Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb presentation of a Cult Classic
Although it has been shown on TV a few times over the years this release through the BFI is the first time Mulberry Bush has been readily available in any format since its original cinema release back in January 1968. And if only all DVD releases were this good!

Whatever the merits of the film itself this new release is almost perfect in its presentation. You...
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by James B. Spink

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane
I ordered this film as I had originally sneaked into the local cinema as an underage teenager to see this film back in the late 60's. It seemed really naughty at the time and I felt very smug getting let it by the usherette. However it seems so tame now watching this, however it was a great nostalgic
Published 13 months ago by M T Williams


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb presentation of a Cult Classic, 5 Oct 2010
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
Although it has been shown on TV a few times over the years this release through the BFI is the first time Mulberry Bush has been readily available in any format since its original cinema release back in January 1968. And if only all DVD releases were this good!

Whatever the merits of the film itself this new release is almost perfect in its presentation. You get a DVD version as well as a high definition fully restored Blu-ray disc, with both discs containing plenty of bonus material. Also included is a superb 34 page booklet with an abundance of information, film facts and illustrations. This edition is obviously produced by a team who love film for an audience who will enjoy it as much.

The film is what it is - a reflection of life in the late sixties in many respects; picture Christopher Timothy in the basket of a delivery boy's bicycle - in Stevenage - and you are half way there! This release features the full unedited version of the film - unlike the TV showings - with Judy Gleeson's nude lake scene featured complete. Although the soundtrack is credited to Spencer Davis and Traffic the music accompanying that scene is actually "It's Been a Long Time" by former John's Children singer Andy Ellison.

It is worth reading the Wikipedia articles on the film itself and that of lead actor Barry Evans to set the scene if you are considering buying this film, and also read Amazon's Product Description, but the booklet supplied with the discs contains much more information.

This is the first disc in the BFIs Flipside series which "rescues weird and wonderful British films from obscurity" that I have bought. From the quality of this release I shall be checking out the rest of the range before long. Mulberry Bush is a cult classic which I enjoyed very much - not everyone's cup of tea though! However, I must give this BFI version a full five stars as it is a good example of how films should be presented for the home market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue Release of a Classic, 8 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
I've been after this little gem of a movie for years. Nearly every time I visit Amazon.co.uk I've typed in the title in the search facility only to be told it was unavailable - until now!

I first saw this classic after videoing it late one night in the early nineties; it was the kind of film they ran about 3am and then I misplaced my VHS tape. At the time of me recording it, one reviewer described it as being locked into a sixties time warp. Well! GREAT! If there was an era I could go back to and live it would be 1967/1968 when this film was shot.

It is very pyschedelic. We have regular interludes of musical and pictorial psychedelia with the aid of bands like Steve Winwood's Traffic and The Spencer Davis Group. The official soundtrack has been available for years and the title track was released into the UK top ten at the time.

Young Jamie McGregor (played by the now sadly deceased Barry Evans), a seventeen year old middle class grammar school youth, chases pretty girls around the new town of Stevenage as it seems that his sixteen year old brother is outdoing him in the romantic stakes. He is cheerful and cheeky and talks a lot to the camera about his class-consciousness and insecurities. Not everything goes to plan, but he rarely lets it get him down. He chases after the posh bird, Caroline (Angela Scoular) and the council estate girl, Linda (Adrienne Posta), but the one he really wants is the elusive Mary (Judy Geeson). However, it soon transpires that just like him, she likes playing the field, which he has difficulty handling.

I have to say that the picture quality presented here is as good as it could be after more than 45 years and that the double Blu-Ray/DVD package is an excellent compilation with decent extras. I particularly enjoyed the documentary about Stevenage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally..., 22 Sep 2010
By 
Bernard J. Ryan "BJR" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
After having read the book at least 25 years ago, and having had the soundtrack for at least 15 years, it's good to see this film at last on DVD. Some films take a damn long time to get a release on DVD, but it seems that if one is patient, one is rewarded. And this DVD is the uncensored, uncut, version of it, one gets the pleasure of seeing Judy Geeson skinny-dipping.
The film shows its age, that's what's good about it! Great music, psychedelic images , fashions, of the time.
The DVD is well presented, with Blu-ray disc included, and a very good booklet to go with it.
Some interesting short films come along with the package, Stevenage etc.
Unusual that they made this film in a New Town rather than London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Been A Long Time..., 8 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
This film has had cult status for years. Made even more cult by its unavailabilty. Us many fans of the film felt as though it had been totally forgotten and overlooked and that made us love it all the more and it does, indeed, have a very loveable innocence about it, largely due to Barry Evans's warm, bright-eyed performance.

Jamie McGregor (Evans) is a sweet, vulnerable, cheeky, 17 year old, with girls on his mind and everytime he notices one he likes, a romantic little tune plays. The girls he likes are also quirky and loveable and they wear bright colourful 60s clothes.

Jamie races around the New Town of Stevenage looking for the right one and wherever he goes 60s music, mostly written for this film, plays. The original and very good soundtrack songs are mostly performed by two terrific pop groups of the era, Traffic and The Spencer Davis Group. The music alone gives this film substance and the director, Clive Donner, took great care having them commisioned especially for the film.

It's the innocence and colourfulness of this film that makes it fulfil our fantasies of England during this decade, that in many ways, belonged to England. Usually these types of films were set in London, but Clive Donner felt the market had been saturated with films with London locations, so he chose Stevenage and it does make for an interesting backdrop.

So, finally, Mulberry Bush is available on DVD. It was never even released on VHS, so this is quite a happening in itself. The quality of the picture and sound on this DVD is top notch, without losing its original 60s quality.

There are two extra short films included. A nice little film about the town and people of Stevenage, made in 1971, that is quite insightful and nostalgic plus a short black & white film about the day in the life of a public school boy, which for the most part is rather lifeless but not without value. Look out for the 'cheeky' (if that's the right word) surprise at the end!

I would have preferred extras that relate to Mulberry Bush. There are so many people alive today who were involved in the making of the film and I would have thought that we fans of the film, as well as everyone else, deserve to see and hear what they have to say. But I hate to grumble because it's tremendous that this gem from 1967 is finally commercially available. Second gripe: the strange image on the cover doesn't capture the colourful ambience of the film, at all. They should have used some more original 60s looking artwork.

But, all in all, the actual film is tremendous and light hearted and endearing and very 60s in the best possible way and yes, you should buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic window into the 1960s, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
I remember watching this at the local cinema when I was 17 - and then feeling very embarrassed when my parents subsequently went to see it. I felt they should not be exposed to this revelation of adolescent lusts. They pointed out that they had also been teenagers once - a possibility that seemed remote to me at the time! It is a wonderful film to see again - capturing so many details and nuances of late 1960s culture, the attitudes, humour, naivety, and styles of speech and language of that time. The narrative organises around the adventures of a sex-obsessed teenager as he seeks 'a nice class of girl'- seemingly taboo-breaking at the time, in its portrayal of an emerging sexual freedom, but thoroughly innocent from our present perspective. The setting is Stevenage, and an accompanying feature presents the many positive aspects of this new town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Sixties Film, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
Very good film which brought back memories of my childhood in Stevenage. Barry Evans and strong supporting cast were superb. It was funny with plenty of the sixties humour. I would reccommend to anyone who has lived or lives in Stevenage for the nostalgia element and also as it's not shown on TV all that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Round The Late Sixties Sex Comedy, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
A great little sex comedy, Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush is not what one would think in this day and age. it isn't American Pie, or anything of that ilk. There is no nudity or actual sexual intercourse shown on screen, because that's not the point of the film. It's about the main character's journey of being with women and trying to lose his virginity and the ups and downs of that journey.

While it would probably would have brought the house down back in 1968, some jokes may have been lost in time, but there are also some belly-shakers (a great erection joke rears its hilarious head after the main character crashes his bike into one of his ladies and caught me completely by surprise!)

A pretty damn well-made film which is, again, about the character's journey with no real solid plot, but worth watching. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For nostalgia buffs, 24 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
This until now impossible to get movie is well worth a view. It harks back to the days when life was simpler and films reflected this. It was regarded as "racy" in its day, though today it seems gentle almost to the point of being passe. I enjoyed it immensley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) (DVD)
this film takes me back when times were simple the music is also great.i had a huge crush on barry evans when I was young.
if you like older films you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray)
£10.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews