Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Theme but a Rushed Ending
Strata, by Terry Pratchett (published before the Discworld books), holds the basis of the creation of the original Discworld idea. It reads more like a serious sci-fi novel (albeit with some gags) and is far more thematic than the Discworld series.
The plot is as follows: Kin Arad (a 210-year-old woman) works for the “Company”, a planet building...
Published on 18 Nov 2003 by amberzed

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The real 1st Discworld novel?
The second of two pre-Discworld science fiction novels, Strata is unfortunately a less enjoyable novel than The Dark Side of the Sun. Its most notable feature is that the novel revolves around a proto-Discworld, and while it isn't quite THE Discworld introduced in The Colour of Magic it's certainly a recognisable first draft.
The novel starts well, with a good build...
Published on 19 July 2004 by Jane Aland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Theme but a Rushed Ending, 18 Nov 2003
This review is from: Strata (Hardcover)
Strata, by Terry Pratchett (published before the Discworld books), holds the basis of the creation of the original Discworld idea. It reads more like a serious sci-fi novel (albeit with some gags) and is far more thematic than the Discworld series.
The plot is as follows: Kin Arad (a 210-year-old woman) works for the “Company”, a planet building corporation. With in the first few pages she is approached by the stranger Jalo, who tells her that he has discovered a Spindle world (the Spindles were an ancient race of very talented world builders). She is intrigued and later agrees to join him in located the planet (which is flat) again.
This is a very enjoyable book; some times hilarious, other times deadly serious and profound. The plot is not very original, being very similar to Larry Niven’s “Ringworld”, but captures and holds the reader’s attention (well mime anyway). The characters each have individual and very likeable personalities, while the description of the Discworld are fantastic and vivid.
Surprisingly, this novel has a fairly solid theme that builds up towards the end. Highly recommended, especially to Discworld fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The real 1st Discworld novel?, 19 July 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
The second of two pre-Discworld science fiction novels, Strata is unfortunately a less enjoyable novel than The Dark Side of the Sun. Its most notable feature is that the novel revolves around a proto-Discworld, and while it isn't quite THE Discworld introduced in The Colour of Magic it's certainly a recognisable first draft.
The novel starts well, with a good build up as the three lead characters are drawn into a trip to the recently discovered Discworld, and the final revelation of what the Discworld is and who built it is satisfying, but there is a definite sag in the middle of the story, as the few Discworld inhabitants the exploration meet are decidedly dull. Thematically this is a sound novel, but the execution is sometimes a little flat.
A reasonably interesting but not wholly successful novel, Strata is best recommended as a curio for those Discworld fans who wish to see how Pratchett developed his ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patchy but interesting, 9 Jan 2007
By 
R. N. Stell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
Readers who criticise this book as disappointing because it isn't of the same calibre as Pratchetts later works are, I think, missing the point. This was Terry Pratchett's first novel, and the reader can trace within it the seeds from which the Discworld grew. I enjoyed it and re-read it from time to time. I would agree that the middle part of the book, when Kin Arad and friends are searching for the answer to their problems, sometimes seems to lack direction - it fragments into a series of vignettes which although entertaining do not always seem to move the plot onwards particularly well. However if such a novel were to be published today by an unknown author, as Pratchett was at that time, I suspect that it would get reasonably good reviews, possibly including some of the comments I have made but almost certainly ending with '...this author has promise and will probably prodice some excellent stuff in the future', and who would say that Terry Pratchett has not done just that?

Criticising this book because it is the product of an unformed talent is the equivalent of rubbishing Equal Rites because the Granny Weatherwax in that book is not at all the same towering character we meet in later books like Witches Abroad, so; read and enjoy, remember it is an early work, and forgive it its imperfections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book - read it!, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read all the discworld books, it was interesting to read this book which originally started the idea off... as well as being a great storyline, the characters were intruiging, as they were so different, and, as was pointed out many times, not at all human, yet you were still caught up with their feelings and the way their relations to each other as 'aliens' progressed. i found it interesting to read a book that wasn't discworld and was very different to the style which pterry uses in those books, and despite this difference, i really enjoyed it. it also adds the intruiging possibility that our universe really was made by aliens as part of a great big construction project....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly written book which illustrates human values., 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
The cover is great. That's what made me pick it up in the first place and as I got further into the book I kept turning back to the cover to see what the charecters look like. It generally helps the story along. I have read a lot of Pratchett, and although this isn't his funniest, it is one of the most clever. The story starts with a letter of complaint that modern artifacts have been found in fossils. This is intruiging and makes you want to read the book. I also like the fact that the main charecter is payed in "days" of life that she can exchange for longevity. This gives some indication that the book is set in an advanced civilisation, in fact you find out later that the book is set in the past. The "alien" charecters are interesting in that they do not have human values and you find this difficult to understand, as the writer says often. This book almost introduces the discworld,- featured in his later series and as an avid reader of his books, this interests me. I would reccomend this book to anyone who likes a sharp sence of humor and realistic conversations in Sci-Fi books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for all Terry Pratchett fans, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strata (Kindle Edition)
A great book for everyone who loves the discworld series. A little more sophisticated with a nice twist at the end. Brilliantly written as you would expect from Terry Pratchett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi that tells it like it may be or might have been, 20 Mar 2014
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
In the future, people will live long (yes, yes, and prosper). Humankind is able to build planets to order....

One of these planetary architects gets an insight into where we all came from; and has a shattering awakening as to our place in their universe.

There. Now buy it (and "Dark Side Of The Sun") read it and enjoy it. It's froth, but entertaining froth with a great taste and just a hint of disc-shaped worlds to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used item in very good order, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strata (Hardcover)
Bought this as an xmas present and was nervous about buying second hand but the book is in really good order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strata, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strata (Mass Market Paperback)
Terry Pratchett is one of my favorite authors, but this is not his standard book.
It takes a while to get into but definately worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars early signs of genius, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Adam Golding (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strata (Kindle Edition)
I wish he'd carried on with sf in some ways, it needs a poke in much the way that the fantasy genre did before Diskworld.
I've been reading a lot of first novels recently and they are often wobbly. Pratchett displays a few tiny wobbles here but you definitely get a sense of impending master from his humour, timing and characters.

I somehow missed reading this when it came out all those years back. I'm very glad I read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strata
Strata by Terry Pratchett
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews