Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Bedlam
James Devlin is a bit of a lad. The title of his debut
album confirms this. 'Bud, Sweat & Beer's' sounds like a
manifesto of a kind or a call to war for Dagenham yoof.

I suspect, however, that there's a bit more to this lad
than his moody cover shot would have us believe.
The album is good; very good in fact. Mr Devlin spits out
his...
Published on 3 Feb 2011 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
I bought this for my boyfriend who loves Devlin.I never heard of him before,but now that I have found Devlin I will keep on listening to him and buying his albums.Enjoyed it very much
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Amz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Devlin's off to a good start, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
Devlin is a Grime artist from Essex. He's been gaining fans for quite a while now in the underground, but it's only at his debut album that he really started moving towards the mainstream. The best thing about this album though, is that it doesn't really sound like a mainstream album. This album is gritty and muddy in it's texture and sound, lyrically and sonically this album is not a bubblegum-pop affair, and this is why I respect Devlin so much presently. So much thought went into this album, whilst also sounding like Devlin had the freedom to make what he wanted on it. Totally a great album, worth checking out if you're a UK Hip-Hop fan, or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb album...credit to this man, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
Bud, Sweat and Beers is a cracking effort. London City, Brainwashed, 1989 and Runaway are stand out tracks. Devlin is a bit of a geezer, but don't let that put you off. Much more emotion in this album than Proff Green's stuff. Plus superb bass and vocals to back it up. I am an old man (31) and its superb to see a young English lad doing well on the music scene. London City is pure genius and is the standard bearer for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grime coming through, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
So many comparisions between him and eminem, mainly by their physical appearance.
Devlin has so many great songs on here, catchy ones with great hooks and chorus's. He hasn't got the greatest flow, but his linguistical power and imagery is a cock hair away from that of eminems. 'Our Father' is a brilliant song and confronts controversial issues and just makes you think.
Albums brilliant and plus he's british, so big up your english Mc's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devlin, 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
Got this album because I love a couple of Devlin's tracks and thought I would like his album, I listened to album and was like its alright and then after listening to the album a couple of times, now I love every single one of them, definately a good buy and would recommend. Devlin goes in hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 12 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
This is an awesome cd with a brilliant mix of music styles and genres behind some first class english rapping. I love the mix of vocals with some seriously impressive back up especially the gorgeous Yasmin. Buy this cd you will not be disappointed......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent album but missing essential songs, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
For such a long time i wanted to purchase this album but to my dismay when i saw the track list , two very pivotal songs were missing which are "Giant" and "Shot Music" ft giggs , although this is still a good album , i just feel it could be 4 - 5 star material with the inclusion of the two previously mentioned songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. A. I. N. Jefferson "ally j" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
I was kind of feeling like music of late has hit a period of stagnation...then like a shot out of the dark, along come certain artists who really make you stand up and take notice...Devlin is there!!! The production, beats, samples etc it's all there. Lyrically the young man has a maturity beyond his years and this really makes me feel excited every time I listen to it. Community Outcast is my favourite track simply for the reality it copnjures up. (Makes me think of the movie Harry Brown for some reason). If Tichy and Tinie have opened up the playing fields for a new breed of British emcees, then Devlin is surely going to be one of the forces to be reckoned with...I know underground fans will be like "Sell out" but seriously, this is a top notch album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
Stated that GIANT was one of the extra tracks and was not on there , was really disapointed as cd was for my son who wanted the track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's a grower, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
when i first bought this, it was the beats that stuck out for me. The more i listened to devlin's unique flow, the more i liked it. he's only young and i have no doubt will get better. it stayed in my car stereo for ages which is always a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bud, Sweat & Beers (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the best CD's to come out this year, absolutely love it!

As said in another review, don't think there is any song that isn't as good as the others, they're all awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bud, Sweat & Beers
Bud, Sweat & Beers by Devlin (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews