Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word: GREAT, 8 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't like kitchen sink dramas, then this film is not for you.
The film is set against the gloomy landscape of the working class East End, but it's not devoid of humour, and, dare I say, hope, with the main characteres trying to escape the boredom and bleakness of their enviroment, and having to face an older generation that just won't listen to them.
It's also of great interest for those into late 60's/early 70's fashions :crombies, Dr Marten boots, sta-prest etc..
A fantastic film that was made with an amateur cast and a really small budget, won a Cannes Film Festival award in 1971, and still now impress for its powerful minimalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Quadrophenia - but BETTER? !!!, 14 April 2007
By 
J. D. L. Bailey (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog [DVD] (DVD)
I'd read that this was something of a cult film, and, being a fan of 60s "kitchen sink dramas" I thought I'd give it a go. I was really impressed by the naturalistic performances delivered by a cast of non-professional actors.

The film serves as something of a time-capsule, evoking the feeling of a bygone era of working-class life in East London - a world so different to today - a world without the mobile phones, credit cards and creature comforts. It is interesting that the issues this film deals with are still prevalent in today's world, in fact, moreso.

I would describe "Bronco Bullfrog" as an early Quadrophenia à la Ken Loach. Its style puts me in mind of "Cathy Come Home" and "Poor Cow."

It's got a real 60's "mod" feeling to it. The main character is (like Jimmy in Quadrophenia) frankly quite ugly, but totally believable.

The storyline is thin but nonetheless compelling. The random improvisation that often comes over as rough in other films works extremely well in this film.

The violence and activity in "Bronco Bullfrog" was, I am told, quite shocking at the time - possibly even delaying the release of the film by up to 2 years. Compared to modern films it seems almost laughably tame. In fact, the film has an undertone of innocence about it which adds to its charm. As a piece of social commentary it is interesting and excellent. As a piece of entertainment it is excellent. As a British film it is excellent. "Bronco Bullfrog" transported me to a whole new world that was before my time. This is, to me, what film is all about. If like me you enjoy "new wave / mod" films you will almost certainly like "Bronco Bullfrog." It's got more realism than Hollywood has silicone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Suedes, 9 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog [DVD] (DVD)
This film brings the memories flooding back,Having growing up in simular surroundings in London.This film encapsulates the Suedehead cult at the tail end of the 60,s, and for anyone interrested in the 1960,s it,s a gem.
Having been a Mod myself, at the tail end of the 70,s,and a youth when this film was made,i identify with it totally, it,s just as i remember it being back then.The main characters Del,and Bronco ,are the two most engaging charactors,hanging around in cafes,getting into petty crime to escape the drab boredom of everyday life, until del meets a girl.Don,t buy this film if you,re expecting to see loads of punch ups, what violence thier is is laughable compared to todays standards, but at the time this film was aired it was quite shocking,I can imagine Mary Whitehouse freaking out about it.The acting is mininimal,as the cast are mainly amateur, but in my eyes this only adds to the charm, these lads were the real mc coy,not actors pretending to be Suedes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing ..., 23 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This low budget film follows the fortunes of a group of working class teenage lads and one in particular, Del. They live a bored, semi-delinquent life in East London and when Del finds himself a girlfriend, the limitations of his own life hits him. Bronco Bullfrog is the lad from Borstal who has the swaggering, independent lifestyle that Del doesn't have and which he is tempted by. He then searches for his own independence.

This film was personal for me and one of the reasons why I loved it. I have lived in the area where this was filmed for some years and to see what it looked like in 1969 was fascinating. A great location nostalgia trip! The main reason however why I love this film is because of the actors. They were all non-professionals and their rawness, their unpolished performances give the film an extra edge. There is an authenticity that I was not expecting. The script is loose, which sometimes doesn't quite work (The Detective is not good) but it mostly gives it a startling realism. Del and his girlfriend completely capture all the awkwardness and innocence of their relationship because of the unsophisticated, free approach to their acting.

I enjoyed this very much as a low-key, unflashy film about lads, a teenage romance and the unwelcome intrusion of the realisms of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 Green Bottles.., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Purchased this for 7 green bottles for some primary school nostalgia and seeing 70's London again. Hit the spot. The main feature isn't bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I first watched this film in 1975 and it ran me over.
This is the first re-watch and only the soundtrack seems dated.
The charachters remain totally convincing. Still love it. In my top five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suedehead classic, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Ordered this film after it was mentioned in a 'Morrissey' book. Being a fan of "Skinhead" culture/fashion, it was great to see a film that was centred more on the Suedehead period. All in all a great film that catches a particular period in youth culture...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the way it was!, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog [DVD] (DVD)
This film may not be of interest to younger generations, but it captures the way it really was in the late sixties. Due to the very small budget some of the more aggressive aspects of the film do not come over all that well, but the acting is wonderfully portrayed. I just wish I could find more films like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60s suedehead film rated by paul weller, 7 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I have seen this film hundreds of times only got it cos paul weller rated it as one of his favourite films. Not a great story line and the actors(i think)are from a local drama group , not sure if thats correct though, cos the acting is a bit wooden.
Bronco bull frog is not the main character this will be del a 17 year old welders apprentice. Bronco is just out of borstal and del and his mates decide to do a robbery with him. Great rare film this, shows that teenage life was just as bad in 1969 as it is today. Brill soundtrack from "The audience"
A must buy for mods,skinheads,suedeheads or anybody who loves the 60s era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars East London nostalgia, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Film isn't up to much but it's fun plying spot the East London locations. Extras make it worthwhile e.g. interviews with Joan Littlewood and see Danny Jon Jules before he found fame as 'Cat' in Red Dwarf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray)
Bronco Bullfrog (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) by Barney Platts-Mills (Blu-ray - 2010)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews