Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grown Up Drama
This seemed to be billed as an erotic thriller which is not quite right. It's a drama about jealousy, fidelity, frustration and lust. If the plot is a bit far fetched the excellent performances by Moore and Seyfried allow you to forget that for the most part. It's very much their film, Neeson doesn't have a huge amount to do.

A good unflashy engaging drama dram...
Published 13 months ago by Lendrick

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Nathalie became Chloe.
A remake of 2003 French film Nathalie, Chloe is directed by Atom Egoyan and it stars Julianne Moore, Liam Neeson, Amanda Seyfried and Max Thieriot. Story has Moore as a successful doctor who suspects her husband is being unfaithful with his younger students. Hiring a prostitute to pose as a student and catch him in the act, it sets in wheels the motions of untapped...
Published 3 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Nathalie became Chloe., 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
A remake of 2003 French film Nathalie, Chloe is directed by Atom Egoyan and it stars Julianne Moore, Liam Neeson, Amanda Seyfried and Max Thieriot. Story has Moore as a successful doctor who suspects her husband is being unfaithful with his younger students. Hiring a prostitute to pose as a student and catch him in the act, it sets in wheels the motions of untapped passions and deadly emotions.

It's a bit Hitchcock lite in truth, but the strength of the cast list always keeps the story interesting. The key turns in the plot are to be taken with a pinch of salt, but Egoyan and his team keep things ethereal as the tech credits are splendidly mounted. A safe and solid erotic thriller, even if it's more low-rent than high-grade. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grown Up Drama, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
This seemed to be billed as an erotic thriller which is not quite right. It's a drama about jealousy, fidelity, frustration and lust. If the plot is a bit far fetched the excellent performances by Moore and Seyfried allow you to forget that for the most part. It's very much their film, Neeson doesn't have a huge amount to do.

A good unflashy engaging drama dram perhaps most appreciated by those like me who are a similar age to Moores & Leesons characters - i.e. middle aged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Chloe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very convincing performances and story which has a twist about two thirds of the way through.Julianne Moore and Amanda Seyfried offer the best and most detailed parts in the film, Liam Neeson and the son are acceptable but bit part players. One to watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and clever film, 1 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
I think some of the reviews are very wrong. To give this film 2 stars is ridiculous.

Firstly, the film has three top actors/actresses: julianne Moore, Liam Neeson and Amanda Seyfried.

The film was very clever and works very well. I would hate to ruin the film for any potential buyers so will ignore too much detail regards the stroyline. It basically involves Chloe (Amanda Seyfried) getting involved in a family's life as the mother of the family (Julianne Moore) suspects her husband is cheating on her.

I really enjoyed the film and the storyline was great. You also get to see Julianne Moore and Amanda Seyfried undressed which is not a bad thing! I also disagree with reviews that say thej acting is bad... the acting was fantastic, particularly from Julianne Moore and Seyfried!!!!

Overall I rate the film 8/10 and is a film you can re-watch unlike some
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated drama, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chloe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you have followed Julianne Moore's career, you know she loves doing movies dealing with the marriage theme. This is no different. This is a nice sophisticated marriage drama with a twist. It has a lot of layers and meanings that can be gleaned with a second or third view. Amanda surprises with a very fine performance: she is ideal in the role of Chloe. Liam Neeson is impeccable as usual. I can recommend it if you like other Julianne Moore's movies and/or if you like movies examining the complexity of relationships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic film, with a brilliant cast. Julianne Moore is on fire andAmanda Seyfried is chilling and amazing. Wasn't what I expected, but I enjoyed its dark brooding quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and Provoking, 7 July 2010
By 
Neil STUART BANKS (North Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
In the wrong hands, this story could have been a top-shelf, soft porn turkey. But, what we have here is a well-paced, beautifully acted, provocative erotic thriller. I nearly didn't use the term "erotic thriller" because that genre has almost nothing to commend it. This is very different.
The script is literate, challenging and never predictable. Julianne Moore's performance is stunning and it is a tribute to the film's quality that when the two leading ladies kiss, it is touching and believable rather than a "ooh Matron" moment.
The final shot still had me thinking about its meaning a week later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A watchable little thriller on marital trust and distrust, with kinky saphic elements - but humourless and with a lame ending..., 4 April 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film watchable, but nothing more. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Catherine (Julianne Moore) is a gynecologist and her husband David (Liam Neeson) is a college professor. Since some time already Catherine suspects David of cheating on her. Then one day she meets a young call girl named Chloe (Amanda Seyfried) and decides to hire her for a very peculiar mission... Nothing more will be said.

This film being a remake of a French erotic thriller ("Natalie", made in 2003) we can reasonably expect that there will be some kinky and also steamy moments and yes, there are some, but ultimately not that much. I never saw the French version but for me the main appeal of this American remake was a study of tensions growing and vulnerabilities appearing in a long lasting and mostly happy marriage between two people who are aware of approaching old age. This is a hard moment in life and many marriages are then greatly tested - and not all survive...

Liam Neeson has less screen time than the girls (and there is a good reason for that, but no, no more spoilers), so this film is mostly carried by the good performances of Julianne Moore and Amanda Seyfried.

It is by no means a mastepiece, but a honest, solid film, which I would rate four stars if it was not for the very disappointing ending, which seemed hastily made and completely artificial. So only three stars.

I rented this film rather than buying it and I am glad that I did it, because this is really a thing to see once. Enjoy - but do not expect too many fireworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Remake of 2003 French film Nathalie, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Chloe (Amazon Instant Video)
Didn't know it was the French remake but after a few minutes of watching, I decided to check as i felt the story was so similar so that is how i found out! As usual, they changed the story a bit and Amanda Seyfried (her eyes popping out like a frog face) is nothing like the stunning French actress, evoking sultry sexiness that is totally believable. For those who haven't seen the French version, it is still watchable, not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The allure of Chloe, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chloe [DVD] (DVD)
Infidelity, temptation, fatal attraction -- it's always something people love to hear about, especially if all three elements are together.

And they certainly are in "Chloe," a strange little movie that centers around a very confusing little triangle. Atom Egoyen crafts the movie as a more modern, elegant, art-house version of the 1980s erotic thriller, with beautiful direction and a powerful pair of central performances, but the second half begins descending into Hollywood melodrama.

Gynecologist Catherine Stewart (Julianne Moore) seems to have the perfect life, especially in her marriage to hunky professor David (Liam Neeson). But his constant flirting, a missed flight and a suspicious photo leads her to suspect that he's cheating -- and on impulse, she hires a beautiful prostitute named Chloe (Amanda Seyfried) to tempt David, then report back to her.

Chloe goes off to flirt with David, and reports the secret sexual encounters back to Catherine... who finds them kind of a turn-on. And rather than confronting David, she continues meeting with Chloe in secret, even as her attraction to the strange young woman grows. But at the same time, Chloe's obsession with Catherine is growing to dangerous levels.

"Chloe" is apparently based on a French movie called "Nathalie...", or at least the first half of it seems to be. It's not a surprising revelation, because it feels more like a French movie than an American one -- the story centers around a woman hiring an innocent-looknig young prostitute, and it proceeds in a much more elegant, restrained way than other erotic thrillers.

And Egoyan crafts every scene with care, wrapping the actors in symbolic light and shadow. He also draws out some wonderfully complicated characters, who are neither hero nor villain, and whose thoughts often go unsaid. Unfortunately, the second half starts to deteriorate into melodrama as soon as David starts suspecting Catherine of having an affair. People start yelling and getting overwrought, and having dramatic scenes that don't seem to lead into anything.

Julianne Moore gives a wonderfully nuanced performance here -- she starts off cool and implacable, but cracks in her mask appear as she spends more time around Chloe. Eventually everything about her seems to collapse, and all her misery and insecurity floods out. Seyfried also gives a glorious performance here as a doe-eyed young prostitute whose motivations are left a mystery. Is Chloe a cruel manipulative femme fatale? Is she just unhealthily crushing on an unavailable woman? Or is the truth a bit of both?

However, Liam Neeson's performance is... weird. Atypical. He feels like he's absent mentally. But I blame neither him nor Egoyan for that, since apparently Neeson's wife unexpectedly died during the movie's filming. It's amazing he was able to do this at all.

"Chloe" is an interesting twist on the erotic thriller -- it's an elegant, intricate story about what human passions become once aroused, but it comes unraveled in the second half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chloe [Blu-ray]
Chloe [Blu-ray] by Atom Egoyan (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews