Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chems are back!
Opinion seems to be mixed on The Chemical Brothers' new album. If you love the more melodic and psychedelic side of the duo then your more likely to be a big fan of ''Further,'' but if you prefer the more accessible (''Hey Boy,Hey Girl'' ''Believe'' - you get get the idea) side then your likely to be a bit dissapointed. Thats not to say ''Further'' doesnt have its...
Published on 10 Jun 2010 by DodgyDan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a collection of EBWs than a new studio album
On Further, The Chemical Brothers seem to re-tread their renowned Electronic Battle Weapon series, a project that has provided the duo with a freedom to experiment and test new music when either DJing or touring. Characteristically, EBWs are long in duration, built around repetition and contain either very few or no vocals. Further is complete with this notion: throughout...
Published on 20 May 2011 by B. Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Driving Forward, 21 April 2014
By 
Marco De Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I feel it necessary to comment in relation to this album, as several reviews have been critical of its lack of beats/bass etc or that it is too psychedelic

This album is literally a monster, from about 90 seconds into track 2 the beats kick in and literally don't let up for the remainder. It's really great stuff and coming from someone who was never a major fan of this duo, I can say that it has become one of my favorite electronic albums of all time.

Favorite has to be the aforementioned track 2 where drunken circular synth loops struggle to keep up with a hypnotic beat drawn out with distorted bass.

Amazing album..electronic music is stronger than ever in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of The Chemical Brothers for as long as I can remember and have slowly gone through their albums and honestly this in my opinion is one of the best by far, yes it's very different but I honestly think that's what they were intending for! It's almost got a futuristic sound to it, like walking into a club in the very far future where music just sounds insane, but at the same time their is so much emotion going on! If your a fan of The Chemical Brothers, I recommend giving it a try before assuming because it's a recent album that it is not as good as the others. It's just very different, with a new sound, but still fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
so cheap one we prob is iTunes don't recognise the eastern copy that this is but who cares its finest quality and a bargain i partiquarily liked the wee book inside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feedback, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
Thank you very much for this product i was after this for a while and also reasonable price i would recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Belter from the Bros., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to 'Snow'. It's the first track on the album. My other favourites are Dissolve & Wonders of the Deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
Some good tracks on this but could do with more bass :) . . . still it's the Chems what's not to love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blow me away, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
Blew me away from start to finish; Uplifting and inspiring; Beautiful and amazing. Made me want to sing, dance and cry, What else can u ask from from music??? Sexy, emotional and, well, bloody hell, just puts a smile on your face. Don't know how else to describe it. Buy this album!! Turn the lights off, lay back, shut your eyes and let it take you away. You will smile :-DDDD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars further, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Conor Sage (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (MP3 Download)
A couple of really stand out tracks. At only 8 tracks it Maybe could have been a little bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chemical Brothers go FAR OUT, 19 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
i was pleasantly surprised by this album. The songs are longer than usual; they remind me a lot of the kind of song structures used by prog rock bands of the 70's.

The whole album is a euphoric rush, that builds and climaxes over and over again.

Very eclectic, with some shoe-gaze, acid house, break beat, ambient drone - It's a real aural treat.

I listened to this for the first time in the gym, and i totally killed the treadmill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
This is quite a change in direction after the last two albums. There are no big name collaborations and some of the tracks reveal a stripped down and more lyrical side. There are no shortage of tunes here though, which makes it as good a listen before going out on a Saturday night as it is the next morning. Escape Velocity is a highlight and probably the best thing they've done in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Further
Further by The Chemical Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews