Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 'masterpiece' in filmmaking and worth studying
When it comes to aesthetic film history, this is certainly a 'masterpiece': Of course, one cannot disregard the content, but if you concentrate on the techniques employed, you will find both elements of 'realist' and 'formative' approaches to filmmaking and I would recommend watching Orson Welles' 'Citizen Kane' afterwards.
Compare this to Riefenstahl's earlier...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Alexandre

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The horror.....the horror.....
I read that this flag waving piece of Nazi propoganda made the likes of D W Griffiths and Cecil B DeMille look like poverty row film makers, which is certainly stretching it a bit, although one cannot doubt the skill and ingenuity with which it was made. This is a film that would undoubtedly make a contender for one of the most controversial films of all time. The ex...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Bob Salter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars very good (seller took good care), 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
Received, very good (seller took good care) thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
Good service and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movie directors of all time, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
Excellent movie and superbly made. The time was 1934 and the photography (film) is outstanding. It is unfortunate Leni Riefenstahl has been edited from mainstream movies history due to her admiration for Hilter but if you give her the credit due to her for her filmaking she is probably the best in a world of mostly male dominance.
This film is a dream to watch especially when you look at Germany back in the 30's, black and white, Nuremburg with its medieval appearance a byegone age.
The SS soldiers were fanatics and when you watch this film you can see the dread that was a few years in the future starting to happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. C. Kent "John" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
A lesson in how to make a really good propaganda film and frightening to realise how it helped Hitler to power - Ms Riefenstal was a master in film-making in the 30s/40s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the film *all* german 2nd language learners struggle with, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
it is possible after maybe 2 years of college german to understand the audio. its not difficult using the english subtitling as a prompt. (?sadly?) thanks to the global internet previously unattainable material is now freely available.
quite rightly you cannot buy 'the eternal jew AKA Der ewige Jude' on amazon. i have to say it is quite strange when you realise you can understand material from this era.

history grads/undergrads =
[ MEIN KAMPF BY HITLER, ADOLF](AUTHOR)PAPERBACK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Springtime, 15 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
This film should come with a warning. Recently I read Mein Kampf (which is not the erotic thriller I was led to believe) then I watched Triumph of Will. The next day I woke up a Nazi!!! Immediately I goose stepped over to my Polish neighbour’s house. Coincidentally, Ivan, my Russian neighbour who lives in number 21, arrived at exactly the same time and demanded entry. I don’t know what HE was watching. Anyways, the police were called, restraining orders were issued, months of counselling followed and normalcy was returned. I am now able to appreciate Triumph of Will objectively. It is my theory that the Nazis viewed the world through a twisted and warped lens that left them with a certain degree of moral deficiency that they would not have had had the lens they viewed through been less twisted and less warped. We may never know. Still, they had wonderful uniforms and the trains arrived on time. The only real criticism I have of Triumph of Will is the lack of female Nazis (or “goose step mamas” as the Rutles called them). I have seen the documentary “Ilsa: She Wolf of the SS” so I know they existed. Why the director refused to show them can only be guessed at. Perhaps jealousy? We may never know.
In conclusion I think one should not view this film as a study in fascism or crowd control psychology but rather on the touristic splendours of Nuremberg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 29 July 2011
By 
G. J. Kuchanny (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 (DVD)
Contrary to many reviews I found this semi-documentary boring. It explained nothing of the mindset or 'gestalt' of a people determined to right the wrongs of a war (the first world war) by instigating another. Tedious. Anybody want a beer mat for 20p?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010
Triumph Of The Will (DVD) 2010 by Leni Riefenstahl (DVD - 2010)
£12.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews