Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chems are back!
Opinion seems to be mixed on The Chemical Brothers' new album. If you love the more melodic and psychedelic side of the duo then your more likely to be a big fan of ''Further,'' but if you prefer the more accessible (''Hey Boy,Hey Girl'' ''Believe'' - you get get the idea) side then your likely to be a bit dissapointed. Thats not to say ''Further'' doesnt have its...
Published on 10 Jun. 2010 by DodgyDan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a collection of EBWs than a new studio album
On Further, The Chemical Brothers seem to re-tread their renowned Electronic Battle Weapon series, a project that has provided the duo with a freedom to experiment and test new music when either DJing or touring. Characteristically, EBWs are long in duration, built around repetition and contain either very few or no vocals. Further is complete with this notion: throughout...
Published on 20 May 2011 by B. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chems are back!, 10 Jun. 2010
By 
DodgyDan (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
Opinion seems to be mixed on The Chemical Brothers' new album. If you love the more melodic and psychedelic side of the duo then your more likely to be a big fan of ''Further,'' but if you prefer the more accessible (''Hey Boy,Hey Girl'' ''Believe'' - you get get the idea) side then your likely to be a bit dissapointed. Thats not to say ''Further'' doesnt have its standout tracks, ''Escape Velocity,'' ''Another World,'' ''Horse Power'' and ''Swoon'' are all worthy of being single releases. Listeners should approach ''Further'' as a listening experience rather than fishing for the big moments. The way ''Snow'' ''Escape Velocity'' and ''Another World'' blend into each other is sublime, from there ''Dissolve'' leads us into ''Horse Power'' and ''Swoon'' before the album takes its foot off the gas a little with ''K + D + B'' then finishes with the nice and shoegazey feel of ''Wonders Of The Deep.'' The only gripes for me are that with only 8 tracks ''Further'' is a little on the short side & overall lacks the variation as on previous albums but the plus side on that is that the album seems more focussed and flows really well. 8.5/10 for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight New Little Wonders, 15 Jun. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
As seventh albums go The Chemical Brothers new release
'Further' is a cracker in every respect. Tom Rowlands
and Ed Simons latest offering is a transcendent success.
The duo's capacity to push the boundaries of their muse
just a little bit further forward into new territories
is a credit to their long-term collaboration and friendship.

'Further' has got guts but it also has magically subtle shades
too. Tom Rowlands shows off his voice where the script demands
and this in itself adds to the overall intimacy of the project.
(I didn't miss the absence of guest vocalists for a moment!)

There are some real treasures here. First up is 'Snow', whose
opening bars crackle with ambient electricity. The stripped-down
pulsing motif carries Mr Rowland's fragile elfin falsetto quite
beautifully. (Elements of Mr Jonsi's recent masterpiece 'Go'
came to mind here and there). The simple but highly engaging
arrangement leads directly into the monolithic track 'Escape Velocity'.
It is an extraordinary work, crammed with vibrant dark energy.
Building slowly, wave upon wave of spiralling synth layers eventually
explode in an epically uplifting trance-like Dionysian dance. The
whirling sonic maelstrom is truly thrilling! Even when the foreboding
clouds gather at its heart we somehow know that the resolution will
be an optimistic one. The sunshine bursts out of the momentary
melancholy lull with such force that we can feel its heat on our faces!

The enormous crashing chords at the beginning of 'Another World'
give way to a curiously shifting staccato invention and another
somewhat otherworldly vocal performance from Mr Rowland. The
building blocks of the composition are unashamedly simple and
all the better because of it.

'Dissolve' materialises out of thin air but quickly builds
into another gargantuan riff-laden structure with fragments
of quasi-Eastern melodic ideas running through it.
Play it loud and the plaster will fall from your ceiling!

'Horse Power' made me laugh out loud. There is a real horse
in the studio! I'm sure of it! I heard it neighing!
(An image of a horse behind a drum-kit comes and goes for a
moment in my mind's eye!) The tasty synth bleeps and whoops
and big chunky beats are an absolute hoot!
Not since The Osmonds' 1972 hit 'Crazy Horses' has one of
our equine friends been so well represented (or employed!!)

'Swoon' does what it says on the can. It swoons, swoops and
dives in lush harmonic arabesques. A firebird leaving its
flaming trail across the heavens. Joyful primal stuff!

'K+d+b' is an infectious and addictive percussion-fest.
A wobbly (Scottish?) carnival procession; a pipe and drum
dream; a gloriously eccentric musical confection.

Final track 'Wonders Of The Deep' is a curiously old-fashioned
composition. A psychedelic anthem for a new generation.
Full of light and shade and bold, buxom harmonies, it brings
the project to a strangely affecting anachronistic close.

An album full of little wonders. If Messrs Rowlands and Simons
had not already created The Chemical Brothers it is very likely
that we would have had to invent them for ourselves.
Their music, in a small way, really does make the world a better place.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chemicals Brothers are back, 18 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic from start to finish (Apart from Horse Power)!
The album grips you from the start. Stand out tracks are definitely Dissolve and Swoon. Haven't stopped playing them since I got the album. As mentioned above. The only slight let down is Horse Power. As the other reviews state, the horse sample cheapens the track somewhat. That said, I've still given the album 5 stars on the strength of the other tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively minimal, 22 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (MP3 Download)
The tracks are all defiantly chemical brothers in style. Starting out with an almost painful computer in pain kind of sound, that develops and is counter balanced with a soothing song and comforting rising warmth. The album continues to be a strange mix of pleasure and pain, at times taking you to a grinning maniacal feeling, of not knowing if you can keep smiling so insanely. Some people will find it too much and a difficult listen, but personally I found it a work of pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A melodic variation, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
S. C. JONES "Jonesy" (Leicestershire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I've written before in other Amazon reviews that my favourite musicians are the ones who consistently produce good-to-excellent albums. As this is their seventh LP, and their sixth quality one ('Come With Us' is unlistenable as far as I'm concerned), The Chemical Brothers definitely fit into that category.

'Further' sounds like a Chemical Brothers record ought to, but is a subtle variation on the theme. For a start, it only has eight tracks and lasts a mere fifty-two minutes. More significantly, it has no high profile guest singers, more melody than usual, and fewer booming beats (but not a total absence of them). It also features Tom Rowlands singing: he has a tuneful, rather fey voice, but it's kept low in the mix. The standout tracks for me are 'Escape Velocity' (a slow build to a thumping crescendo), the psychedelic 'Dissolve' and the Orbital-like, extremely melodic 'Swoon'.

A couple of tracks fail to make an impression, meaning 'Further' isn't in the same class as 'Surrender', for example, but it's far from their worst work and, commendably, for a group producing their seventh LP, it still sounds fresh and full of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grower, 3 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
It's happened a few times where i get a new chemical brothers album, and initially am dissapointed, thinking that they've lost it, only for it grow on me, and to turn into another of my favourite albums. Give it a few listens and you've got another classic chemies album. still the best at what they do, in my opinion. 5 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album but some songs a bit repetitive., 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I had read recent reviews about this item before I perchased this and many were commenting on the lack of songs. Don't worry, because one of the songs is well over 10 minutes long!

This album has had little promotion and is an unsung hero for 2010 Dance/Electronic albums.

It deserves much more praise than is being showered upon it and thankfully, I can let it all out by giving it plenty of praise while reviewing it.

Escape Velocity is an incredibly long song and basically sums up this CD in a whole 10 minutes. Sounds galore and bizarreity uncommon, as Horse Power includes sounds of horses which is almost embarrassing to listen to in public, yet when streamed through headphones is the song equivalent of a Picasso. Ok, slight exaggeration.

I was differing between giving this 4 or 5 stars as it is 9/10. But I am a strict reviewer so some minor generousity deserves to be given every once in a while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Standard, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I'm not going to analyse every track, it wouldn't do them justice. This album sets a new standard for Electronic music, it's that simple. The rest will have to catch up. If I could give it 4.99 I would, and that's only because it is a tiny little bit over-produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Driving Forward, 21 April 2014
By 
Marco De Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
I feel it necessary to comment in relation to this album, as several reviews have been critical of its lack of beats/bass etc or that it is too psychedelic

This album is literally a monster, from about 90 seconds into track 2 the beats kick in and literally don't let up for the remainder. It's really great stuff and coming from someone who was never a major fan of this duo, I can say that it has become one of my favorite electronic albums of all time.

Favorite has to be the aforementioned track 2 where drunken circular synth loops struggle to keep up with a hypnotic beat drawn out with distorted bass.

Amazing album..electronic music is stronger than ever in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chemical Brothers - Further, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
Ronnie (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Further (Audio CD)
The old school Chemical Brothers fans don't seem to like this latest offering as much - but I think the album is an absolute cracker and Dissolve justifies buying the album even without the other excellemnt tracks ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Further
Further by The Chemical Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£6.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews