Gemmell creates for you. These books deserve to be read and its a an absolute tragedy that Gemmell is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fills in the blanks, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Kev "Writer, geek, dad." (Alton, Hamshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Having gone forwards and backwards in time relative to the events in Legend over previous Drenai novels, Gemmell is here filling in, effectively, the back story to that novel. We discover Druss's ironic role in the creation of Ulric, lord of the Nadir, who Druss goes on to oppose in Legend.
The story's good although perhaps just lacking the urgency of some of his other novels and much though I like Druss, he's perhaps not quite such an interesting character as the more multi-faceted Waylander or Skilgannon.
Overall, another cracker from Gemmell, sure to delight those who've read the previous Drenai novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Druss! Hail Druss! Hail Druss!, 8 Dec 1999
By A Customer
You'll never find a more complete hero in mythical fantasy than Druss the Legend! The great thing about this character is that while everyone can recognise elements of his- or herself in the axe-wielding myrmidon, he is none-the-less a god-like entity on a par with the classic greats like Heracles, Jason and Aragorn. Reading of Druss's exploits makes us all believe that we too can achieve miracles in this testing world of ours. David Gemmell is undoubtedly one of the great living writers of heroic fantasy. This work is a must-read for anyone who enjoyed Legend, and successfully further develops the Druss character. YOU WILL NOT REGRET READING THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As ever., 30 May 2014
By 
smogloyna (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
As ever, David Gemmel adds to the Canon of Druss of the Axe. This kindle edition replaces a very worn paperback, that has travelled to many destinations and been dropped into many baths. It is still as fresh as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a good read, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
If ever there was a rival to LOTR this book sums it up but better. It's more in depth of character for the heroes who portray in the entire series and just love reading this over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic novel from the master of heroic fantasy, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
This could be the third time I have brought this book. As with all David Gemmell stories this is an epic tale of violence, sorcery and over coming impossible odds that will have far reaching consequences. Elegantly told, inspiring characters, engaging battle scenes... You know when you've been Gemmelled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deathwalker, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
A great story, but it is more than that which holds your attention.
The characters in this novel are so well drawn that you come to care. about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell at his best, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
The world lost a great author when tis man passed I love his work and will reread his novels over and over again
this is not one of his best but still 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Kindle Edition)
Second read through after 10 years and still an epic. It leaves you wanting more. See you in 10 Druss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend Of Deathwalker
The Legend Of Deathwalker by David Gemmell
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews