Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not fear......
Firstly if you select the english audio soundtrack you see the series as it was originally filmed [with the origianl english voices/soundtrack], it's only the box and booklet that are in german! although various language overdubs are available {French, German, Polish and Hungarian!] and a lot more with subtitles. So what you actually get are all 22 episodes of the first...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by Throda tzen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but soooo different from the books!
Got this and wanted it to see the book played out on film. I enjoyed the series, but there were sooo far off from the books that I was a little saddened that so much of the real story had been changed and adapted that it was a let down, but overall a nice waste of time to pass the hours. Hence I have given this a 3 star rating.
Published 7 months ago by Eezilypleezed


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not fear......, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Seeker #1 (DVD) 5DVDs Min: 908DD2.0WS Schwert der Wahrheit [Import germany] (DVD)
Firstly if you select the english audio soundtrack you see the series as it was originally filmed [with the origianl english voices/soundtrack], it's only the box and booklet that are in german! although various language overdubs are available {French, German, Polish and Hungarian!] and a lot more with subtitles. So what you actually get are all 22 episodes of the first series spread over 6 discs and filmed in the original english stereo soundtrack. There are a few extras such as audio commentries and again these are all in english, so don't worry if you can't speak german.
If you are not familiar with the story it's a typical sword and sorcery costume adventure, centred around Richard Cypher [Craig Horner] who is the Seeker of the title. In the first episode you learn he's meant to fulfil a prophesy and gets aid from Kahlan [Bridget Regan], a Confessor [a woman who has mystical powers that put people under her control] and 'Zed' [Bruce Spence], a world weary wizard. Each episode is a 'stand-alone' story as the group travel from one adventure to the next but there are underlying themes that twist and turn throughout the series as they continue in their quest trying to defeat an evil sorcerer.
The series is well acted, costumes are perfect for the storyline and the CGI effects are -for the most part, very good, whilst the first few episodes display a lot of tongue-in-cheek humour that makes it suitable viewing for all the family, albeit with some aggressive swordplay, but as the storyline develops and the series progresses, it becomes more serious and 'darker' as the sense of evil grows.
This is an excellent buy [I paid just over 13 on Amazon] and is regularly ahown on late afternoon/early evening TV, so it's generally suitable for most ages, but there are some gory fight scenes, a few scarry moments [with monsters] and there are more 'adult' themes toward the end of the series, so bear that in mind if showing it to younger viewers [the box set carries a 16 age rating].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With the sword of truth, 18 Mar 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For the record, I am not a fan of Terry Goodkind's "Sword of Truth" fantasy series, so I didn't really expect to enjoy the TV adaptation.

But to my surprise, "The Legend of the Seeker: The Complete First Season" turned out to be a surprisingly solid fantasy adventure series, with plenty of swords, monsters, lush New Zelaand scenery, sorcery and a likable young Prophesied Hero. It has some cheesy genre cliches at the beginning, but quickly evolves into a good-hearted, action-packed series.

Young woodsman Richard Cypher (Craig Horner) rushes to help a Confessor woman who's being attacked by D'Haran soldiers -- and promptly finds himself accused of being her accomplice, and hunted by the D'Harans (who have made it through a magical barrier than cuts off the Westlands). When he goes to get help from the eccentric wizard Zed ("He's crazy! He talks to his chickens!"), he encounters the beautiful Confessor Kahlan Amnell (Bridget Regan) once again.

The big reveal from Zed and Kahlan: Richard is a prophesied hero called a Seeker, who must use a magical sword to defeat the evil overlord Darken Rahl (Craig Parker). When his life is ripped apart by murder and treachery, Richard reluctantly accepts his destiny, and sets off across the Midlands with Kahlan and Zed.

Unfortunately the Midlands have plenty of problems as well -- cruel D'Haran soldiers, Mord-Sith, magical maps, a boy who can read minds, some inconvenient magic shape-changing, the birth of a forbidden male Confessor, a string of impossible murders (including one seemingly committed by Richard), a malevolent wizard who is trying to create new Confessors, corruption in the Westlands, a plague created by Rahl, and a visit to the haunted tomb of an ancient Seeker bent on possessing Richard's body.

In the course of their travels, the trio also learn that Rahl is searching for the Boxes of Orden, which can give ultimate power to the one who owns all three. Richard and his friends struggle to keep the magical boxes hidden, but a terrible mistake threatens to derail the Seeker's quest.

It's not necessary to be a fan of Goodkind's books to appreciate "Legend of the Seeker" -- it's only loosely based on Goodkind's first doorstopper, and quite a few things are changed. Fortunately the TV show has plenty of merits on its own -- the lush scenery porn of New Zealand, intricate story arcs and standalone adventures, and plenty of swords'n'sorcery. You almost forget sometimes that it's yet another story about a prophecied hero.

Each episode has plenty of action, usually involving Richard's acrobatic sword fights with D'Haran soldiers, and some fun magical twists (a talking doll). The writers also deftly avoid the Ye Olde Fantasye trap by penning dialogue that is breezy, straightforward and frequently amusing ("Remember, before chopping off the head, make sure the body is dead lest the head grow back." "What lesson is THAT?" "Not a lesson, just something I once read in a cookbook").

It does have some flaws, however -- the first two episodes are bogged down in genre cliches (Richard becoming a master swordsman overnight), cheesy moments (Richard's sword being struck by LIGHTNING?), and too much slow-motion. Fortunately things even out after the beginning of the series.

Craig Horner is absolutely perfect for the role, especially since Destined Heroes tend to be rather boring. Instead he perfectly portrays a down-to-earth goodness and kindness, which is tempered from innocence to maturity as the season winds on. But he brilliantly pulls off Richard's darker moments, including a horrendous Mord-Sith "training" session that leaves Richard broken, twitching and doe-eyed. He's also ridiculously gorgeous, and the directors take full advantage of that (the whole bridge-building scene).

And Horner has amazing chemistry with Regan, who does a great job as a strong, butt-kicking woman who can enslave anyone with a touch. Bruce Spence does a wonderfully eccentric, lanky old wizard who frequently batters Richard with life lessons, and Parker makes a surprisingly human Evil Overlord, whose cruelty and manipulations are revealed to be an obsessive desire for "harmony." Doesn't stop him from being deliciously hateable, though.

"Legend of the Seeker: The Complete First Season" is wobbly at first, but soon becomes a well-acted fantasy series that stands on its own apart from Goodkind's fantasy novels. Definitely a good show, and promises to become better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 16 Mar 2010
This is one of the very best shows on the box at the moment. It is brilliant family entertainment, although not really suitable for younger family members. The effects and story lines are very good, and the actors gel together really well. There is a particularly strong chemistry between the seeker and his confessor! I can't wait for this to become available in the UK as I will certainly be buying the two series. If you love a good mix of magic, action, comedy and romance, then this series is for you. I agree with the reviewer who said the people who have moaned about it not following the books needing to get a life. They really do need to grasp the concept of something only being BASED on an idea, and not literally following it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cruel cancellation, 29 Sep 2010
This magical show was just hitting its stride here, and came into glorious fruition in Season 2, with richer plots, deeper characterisation and, best of all, the addition of the beguiling Cara. But it's still fabulous.

Why it was then cancelled, while the same producers' grossly inferior "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" grinds tediously on, is a mystery to me. It seems that gore sells better than imagination. Depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy for any fantasy fan, 19 Aug 2010
i watched this on the syfy cannel uk and loved it and as there is no release date for the uk and i had to have it. :) i reconnmend this to anyone who likes action romance and bloody good story. Can't wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this series but...., 11 Aug 2010
I absolutly love this series (and the second one). It can be a little corny at times but that just make me love it more. There are great action scenes and the whole forbidden love thing is so sweet, your always hoping that R and K will find a way to be together. I only have one problem and its not even about the series, its about how the dvd has not been released in any other format than region 1. I live in the UK which means I am unable to watch the series when I want. But like I said...love the series just wish it would be released in different regions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FANTASY FOR ALL THE FAMILY, 1 May 2010
As I have never read the books I cannot comment on the adaptation. However this show is fun for all the family with the moral aspects (good vs evil), the love story (Richard/Kahlan), the humour (Zedd) the gorgeous New Zealand scenery, and the beauty of Tabrett Bethell (Cara) - not to mention Richard's abs and Kahlan's epic hair. With a strong focus on magic and fantasy this show is also rooted in the archetypes familiar from "Star Wars" and "Lord of the Rings". With great supporting guests like Craig Parker, Ted Raimi, and Jolene Blalock, this show has high production values and is a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Seeker - absolutely amazing!, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Seeker #1 (DVD) 5DVDs Min: 908DD2.0WS Schwert der Wahrheit [Import germany] (DVD)
I watched Legend of the Seeker on TV - and just had to have my own copy - it's absolutely brilliant! The whole series keeps you gripped. It's full of action and fight scenes, the story twists and turns and keeps you on your toes wondering what can possibly happen next. It's also a love story about a forbidden love between the Seeker and the Mother Confessor. The acting is very believable and if you're watching with surround sound, you feel like you're there with them.

I have also got the books to this series - and I have to admit, the series is only similar with the place names, the names of the heroes and very loosely the plot. Some of the heroes in the book are villians in the series - you have to look at it as a different story line otherwise you could be disappointed.

All in all, it would appeal to anybody who likes action/adventure with a love story thrown in for good measure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Seeker - Bring it to the UK, 24 Sep 2010
I've just recently been watching The Legend of the Seeker on Sky and have really got into it. Please Please Please when are we likely to be able to get in the UK. I really want to get it as and when the powers that be decide the UK are worthy of this fantastic series. Sooner rather than later pleasssssssssssssssssssssssssse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, perfect transaction, 17 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am usually a little cautious when ordering from the US, but this DVD was worth the risk, and the service turned out to be first class too. The DVD arrived in around one week from ordering, well packed, perfect condition. The DVD itself is a must see for and Sci-Fi fantasy fan. Magic, swords, action, humour, and a great cast. The second season is well worth getting too, shame it was cancelled after that. Unlock Region 1 on your DVD player, and give this a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews