Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Diary of a Call Girl [paperback]
I must be honest and say that although I bought this as a gift for a friend I just couldn't resist reading it first - just out of curiosity you understand!

The book is not at all pornographic but well written, humorous, and entertaining. If you watched the TV series starring Billie Piper you will see precisely where the storylines originated.To fully appreciate...
Published on 3 Nov. 2011 by "Bilgescraper"

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick, light and enjoyable read
This book is remarkably easy to read whilst keeping the reader interested in what the author has to say. Whilst it is nothing spectacular I would certainly recommend to other readers who are interested in such taboo subjects as sex and prostitution in the sense that it teaches you about a previously little-known point of view.
Published on 4 Jan. 2013 by Cezz


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Diary of a Call Girl [paperback], 3 Nov. 2011
By 
"Bilgescraper" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must be honest and say that although I bought this as a gift for a friend I just couldn't resist reading it first - just out of curiosity you understand!

The book is not at all pornographic but well written, humorous, and entertaining. If you watched the TV series starring Billie Piper you will see precisely where the storylines originated.To fully appreciate the book you really need to Google the author to discover her reasons for being a call girl and her life since - maybe one day the subject of another book.

On a chilly winter evening with a glass of wine and a good fire most men will find this book titillating whilst their wives or girlfriends will, at first, dismiss it as "porn" but then avidly read it from cover to cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising!, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Dana M. Murphy "teeny mommy" (Oakland Gardens, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been watching Secret Diary here in the US since it came on the air and couldn't wait to read Belle's book. It isn't available in the United States so ordered it from Amazon UK and I'm so glad I did. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading different reviews and watching the television show, but I was pleasantly surprised. There's no denying this book is extremely sexual, but Belle also adds a look into her own life outside of prostitution. She's honest about her life and that honesty is what makes her book appeal to the average woman. Great read, going to order her other book as soon as I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, highly recommend!, 11 Mar. 2010
Loved this book, thought Belle's perspective was frank, honest & refreshing. She doesn't sugar coat things when describing what clients have asked her for. I literally could not put it down as soon as it arrived, it was extremely addictive!
I did love the book however I sometimes got a little bored with Belle's everyday life & felt the book should perhaps have been more about her work rather than the majority being about her private life, don't get me wrong I enjoied reading about her relationship with 'the boy' & 'N' but the holiday chapter was quite boring to be perfectly honest & I found myself struggling to avoid skipping it. All in all though thats the only fault I found, well that and a few typos/errors that had clearly been overlooked in the publishing. But none-the-less brilliant book, highly entertaining, laugh out loud moments, cringe worthy moments & often quite heart felt moments. Great book, buy it & read it over & over again...I have! Buying the sequel now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing much new if you've read the blog, 22 April 2010
By 
D. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed (most of) the book, but having recently read the blog archives, I didn't read much in the book that was new. If you've read the blog, then personally I don't think it's worth the extra money, if you've only watched the show, then you might enjoy it, but as earlier reviewers have said, some of it is a bit more 'hardcore' than what you saw Billie Piper doing on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the TV show, you should like the book too, 20 Jan. 2012
Great book. Arrived in perfect condition. The style that this book has been written in is a little unconventional which some people may or may not like; for me this was not an issue. I read the book fast and for me it didn't drag; sometimes it was a little explicit however that is to be expected from this particular book. If your a fan of the TV series its worth a read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick, light and enjoyable read, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Intimate Adventures Of A London Call Girl (Belle De Jour Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is remarkably easy to read whilst keeping the reader interested in what the author has to say. Whilst it is nothing spectacular I would certainly recommend to other readers who are interested in such taboo subjects as sex and prostitution in the sense that it teaches you about a previously little-known point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belle de Jour- What a read!, 2 April 2005
When I first began reading this book I was a little shocked at how explicit it was, but very soon I couldn't turn the page quickly enough; it felt like I was taking a sneaky look into a good friend's journal and after a few pages I began to feel as though Belle is someone I know well. She writes with great humour and her tongue in cheek style reads in an endearing Brigitte Jones' Diary kind of way. A great read, very enjoyable, light-hearted and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 May 2011
I loved watching the series of Secret Diary of a Call Girl and so I wanted to read about how it all began. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. I found the book very difficult to read, and although it's a diary account, it had no sense of consistency or plot line; and so you find yourself a bit confused at times. I can't quite understand how this book was turned into a TV series, the scriptwriters of the series must be genius' to write a script from something so dull and monotonous! I thought "Belle de Jour" was very unlikeable. She didn't seem to possess a single redeeming quality. Although I neither agree or disagree with prostitution (each one to their own) she seemed to consider herself to be an untouchable goddess that was invincible, and she gave no indication of what she would do when she was all old and full of wrinkles. She tried to make it seem like a swanky life, but her undertones made you feel sorry for her, in the sense that she was trapped "waiting for a better job" that would never come, and none of the men she saw would be there for her in the end. The book gives you the impression that when you read it you will be enlightened and condone what she's doing, but really all it does is leave you thinking "what a sad life she leads".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but little disappointing on some areas..., 2 Sept. 2010
I bought this book because I thought it would a good read, after watching the TV Series with Billie Piper in and interview with real Belle De Jour. I have to admit, I was took back after reading the first chapter, as it certainly not like the TV series at all I was hoping that some of the events in the series would be based from the book...but still entertaining.

Belle has written it like a diary, in bite size pieces which is great if you only have 5 minutes here or there to get a quick read in on a bus etc, but it does get confusing as she addresses four of her ex boyfriend's as A1, A2, A3, and A4 and its very hard to remember which is which. She doesnt use names for people which makes it less memorable, she uses things like "the boy" or "N" or "Ten pence bet", sometimes you have to guess when she talks about some men if its "clients" or if its real life dates when shes not being 'Belle'.

It does jump forward and back a few times and occasionally I have had to turn back the pages to recall on the person she refers to. Other than that, I enjoyed it, and tried reading the odd section every time I had 5 minutes. I will be buying a couple of others, just so I can say I read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Diary Of a Call Girl- more than a match for the tv show, 17 Mar. 2011
Sex, clothes and the empowered woman. The TV show stimulates the eye with an overindulgent dose of glamour and sultriness for the viewer. The book lives up to Billie Piper's visual pleasure and then some. Belle gives the gory details that the reader obviously wants about each client, each laughable event and also each personal memoir. However it's done in a very exposed way, that brings you closer to the real Belle and allows you to see a vulnerability that isn't always show in the television show. There are no gaps in her experiences and no fear, the book presenting a woman that seems to know her own mind and the fact that she is the user- not the used.

The narrative style is not a far cry from Bridget Jones, each chapter title written monthly in French. Just to add that extra bit of feminine mystique to the character. It's chatty, open and over generous with its lashings of detail and moments of exhaled disgust and giggles. It's fun to read, with the occasional darker side that reminds you that this is a book based on reality and creative chic lit. However it's well worth a lazy afternoon on the sofa, as you delve into something a bit naughty but also a bit nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews