Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game
This is an intensive Role-playing/action game with a terrific storyline, lots of weapons and mods, and it has that dark "future" mood which intensifies the gameplay and really makes the player belive that the world is goverend by multinational coorporate powers that is filled with corruption. You have a lot of choices and can play the game exactly the way you want, you...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by Kasper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncompelling gameplay
Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a first-person RPG Adventure with stealth and shooter gameplay. Set in a dystopian futuristic metropolis environment, it is satisfyingly atmospheric with a dark, complex story and a typically husky-voiced brooding protagonist. It has all the ingredients of a top game, however I found it uncompelling and annoying. I wanted to like it but ... it...
Published 20 months ago by Black Glove


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncompelling gameplay, 22 Nov 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a first-person RPG Adventure with stealth and shooter gameplay. Set in a dystopian futuristic metropolis environment, it is satisfyingly atmospheric with a dark, complex story and a typically husky-voiced brooding protagonist. It has all the ingredients of a top game, however I found it uncompelling and annoying. I wanted to like it but ... it was one of those. The hacking feature quickly gets tedious. The stealth/shooter gameplay falls between two stools, neither excelling. The game-world looks great yet ultimately feels shallow and contrived. It may be a well-constructed and ambitious game with a lot going for it, but for me it just didn't hit the levels of entertainment required to make it anything other than average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to your dystopian future, 11 May 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I guess that this game has only attracted a handful of reviews is indicative of its lack of universal appeal; which is a shame as Deus Ex really is a cracking game.

For those that haven't played the previous Deus Ex incarnations will be transported to less-than-shiny future where shadowy global corporations dominate a la Bladerunner. Humans have developed the technology to augment themselves so as to cheat natural evolution. Broadly speaking there are two groups; those that want to push augmentation of humans and those that wish humans to remain 'pure'.

Our man finds himself within an equally shadowy plot by a yet unknown groups whose motives are unclear.

In terms of gameplay, due to the in-game realism, it encourages a more stealth approach rather than run-and-gun as you will get punished for cavalier CoD shenanigans; which is actually great as it forces the player to analyse each encounter before charging in. Can I take out 'x' before 'y' discovers me? Believe me, your heart will be in your mouth waiting for the non-lethal knockout animation to finish before you can drag the body away, praying that his buddy doesn't notice and fill you with more holes than a colander.

The augmentation system is equally great; as there's not enough experience in the game to obtain every perk you must choose wisely young padawan...

The main missions and side missions are all enjoyable, plus the weapon mod system also adds another dimension. The only slight drawback is that the end of level bosses (except for the first dude) are all easily beatable, especially the end of game boss. But saying that, it's the main game where its strengths lay, so this isn't a massive criticism.

I find a good measure of how good or bad a game is its level of replayability. I managed to crack Deus Ex on all difficulties over three playthroughs and didn't get bored at all.

In short, not one for the out-and-out shooter fans but definitely one for someone into their stealth/sci-fi/cerebral type gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, I wanted to get this game for a while, amazone are good at providing all the ne and old xbox titles, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Quick delivery, I wanted to get this game for a while, amazone are good at providing all the ne and old xbox titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
good game, takes a minute to get into it, but gets very addicting and really fun game, loads of customization for stealth or guns blazing. Lots of fun! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Allan Fairbairn "qualla3stfiqui" (highlands,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"Tenho duas armas para lutar contra o desespero, a tristeza e até a morte: o riso a cavalo e o galope do sonho É com isso que enfrento essa dura e fascinante tarefa de viver."
"i have two weapons to strive againstdespair,sadness, and even death:
mounted laughter, and the gallop of dream, with these i face this hard and fscinating task of living"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
its a good game with good graphics but its just not a game for me. good story but seen better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is an intelligent FPS that gives you the option of deciding how to approach and resolve a situation, stealth or all out war, you decide. Combine a few problems to solve and you've got yourself a few weeks in a world you wont want to leave (unless you get tired of killing bad guys..and girls)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Gear Solid meets Mass Effect meets Goldeneye, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
No where near finishing the game yet, but after 10 hours plus playtime I have a good feel for it. I would recommend it already. In fact, I would have recommended it after the first mission.

Stealth is the name of the game, and fans of metal gear solid will love it. It employs a similar guard alert system, and body hiding mechanic. The third person cover system works really well, and in the first person mode, the game is often reminiscent of Goldeneye, especially in factory and office environments. There are plenty of secret tunnels to exploit if you dont want to stand off against the enemy. And as your character cant take much of a beating to begin with, these come in handy.

What I really like is that there is never anyone telling you what to do. Although you have a main objective, and the individual missions are fairly linear, the environments are big enough that you can choose how to approach them, usually from one of multiple routes(front door, roof, sewers, etc). And there is never a voice telling you to press a certain button or go down a particular corridor like there is in a lot of games. You really feel like you're in control of the mission.

The dystopian sci-fi setting works really well, with plenty of sub plot missions to tackle if you fancy it. the 'hub worlds' in between missions are massive. whole cities to explore really immerse you in the world the developers have created. Again, with multiple ways to traverse each one. The conversation system is similar to mass effect in that you choose what to say and can be good or bad etc. It's great to be able to behave however you see fit. The RPG elements work really well. Managing your inventory, upgrades, emails and mission objectives is straightforward. Do I keep the machine gun or chuck it and get the rocket launcher. Without much space in your inventory, this is a big decision. The cybernetic upgrades system works in a similar way. Depending on how you want to approach a mission, a lot of the time you'll be torn between which upgrade to buy.

My only negative so far would be the load times. If you die it can take about 30-40 seconds to reload, presumably because the environments are so large. But don't be put off by that. I'm sure an install to the 360 HDD would reduce the load times, but as of yet I haven't tried. It isn't fun during boss fights, but you soon forget about it once you've moved on. And personally, having to wait ages to play again after dying is more of an incentive not to. And to play the game like a true secret agent.

Final point, the voice acting and the soundtrack are really good too, but the protagonists voice really sells it for me. His rasp is borderline cheesy, but makes you feel like you're playing as a real hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem, 7 July 2013
By 
Kevin Allen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not just a mindless shooter game, really need to think about how to avoid detection. Similar game play to Mass effect but you don't have two idiots following you around. I am not a big gamer, but really enjoyed this game, one of the very few games I would go back and play again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games I've played, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Love games like this.
Comparable to the likes of splinter cell or tomb raider in that a bit of thought is required.
Can be a little repetitive but there's a number of different approaches you can take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360)
Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews