Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Dresswed Up and No Place To Go
When asked by a reporter "What do women want?", Valentino Garavani, responded, "They want to be beautiful". In this film, we are transported to the land of beauty and wealth, all combined into a business.

Vanity Fair correspondent Matt Tyrnauer has directed a documentary that gave him access to the fashion world and Valentino for the last two years of his...
Published on 13 Oct. 2009 by prisrob

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars empty emperor
Ok documentary about an utterly charmless man. Even though I have never been a fan of his work, I was still curious to see one of the last couturiers at work. As other reviewers mentioned even though the documentary does give you an insight onto a certain world, you never really get to know mister V. His world is, as he put it, all about beautiful women and beautiful...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by PAM van Gorp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Dresswed Up and No Place To Go, 13 Oct. 2009
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When asked by a reporter "What do women want?", Valentino Garavani, responded, "They want to be beautiful". In this film, we are transported to the land of beauty and wealth, all combined into a business.

Vanity Fair correspondent Matt Tyrnauer has directed a documentary that gave him access to the fashion world and Valentino for the last two years of his fashion business life. From 2006 to 2007, Valentino had a camera in his life much of the time. Tyrnauer captured much of the business. He followed Valentino from his first drawing of a beautiful gown to the sewing by hand of each little bead, to the tall, willowy model walking the gown, to the runway show. This was a fascinating look into the life of a fashion industry. We meet Giancarlo Giametti, the 50 year friendship and lover of Valentino. We were taken to the cafe in Rome where they met, although each of them had a differing version of the cafe.

Valentino is a demanding and controlling boss, and from the first design to the finished product we see first hand how decisions are made. The head seamtress is as demanding and controlling as her boss, and she cuts her underlings with sharp teeth as she berates their work. The show itself is designed by Giametti, and he seems to be a very talented man. Valentino seems to disagree with many of his decisions, but in the end Giametti is usually proved correct. What was particularly interesting to me was the corporate intrusion. Valentino sold out to a company in 1998, which was taken over in 2002 by Matteo Marzotto, a handsome man who gave good business sense but then sold out to an investment banking company some years later. We see Valentino and his 5 pugs traveling in a jet from city to city and from one beautiful residence to another and then to his yacht. Life is good for this man. He is tanned year round, and at times he looks too orange. His hair is always perfectly coiffeured. I wanted to see his personal assistant who helped give him that look day after day. But, what we did get to see was the diva temper, and then the man who showed his love for his partner in small ways, always unexpected.

This was a film that kept my attention, but I don't feel like I got to know the man, Valentino, nor his partner nor anyone in the film. Tyrnauer was told to cut the filming when conversations or actions became too intimate. This was a loss. The film portrayed a beautiful, lush lifestyle, but we know little of the man, The Last Emperor.

Recommended. prisrob 10-12All-09

Una Grande Storia Italiana. Valentino Garavani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The master of Haute Couture., 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
I was recommended this film after I enjoyed The September Issue [DVD] [2009]. "Valentino - the Last Emperor" is an insight into personal life and career (although, they are so intertwined they are indistinguishable) of one of the great haute couture designers of the twentieth century. The documentary covers the last couple of years of Valentino's career, when the master himself was the director of his couture house, and the heartbreak the buy-out of the Valentino business by an investment bank brought to the close-knit family of Valentino and his assistants, PR people and seamstresses.

There was hundreds of hours of footage of the last great couturier, but the film is merely 90 minutes, and the camera work usually stops at the most emotional place (i.e. when Valentino, a demanding and controlling boss, throws one of his tantrums). Nonetheless, we are shown the creative process, the absolutely mind-blowing work of the seamstresses (everything, yes EVERYTHING is made by hand) and the magic of a piece of fabric evolving into one magnificent dress. The documentary finishes with lavish celebration of 45 years of Valentino in fashion.

I recommend to you the extras on the DVD - the making of red dress and the last collection (as always, Valentino creations are magnificent in their beauty). The latter, the emotions of close-knit family of Valentino house bidding farewell to the master of couture brought tears to my eyes.

Ultimately, this is an interesting engaging documentary for people who not only own designer coffee table books, but actually read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars empty emperor, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Ok documentary about an utterly charmless man. Even though I have never been a fan of his work, I was still curious to see one of the last couturiers at work. As other reviewers mentioned even though the documentary does give you an insight onto a certain world, you never really get to know mister V. His world is, as he put it, all about beautiful women and beautiful dresses; style over substance for the most part. Stlll, I have to concede it's quite an achievement he managed to carve out a successful career, but over all I found this emperor to be quite shallow and empty...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful world of Mr Valentino, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful chance for those of us who adore the work of Mr Valentino to see behind the scenes, not just of the collections but also his private life. For two men of their generation Mr Valentino and Mr Giametti are very open about their relationship and allow the cameras pretty much open access!
The focus on the work and how they work together is very special and what is wonderful is to see the team from the newest seamstress through to the "family" surrounding the designer at work. The film also shows what total focus and really unrelenting hard work can achieve in the way of life and style.
The commitment by Mr Valentino to his chosen metier is total and nothing is left to chance in professional terms. Having been lucky enough to see many many of Mr Valentino collections over the years and also see behind the scenes this film is a wonderful souvenir of the man and his work. How wonderful that this was made when so many other missed opportunities over the years have slipped by - Hubert de Givenchy or Madame Gres for example. Still we have this - if you love fashion and you love Mr valentino - buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentino The Last Emperor DVD, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who loves the world of Fashion has to own this! It made me laugh it made me cry and reminded me of the old school glamour and mystery of fashion of my own childhood how I used to escape reality to devour all his beautiful work. I learnt so much from these great masters and still today Valentino lets me escape into that wonderful heightened world, oh so many classic moments, from watching the Atliers hand sew and construct the dresses by hand to Valentino's fabulous wit, his adorable and loyal partner, Giammetti the two together arguing over the cameras hilarious! Ah and the ending always makes me cry..when he greets all his old seamstresses from the 60s the raw emotion, the passion!..Lagerfled and Valentino walking through the large gallery space observing and reflecting on all the works of art created Lagerfeld pleading he will never forgive him if he retires urging him to continue to work like himself, this is another poignant moment 'After me the Flood'..it is true once Lagerfeld and Valentino finish that is the end of the old school golden age of fashion .. Valentino was and still is a superstar a legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this on BBC4 sometime ago.In February went to the Valentino exhibition at Somerset House(which was fantastic) and thought I would be able to buy the DVD there.no way,very badly merchandised.Came home ,on to Amazon, ordered it ,good delivery then lent it to the friend who came to the show with me,who had not seen it.She has now gone on holiday.but it does not matter.the film is iconic like Valentino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars valentino, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
A true professional, consumed by fashion--but very very difficult to live with I imagine--give the BF a medal! The last of the Old School couturiers- beautiful designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it DVD.I find it is very interesting to watch his background about his life, work and people.I can see his real life there.I would love to see more dvd about him..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valentino's world, 10 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
In this film the world of Valentino revolves around work and wealth. Valentino's a hard task master and gets what he wants, most of the time. Luckly his partner reigns him in and seems to have had a great commercial eye for fashion and the spin offs.

This film is very well made, following Valentino through his last collection and show. We also get a brief history of Valentino, which is enough for most. The extras are very good following him across the world and also more indepth features in the studio.

My impression is that Valentino allows us to see him how he views himself. This film is a high quality product at a great price on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight to the Senses, 18 May 2011
This review is from: Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Valentino The Last Emperor is a 2008 documentary film about the life of the great Italian couturier Valentino. The film is an exploration of the singular world of one of Italys most famous fashion designers.

The film documents Valentinos final couture collection and the media frenzy surrounding it. You also get to see glimpses of his beautiful collections over the past 50 years. The film tells the story of his life, and explores the larger themes affecting the fashion business today.

At the heart of the film is the unique and touching relationship between Valentino and his business partner and companion of 50 years, Giancarlo Giametti.

The production team were given exclusive access to Valentino and his entourage; Valentino is surrounded by a tight knit family of friends and employees who eventually let their guard down and on the whole forget there is a camera crew in the room.

You see that Valentino is a born dreamer and along with Karl Lagerfeld is one of the last true couturiers. He lives as lavishly as his clients with several magnificent houses dotted around the world, in addition to a private plane and yacht, he shuts out all that is not beautiful in life.

A must for anyone interested in everything beautiful, but more importantly the high end fashion industry of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD]
Valentino: The Last Emperor [DVD] by Matt Tyrnauer (DVD - 2010)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews