Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total self-indulgent guilty pleasure.
No - this 6 hour epic is not for everyone. However if you enjoy good old-fashioned family sagas - beautifully shot - with a fairly good script - some excellent actors - and and undemanding and emotionally satisfying conclusion - then this is for you. No - it's not Proust - or even Margaret Drabble - and there are few surprises en route - but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Published 16 months ago by Adrian Drew

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dribble
Thought I'd watch this due to the reviews and I must say I have never begun to watch such somnolent dribble. Great for insomnia.
Published 10 months ago by Liliana Godfrey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total self-indulgent guilty pleasure., 6 Aug 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
No - this 6 hour epic is not for everyone. However if you enjoy good old-fashioned family sagas - beautifully shot - with a fairly good script - some excellent actors - and and undemanding and emotionally satisfying conclusion - then this is for you. No - it's not Proust - or even Margaret Drabble - and there are few surprises en route - but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Seasons, 29 Sep 2010
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw parts one and two of Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons last yer and was most frustrated when no further episodes were show. I now have all four and I have watched them over and over again. Once you start watching the unrolling of the stories you just want to keep watching. There is so many twists and turns in the lives of what seems like a fairly rich family yet the undercurrents of what is really happening begins to show and you really want to go on watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Seasons, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love Rosamunde Pilcher's books and to be able to spend time with her DVD's is pure bliss. Yes, it's escapism, but I can relax for a couple of hours and lose myself in delightful stories set in beautiful locations.I love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one real complaint, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Only one criticism of this very enjoyable family saga. Julia (the grandmother) and Abby (the granddaughter) are physically a good pairing. Sadly, Charlotte (the mother), whilst a good actress, is physically miscast since she towers over both Julia and Abby by at least six inches and is stick thin whilst the other two have good womanly figures. This makes a mockery of comments like "you look like her" etc. Otherwise actors like Frank Finlay and Tom Conti make this one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish they had not used German Actresses in leading Role., 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I have been enjoying these adaptations of Rosamunde Pilchers Books my only gripe being the actors they use like in the follow up to Coming Home Nancherrow they used Geraman actors who are so clearly dubbed and the same in these adaptations of the Four Seasons its distracting. Please they are set in England can they not have used English actors. Apart from that gripe its not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near total satisfaction, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Well filmed, with good use of stately home and locale. Solid acting, good script from book. The only pity is that the volume had to be turned up so much (and we're not that hard of hearing!) that some distortion resulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just greatest, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the fourth episode by error I was hooked so therefore bought the boxed set, loved it an evening in bottle of wine, loved every minute of it and so did my husband and also my friend and her husband
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dribble, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Thought I'd watch this due to the reviews and I must say I have never begun to watch such somnolent dribble. Great for insomnia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Four Seasons - Rosamunde Pilcher, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, thoroughly enjoyed on TV and even more on the DVD. Would highly recommend and a great cast. Good value for money as a boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Viewing, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
The series was OK but some of the acting was not top class. Easy to watch when you are wanting something relaxing to view. The plot was interesting enough to make you want to watch the whole 4 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosamunde Pilcher's Four Seasons - Boxed Set [DVD]
£15.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews