Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "grower", what a relief.
Buying a new album from a favourite band is always a stressful process.

I purchased the album blind (or is it deaf) on the day of release and was initially disappointed as the new offering was neither a Funeral II or an appendix to the Neon Bible. Thankfully, as is often the case, a difficult initial listen normally signals future potential and the album is...
Published on 4 Sept. 2010 by Black_Rod

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars oh how depressing
one day i will burn this in the back garden but i can't get round to it
Published 26 days ago by MR H D DAVIES


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet, 8 Sept. 2010
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Don't expect another "Funeral" or "Neon Bible". The old songs, full of all of their wonderful bombast, now seem long ago, replaced by a darker, more considered sound. You won't find a "No Cars Go", a "Power Out", or a "Rebellion (Lies)" here, but what you will find is a simply stunning hour-long sprawl of music.

Some people have commented that this album is overlong but I disagree. As much as I liked "Funeral" and loved "Neon Bible" both had a few tracks I tended to skip (the likes of "Haiti" and a few others on the former, the title track on the latter) but after several listens of this new album I've yet to feel the urge to reach for the remote control, apart from to increase the volume. The 16 tracks are mostly quite short, the longest being just over five minutes, and the whole album is 64 minutes long. For me the length is perfect, especially as all the tracks are so strong.

What of the songs? "The Suburbs" is in some ways a concept album, some of the tracks running into others, themes being repeated, and an opening track reprised at the end in a much shortened form. The album takes a little time to work its magic but by the end of my first listen I really wanted to hear it again, immediately. No tracks could be described as being "traditional" Arcade Fire songs, where the whole band are going hell for leather on their instruments, the only ones coming close being "Month Of May", "Ready To Start" and "Empty Room". The remaining tracks are much more thoughtful, the overwhelming mood being one of reflection rather than the usual chaotic, joyous din. There are also a few more electronic tracks, particularly the euphoric "Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" and "Half Light II (No Celebration)". Each time I've listened to the album I've always had the urge to hit the play button again, and usually succumb to this.

This is one of the most cohesive albums I've ever heard, sounding almost like a musical or a soundtrack rather than a collection of songs. Without doubt the best album I've heard all year, and definitely Arcade Fire's best so far. Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designed to sit on your turntable!, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suburbs [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is amazing, a grower I learned to love.
I am one of those who played a hundred times the first album Funeral and that is always disappointed when first listening a new Arcade Fire, like expecting the same perfection.
But, giving it time, I learned to like very much Neon Bible and learned to love The Suburbs just as well.
This is definitly a stronger album than Neon Bible in my opinion!
Now I bought it on vinyl and it is important to say that it has been mixed for vinyl, because many band use the same mix for Cd and vinyl version and that, you can hear!
It feels like a analog flawless experience! It feels like you get what you pay for when you strech the bucks to have the vinyl version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suburbs = artistic genius, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had previously heard this album before I purchased it, but i was un-aware of the intelligence this amazing LP contained. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a love for music and for a great price all the bonus features are worth it, it comes with a limited edition cover, an Arcade Fire postcard and pictures of the film created with lyrics from the album.

The actual album is an epic soundtrack to an amazing story that unfolds with the epic, artistic and abstract short film. This is what i look for when trying to add beautiful sounds to my music collective.

I feel proud to own this stunning album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arcade Fire - The Suburbs, 12 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
So on paper, perhaps the idea of a kind of four part concept album about the suburbs would take some selling. But this actually works very well. Apparently inspired by a homecoming trip Win & Will Butler made back to The Woodlands, their childhood 'planned community' home, it deals with the hopes, fears & feelings of young people trapped in this environment & their (semi!) detached views on life now. I can relate to this as I'm sure most non city dwelling youths can. The songs hang together well often blending from one to another creating the seemless, movement type feel to the whole piece. The bands energy - phenomenal live - comes over here too & the songs are well written even adventuring off into weird time signatures. My only minor critism as on Neon Bible are the songs fronted by Régine Chassagne. For my taste her voice is not yet strong enough to carry a song, but that has noticably improved. This band moves on & so far has not delivered anything 'samey', which can only be a good thing right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arcade Fire, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Hennessey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suburbs (MP3 Download)
Absolutely superb collection of great music, very enchanting and enthralling. My first real exposure to them and now to go for their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, passionate, well crafted...Most loved music purchase of 2010!, 14 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
'The Suburbs' is the first album I have listened to from indie outfit 'Arcade Fire' originating from Montreal, Canada and it certainly won't be the last. It took a few listens but it is an inspiring album, containing lyrics which are deep, passionate and captivating. The song meanings can be interpreted in a number of ways, on either a personal or political level. Standout tracks? To select only a couple of songs would not do this album the justice it fully deserves.

The album kicks off with 'The Suburbs' and possibly relates to time moving on, perhaps in relation to the growth and path of life, a serious relationship which has moved up a level, a man's desire to have children before it's too late...yet the song could also reflect the growth and development of the band since in 2001.

'Ready to Start' is a strong and powerful track, and the lyrics could portray a break-up being overcome after going through the motions, and how he feels he does not need that person anymore and has the strength to be alone and start again.

'We Used to Wait' is hauntingly beautiful, you can feel the passion and desperation in the vocals.
This album goes from strength to strength and you will soon be reaching for the 'repeat' button.

If you love indie rock music and are interested in songs with meaningful lyrics with depth and intensity then buy this well-crafted album. Arcade Fire is definitely a band worth investigating, especially if you have not already done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I have ever bought!, 26 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
This album is just phenomenal, maybe even better than that. I bought this the day it came out and I don't think I have gone a day without listening to a good 4-5 tracks off it. I'm trying to think of highlights from this album but to be truthful, the whole album is composed of fantastic songs. My personal favourites are The Suburbs, Ready To Start, Surburban War, Month Of May, We Used To Wait and the brilliant Empty Room. I went to see these guys for the first time in Cardiff and it was the best gig I've been to (even beating Springsteen). They are the ultimate band in my opinion; their live shows are unbelievable and their records are incredible. As you may have noticed, this album has picked up Best Album of the Year from a great number of Magazines and Reviewers and it doesn't surprise me at all. Forget Album of the Year though, this is Album of the Decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arcade Fire - The Growing Band, 9 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
On first few listens, it is typical arcade fire really - not too bad, catchy in places but kinda gets lost out of your head. It has the occasional high point where you listen to the standout tracks more than the 'fillers' but you feel a bit letdown.

However, like previous albums the melodies and singing style of the songs starts to play on your mind and entices you to randomly start singing these for no reason whatsoever when not listening - which futhermore makes you pay particular attention to random tracks on the album over and over!!

It now, after 5-20 listens....has you sucked in!! The lesser tracks you thought were average have now over-riden the catchier ones!! Arcade Fire, the clever musicians have done it again.
They are the complete opposite of modern music today..Where most tracks are catchy at first but very boring after a few listens.

The best tracks in my opinion are The Suburbs, Ready To start, Surburban Way, We used to Wait and Sprawl II.

The standout track though is Modern Man....average on first few listens but seriously addictive after multiple listens.

Great band....original who stick to their ideologies....Keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show by them, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Arcade Fire came to my attention after watching their live performance at Glasto 2014 on the beeb. Fantastic show by them. So I set about buying their studio albums and the first one was their most recent, Reflektor that I really do like. That was followed by Funeral, also very good and now this one. It takes a bit of listening to. One of those albums that gradually grow on you. Will sometime go for the bands other albums and see how I get on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and sprawling record, 13 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Suburbs [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Arcade Fire's third album is a little different to their previous two. On first listen, it appears that the crescendos and walls of sound we've come to expect have mostly been faded out to be replaced by more space and an unhurried saunter through the places the Butler's grew up in. None of this is bad; the band as tight and melodies as gorgeous as ever.

Two tracks highlight the band's fondness for new sounds. The first, Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) goes into electro territory, Regine's vocals perfectly complimenting the mirrorball soundtrack. The second, Month Of May takes things in the direction of straight ahead punk rock but is no less stirring than when the church organs are ramped up to 11. These are sounds I hope we will be hearing more of in the future. For now though, this is a very modern blend of folk rock and synth pop which should open the door to wider popularity.

Best of the homely gems for my money is City With No Children. It quickly achieves lift-off the same way as Rebellion or No Cars Go do on previous albums. And then back down to earth... but never for long. It's this pattern of peaks and troughs that run throughout the album; a collection of stunningly played songs put together with some thought. One reason to press an album on to plastic, and then play it from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Suburbs
The Suburbs by Arcade Fire (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews