Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 December 2011
Don Pelayo's extensive review plus the product information provides enough details of this enjoyable, wide-ranging and informative series now on DVD. Stephen Hawking, because he has survived a crippling disease despite the pessimistic prognosis so many years ago, is a phenomenon and an inspiration all rolled into one; add to that his scientific achievements, his possession of the Cambridge Chair previously occupied by Isaac Newton and his writings and he becomes positively breath-taking.

His view of the universe is fascinating, not only because of the information he provides but also the way in which his mind actually works. With the backing, expertise and finances of the Discovery channel, he was able to put together a series which covered a lot of interesting ground in a very imaginative, lucid and informative ways. For anyone with a slight interest on the Universe in which we live, this is an essential DVD with housr of viewing. With the DVD and particularly interesting or challenging sections can easily be watched again.

Recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
I'm sure this DVD would be an excellent educational programme if it has subtitles for the deaf or HOH! I was disappointed and frustrated.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
My son on his visit [It was bought for his birthday] said that he thought it was well presented and being a science teacher was a production that he had wanted for ages.
He said thanks dad for buying just want I wanted but could not afford.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
In a nutshell, GORGEOUS special effects, really awe-inspiring. HOWEVER anyone who has more than a passing interest in space and science fiction will most likely have come to a lot of the supplied ideas and conclusions on their own. The ideas, while perhaps "mind-boggling" to the (dare I say it) layman, will not really push the boundaries of those who have investigated this sort of thing beyond the most superficial level.

As an addendum, I definitely agree it would be a great introduction for students, as the review a couple down has already recommended, as they perhaps would not have given these topics much thought.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
I can't play the DVD in English and want to return this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2010
This was made for the Discovery Channel, and it is broadcast quality. Hawking only features in parts of the program, the rest is a voice over. He includes data up to 2007 (discovery of an "earth like" planet Gliese 581 c).

Disc 1 (86 min)

Episode 1, Aliens: Much of this was speculative.

Episode 2, Time travel: This was a better episode and he basically said no to time travel to the past because of paradoxes. Time travel into the future is technically possible, but in reality would be difficult as we would have to find a rather large black hole or travel close to the speed of light.

Disc 2 (88 min)

Episode 3, The story of everything: This was the best, and longest episode. He basically covered the history of the universe from the big bang to the end. He covers around 25 different topics including supernova and the formation of heavy elements, black holes, future space travel, big crunch or big chill etc.

I would have liked the series to be a bit longer. Overall, well worth getting for those into cosmology.

NB. 35 years ago I went to university, for an interview to study physics as an undergrad. I was asked to calculate the diameter of a black hole, the answer was easy the escape velocity was c. The beauty of physics.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
excellent worth spending an evening watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
The alien one is rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
Absolutely amazing - great computeranimations, fascinating story, questions asnwered and new ones asked... A spectacular journey out into the universe and into the mind of one of todays most intelligent men, and also a journey into the concept of time, aliens and so on! A definitely must see!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Mind boggling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)