Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
One moment, Sydelle and her friend, Henry, are hanging out on the rocks and then next, it's raining. Their village hasn't seen rain in ten years. Shortly after, they spot a wizard. They all head into the village, not knowing just how much their future is about to change.

Wayland North, the wizard, takes the credit for bringing the rain. The chief, Sydelle's...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by TeensReadToo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars children's book
maybe if i were 12 years old i would have liked it, but definitely not now, it cannot be called young adult. characters are really flat, the protagonist has some sort of magic ability which she seldom uses if at all, it doesn't really flows, it's like many little stories one after another, just like a children book.
at the end there is an attempt to introduce a...
Published 19 days ago by ambra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 3 Jun 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Hardcover)
One moment, Sydelle and her friend, Henry, are hanging out on the rocks and then next, it's raining. Their village hasn't seen rain in ten years. Shortly after, they spot a wizard. They all head into the village, not knowing just how much their future is about to change.

Wayland North, the wizard, takes the credit for bringing the rain. The chief, Sydelle's father, offers him a reward. He's stunned when he finds out the wizard wants his daughter.

Wayland believes he can stop the upcoming war with Sydelle's help. Together, they set out across the country to deliver their information.

Sydelle can't help hating the wizard who took her away from her friends and family. In time, she grows to understand him more and appreciates him. They must overcome obstacles: rogue wizard attacks, a new queen trying to find her place, and two country leaders determined to go to war for all the wrong reasons.

Sydelle wants to help stop the war so they can get on with their lives, but then she overhears Wayland talking about her and she can't believe her ears. Suddenly, her world's turned upside down and she doesn't know who to trust or what to do next.

This is an awesome debut and a great way to explode onto the YA scene. I love the high fantasy romance with tensions between countries and a probable war on the horizon.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brightly Woven, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Paperback)
Sydelle has always lived in a desert village but when danger threatens it she must leave with the stranger and wizard, Wayland North. However Wayland has secrets about both himself and the reason he choose Sydelle to assist him. All the characters, but especially Wayland, have hidden depths and secrets which kept the story interesting. Also I like how the magic system works in this book and how it is unique from all other books I can think of. This is an astounding YA fantasy book and I hope someday Bracken will write a sequel so we find out more about Sydelle, Wayland and their adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars children's book, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Kindle Edition)
maybe if i were 12 years old i would have liked it, but definitely not now, it cannot be called young adult. characters are really flat, the protagonist has some sort of magic ability which she seldom uses if at all, it doesn't really flows, it's like many little stories one after another, just like a children book.
at the end there is an attempt to introduce a little action, but it's not really exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 24 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Kindle Edition)
This is a highly imaginative story with wonderful magic and charaters that stand out throught the story. Colorful and unique it's a must for all magic fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wayland North, my newest literary crush!, 28 May 2011
By 
E. Flynn (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Kindle Edition)
Brightly Woven is just my kind of thing. Impending war, epic journey, magic that is not understood by all, main character has interesting talent (weaving, folks, weaving!), and main character's love interest is not all they seem. In fact, the words, dark, brooding, and misunderstood come to mind descriptively - what's not to like about that?

Sydelle Mirabil is an engaging female lead, although I did get slightly confused at the beginning by her rapidly veering emotions. But then, she's 16 years old - and I do remember being 16 (it wasn't that long ago!), and allowing for that the emotional rollercoaster makes much more sense. Wayland North, rogue wizard with more to him than at first seems possible, seems much older than 18 - and I kept imagining him as such, then getting thrown utterly whenever his youth was mentioned. The secondary characters, notably Owain (who I wish there was a book about!), were fantastically fleshed out. I really have no complaints with the characters!

Recommendation: If you've read Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine and enjoyed the quiet feistiness and ingenuity of Ella, you'll get on with Sydelle just fine! And Wayland North has all the qualities of a great (and literary-crush-worthy!) male character, with his secrets upon secrets that hide his motives. Peel away his layers with Sydelle and enjoy the ride. I truly hope that Brightly Woven's world is revisited with further novels in the (near) future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fab book, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brightly Woven (Hardcover)
I'm going to start by saying I bought this book purely for the cover. Before you tell me that is shallow just look at it. It is gorgeous.

I did enjoy this book even though fantasy isn't my thing at all. The book is well written and is fast paced action adventure meaning that I finished it very quickly. The main character Sydelle was sweet but feisty and I warmed to her quickly. It took me ages to warm to North (although I did in the end) as he come across badly to start with but I think this is intentional. It was nice to read a young adult book that wasn't full of bad language and/or sex (which many authors seem to think must be in a young adult novel to keep it engaging). The story was charming and completely unpredictable. I didn't once guess where it was going and it concludes quite nicely.

to sum up a fab little book which I enjoyed despite it not being at all the type of book I usually read. I will definately keeping my eye out for future Bracken releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brightly Woven
Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken
£3.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews