Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon 17 January 2005
The story behind this story is nearly the best story of all: "This book had two authors, one aged seventeen, one aged forty-three. Both of them were Terry Pratchett." Having penned this tale and had it lapse into obscurity, Pratchett is impelled by his editors to revive it years later. Rightly so. For the dedicated PTerry fan, this example of his early writing is an illuminating read. Many views expressed in the Discworld books are readily perceived here. For someone new to Pratchett, it's a great introduction to the scope of his ideas and his writing skills. For any reader, it's simply a delight to enjoy.
The story is a fine example of Pratchett's ability to view the world from a fresh perspective. If there's a fantasy novel lacking a dark forest and mysterious creatures, i've missed it. Pratchett, never a formula writer, simply shrinks the scope. His forested world is a thickly napped rug. Instead of pines or oaks, it's nylon and wool "hairs". The creatures are there, the snargs, the hymetors and others - including silverfish, who live under the world. There are also people - the Munrungs, the Deftmenes and - the Dumii. They interact, sometimes violently. Deep down in the pile, these people and their communities are invisible to humans. Something, however, sends terror through the forest peoples - Fray. This immensely destructive force topples cities and obliterates villages.
Pratchett builds a story of the conflict of respected traditions countered by innovation and invention. There is an Empire, to which taxes are due. That means clerks, organisation, regulations. While the Munrungs have always met the demands for revenue, others have opposed the imposition, hence, the Empire. Could two such peoples find a common cause? It seems unlikely, but the best way to unite two dissimilar tribes is having a common enemy.
Except for the conflict of good and evil, this story avoids formula approaches to fantasy. There are many characters, all of them reflected by people around us. Snibril, a Munrung, stands out but a little from the rest. One of his attributes is that he suffers sinus trouble. This isn't normally a heroic virtue, but it proves valuable here. There's also a philosopher. Everybody thinks to some extent. Philosophers are typified by telling about it in an interesting way. This description, of course, fits Pratchett admirably. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2004
As a teacher of ages 9 to 11 I think this book has enormous potential as a shared reading text for use in the classroom. Pratchett takes an everyday item, a carpet, and turns it into something magical. The use of language and his descriptions are ideal for younger readers and having read many of pratchetts other books, including the terrific Wee Free Men and A Hat Full of Sky, I think this is an ideal starter for anyone who may not of read any Terry Pratchett before as it isn't as complex as some of his other books nor are the descritptions as detailed.
I can't wait to share this book with my students and I would recommend other teachers to read this book too. We'll certainly be doing lots of creative writing and story telling based on this book and hopefully writing our own answers to questions such as `What is Fray?'.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2007
'The Carpet People' is a book you could read again and again and you will never get bored of it in my opinion. The idea of it is origional - has anyone else ever wrote a book about a carpet?

To anyone who hasnt read this, its about a tribe of minute people in a carpet who call themselves Munrungs. One day, their whole village is flattened by Fray, a phenomenon (have I spelt that right?) controlled by mouls (this is another race that lives in the carpet). So the Munrungs set out on a journey to stop Fray...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2007
This is the first book I ever read, so I always look back on this book with a certian ammount of nostalgia.
Nostalgia aside, I found that this is a very packed book for less than 200 pages.
I find it hard to disemminate the plot without at least one spoiler, so I'll let you read the book.
Snibril is the character to whom most of the action happens to, and his development is supurb.
and as for Pismere, when you find out why he was kicked out of the dumi empire, you will laugh out loud.
I feel that this is one of Pratchetts greatest achievments. It is worth a read to Pratchett fans in order to see him at his best, and to anyone else, just so that you can see a well writen book that is action packed, but still short enough to read in a matter of hours.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Terry Pratchett is a well known author of the Discworld series. Terry Pratchett wrote this book in 1971, and his publishers, twenty years later, requested that he re-write the book and add colored illustrations. The illustrations turned out to be Terry Pratchett's own colored in scribbles that accompany the text.

This book shows us tribes, the Munrungs trying to find their way among the carpets. Some have attributed this storyline akin to 'the Lord Of The Rings' on a rug. All these little, or very minute people. A happy group of 'little ones' living their life in your carpet. Amid the dust balls and above Underlay.

One of their major landmarks is Achairlegfrom which they mine varnish. Metal is obtained from a dropped and forgotten penny, and wood from dropped matches. There is a battle between good and evil, and the inner struggles among these good and bad guys.

This is a wonderful book for children, and my grandson has a vivid imagination. This book fits his needs perfectly! The writing is fabulous for his age, the colored scribbles he can identify and he loves the characters. I think he and my daughter are considering not to vacuum the carpet for awhile. Should be interesting!

Recommended. prisrob 04-02-16
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
The Carpet People by Terry Pratchett is an updated version of a small book the author when he was seventeen (actually, it was his very first novel). There are many similarities with the later Discworld novels, namely the world in which it is set and the characters involved.
As the title suggests, the story is set in a giant (well, large to the inhabitants at least) flat carpet. On the carpet live many races – some evil like the Mouls and the Snargs, others like the Munrungs are fairly peaceful.
The journey begins in a village that was recently destroyed by the “Fray” (a vacuum cleaner). The survivors of the supposed “natural disaster” seek to end the conflict between the tribes of the carpet once and for all. Their adventures are filled with peril and mystery (and a good dose of humour).
Overall, an interesting insight to the young mind of Terry Pratchett before he wrote any Discworld novels.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Let me make one thing very clear - I have loved this book since I borrowed a first edition from our local library many, many years ago. My complaints do not refer to the story, just to the extremely disappointing packaging of this edition.

When I stumbled across a paperback edition of the revised book in Manchester airport, I was very sad to see that the illustrations that I had been captivated by as a child were not present. It was like a copy of Winnie-the-Pooh without the original illustrations - unthinkable. I had thought that the hardback edition would restore them, but no such luck. I even contemplated trying to get hold of a first edition until I found out how much such a thing would cost (gulp!). Then I saw that this edition was going to be released which contained the illustrations. I was very, very happy.

However, when I received the copy yesterday I was devastated to find that, not only had the writing been printed on very inferior quality paper, but the format of the book did absolutely no favours to the illustrations at all. OK, they had been printed on glossy paper, but they had all been bound into one clump and because the size of the book was so small, much of the detail was lost. The larger format pictures from the original book (eg the Hymetors and the Wights) had been so compressed as to be next to useless. Worst of all, by far the best picture in the original book - a double page spread illustrating a sugar crystal surrounded by a mass of licking creatures of all shapes and sizes - was not there at all. A real tragedy!

So, if you are wanting to get this book as a cheap alternative to a first edition, forget it. The book is brilliant to read, but this edition is a massive disappointment.
33 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 21 February 2005
The story behind this story is nearly the best story of all: "This book had two authors, one aged seventeen, one aged forty-three. Both of them were Terry Pratchett." Having penned this tale and had it lapse into obscurity, Pratchett is impelled by his editors to revive it years later. Rightly so. For the dedicated PTerry fan, this example of his early writing is an illuminating read. Many views expressed in the Discworld books are readily perceived here. For someone new to Pratchett, it's a great introduction to the scope of his ideas and his writing skills. For any reader, it's simply a delight to enjoy.
The story is a fine example of Pratchett's ability to view the world from a fresh perspective. If there's a fantasy novel lacking a dark forest and mysterious creatures, i've missed it. Pratchett, never a formula writer, simply shrinks the scope. His forested world is a thickly napped rug. Instead of pines or oaks, it's nylon and wool "hairs". The creatures are there, the snargs, the hymetors and others - including silverfish, who live under the world. There are also people - the Munrungs, the Deftmenes and - the Dumii. They interact, sometimes violently. Deep down in the pile, these people and their communities are invisible to humans. Something, however, sends terror through the forest peoples - Fray. This immensely destructive force topples cities and obliterates villages.
Pratchett builds a story of the conflict of respected traditions countered by innovation and invention. There is an Empire, to which taxes are due. That means clerks, organisation, regulations. While the Munrungs have always met the demands for revenue, others have opposed the imposition, hence, the Empire. Could two such peoples find a common cause? It seems unlikely, but the best way to unite two dissimilar tribes is having a common enemy.
Except for the conflict of good and evil, this story avoids formula approaches to fantasy. There are many characters, all of them reflected by people around us. Snibril, a Munrung, stands out but a little from the rest. One of his attributes is that he suffers sinus trouble. This isn't normally a heroic virtue, but it proves valuable here. There's also a philosopher. Everybody thinks to some extent. Philosophers are typified by telling about it in an interesting way. This description, of course, fits Pratchett admirably.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Okay so it is proabably a "younger" persons book, but it is cleverly written as always and very hard to put down, which is good. Highly recommended for those who want pure escapism and have a good imagination, especially if you have some younger people who might also like to pick it up and read it too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
I loved the locations visited and talked about - the underlay caves, the edge, 'achairleg', the city on a coin, and some of the races - the time reversed wights, the dinosaur pones. There were however a lot of tribes and races and it was hard to keep track of who was who and which race/tribe they were from which made following the group scenes quite hard, trying to track who were natural allies and who weren't.
Would have been nice as well to understand the wider picture - what is fray, what the pattern on the carpet was with all it's colours etc, but that leaves scope for a return at some point, which I would welcome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.